Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Iddesleigh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Iddesleigh

"IDDESLEIGH or IDSLEIGH, on the east side of the picturesque valley of the river Torridge, 4 miles N.N.E. of Hatherleigh, is a village and parish, containing 545 souls and 2962 acres of land. Sir S.H. Northcote, Bart., is lord of the manor, and owner of about 2000 acres, formerly held by the Sully and Bingham families. Ash is the seat and property of Hugh Mallett, Esq., and has been long held by his family. The mansion is a handsome modern building, more than a mile from the village, on the banks of the river Okement. The Rev. P. Johnson, Wm. Arnold, W. Parker, and a few smaller freeholders have estates in the parish. The Church (St. James,) has a tower and four bells, and has lately been renovated and partly rebuilt at the cost of about £400. In the chancel is the effigy of a crusader, supposed to represent Sir John Sully." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Lang, A. Life, Letters and Diaries of Sir Stafford Northcote, 1st Earl of Iddesleigh. (1890) [Westcountry Studies Library, Torquay Library]
Worthy, C. The Life of the Earl of Iddesleigh, and a Complete History of the Northcote Family. (1887) [Westcountry Studies Library]

Cemeteries

Memorials to the Mallet family in Saint James Church, Iddesleigh, transcribed by Mike Mallett.

Easton, G.C., Monumental Inscriptions at Idysleigh, N. Devon, Genealogist, 7 (1883) pp.262-4.
Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Iddesleigh area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Iddesleigh - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1541 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Indexed transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1566 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1540-1840 and Marriages 1566-1613, 1632-1837.

Sellman, R.R. Iddesleigh and Dowland, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers, with family reconstitutions. Typescript (1991) 123p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/IDD/1541]
The Oldest Registers of Idysleigh (N. Devon) Genealogist, 7,(1883) pp 83-88.
The Deanery of Torrington - An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashreigny, Beaford, Buckland Filleigh, Dolton, Dowland, Great Torrington, Huish, Iddesleigh, Langtree, Little Torrington, Meeth, Merton, Newton St. Petrock, Peters Marland, Petrockstowe, Roborough, Shebbear, Sheepwash, St. Giles in the Wood and Winkleigh. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2010) . [Ashreigny Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Beaford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Filleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Dolton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Dowland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1742-1837; Great Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Huish Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Iddesleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Langtree Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Little Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Meeth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Merton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Newton St. Petrock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Peters Marland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Petrockstowe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Roborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Shebbear Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sheepwash Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; St Giles in the Wood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Winkleigh Bapt: 1813-1853, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Iddesleigh from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Iddesleigh which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Linda Garnett, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: 1841 surname indices; 1891 census, 1901 census on fiche; PRs: Bapt 1653-1857; Marr. 1653-1837; Burials 1653-1903; Banns 1754-1901.)

The Malletts of Ash, Iddesleigh - by Bob Mallett.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Iddesleigh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Iddesleigh to another place.

History

Dingley, Dave. Bremelcumb, a short history of Brimblecombe. The author (2012) 46pp. [WSL ref: px631/IDD/DIN]
Downton, Barry. Iddesleigh: a parish in Devon. Iddesleigh: Iddesleigh Society (1893) 24pp: ill,map. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/IDD/0001/IDD] [Obtainable from the author] (Index) - a 32-page 2004 edition is now available.
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Iddesleigh, Devon. Typescript (1962) 12 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]

Land and Property

Dingley, Dave. Ash: a history of the estate in Iddesleigh, Devon Dave Dingley, Winkleigh, Devon (2008) 130pp. [Westcountry Studies Library, DRO and NDRO] [Medieval & post-medieval history of Ash House & estate, with much data on the Mallet and Smyth-Osbourne families]

Names, Personal

Iddesleigh contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.