Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Horwood

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Horwood

"HORWOOD, a small village and parish, 3 miles E.N.E. of Bideford, has only 118 souls, and about 750 acres of land, nearly all belonging to the Rev. John Hogg, and Earl Fortescue. The Rev. J. Dene owns the estates called Church and Pen Horwood, and is patron and incumbent of the rectory, valued in K.B. at £7. 8s. 4d., and in 1831 at £157. The tithes were commuted in 1848, for £127 per annum, and the glebe is 36 acres. The Church (St. Michael,) has a tower and three bells, and contains memorials of the Denes, Rolles, and Pollards. The Rev. John Dene, M.A. has a pleasant seat, called Horwood House, and the other principal residents are - Thomas Copp, Joshua Downing, and Wm. Jenn, farmers, and Edw. Lee, blacksmith." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Fremington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the NDA North Devon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

[Monumental Inscriptions (church)], Gent. Mag., vol. I, (1879) pp.398-400.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Horwood area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

The church of St. Michael, Horwood [198-] 2p. [Barnstaple Library - 726.5/HOR 7/CHU]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1654-1837, Burials 1675-1837 - for details see their book list.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Deanery of Barnstaple - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2005). [Index of Atherington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Barnstaple: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Bishops Tawton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Chittlehampton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Filleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Fremington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), High Bickington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Horwood: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1654-1837), Burials (1675-1837), Huntshaw: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Instow: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Landkey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Newton Tracey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1570-1837), Burials (1725-1837), Pilton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Swimbridge: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Tawstock: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Westleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838)
topup

Description and Travel

Extract from Murray's "Handbook for Travellers in Devonshire" (1879), covering Bideford, and also Weare Giffard and Horwood.

Section on Horwood from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Horwood which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Horwood to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

W., F. Pollards of Waye and Horwood. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 3:3, (1904). [Pollard and Coplestone Families]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Horwood has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Barrow, Bob and Redgewell, Rowena. Horwood, Lovacott and Newton Tracey: Now and then, (2004). [DFHS Library 942.35/HOR]
topup
topup

Military History

Horwood War Memorial (located inside the church), transcribed by John Williams