Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Instow

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Instow

"INSTOW (ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST), a parish, in the union of BARNSTAPLE, hundred of FREMINGTON, Braunton and N. divisions of DEVON, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Bideford; containing 557 inhabitants. The parish is bounded on the north by the navigable river Taw, and on the west by the Torridge, and comprises by measurement 1605 acres. The village is pleasantly situated at the confluence of the rivers, and on the new road from Barnstaple to Bideford, which affords some picturesque views of the bay, with Lundy Island, and the lighthouses. . . The church is an ancient structure, in good repair. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans; and a national school is supported by subscription. Here are several springs of chalybeate water." [From Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England (1844)]

A parish in Fremington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the NDA North Devon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Instow area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1717 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1807-37 - see Barnstaple Circuit, Bideford (PRO RG 4/954, 955)

As of Jan 1993 no Instow records had been been entered into the IGI.

Deanery of Barnstaple - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2005). [Index of Atherington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Barnstaple: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Bishops Tawton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Chittlehampton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Filleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Fremington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), High Bickington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Horwood: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1654-1837), Burials (1675-1837), Huntshaw: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Instow: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Landkey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Newton Tracey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1570-1837), Burials (1725-1837), Pilton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Swimbridge: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Tawstock: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Westleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838)
topup

Description and Travel

Instow resort web-site - comprehensive guide.

Section on Instow from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Extract from Murray's "Handbook for Travellers in Devonshire" (1879).

Lauder, Rosemary Anne. A guide to Instow and its neighbours, Fremington, Yelland and Westleigh. Barnstaple: Aycliffe Press (1981) 36p : ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/INS/1981/LAU]
Lauder, Rosemary Anne. Bideford, Appledore, Instow & Westward Hol!: a guide, Bideford, North Devon Books (1996) 48p: ill. [ISBN: 0952864509]

You can see pictures of Instow which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript of an extract from an 1857 Directory with a description of the parish, and a list of clergy, gentry, professions, trades, etc.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Instow to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Instow has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Blackwell, A.E. The Charm and History of Instow (with Lundy Island) (rev. ed.) Bideford: Polypress (1959) 48p,plates: map. [Westcountry Studies Library -]B/INS/0001/BLA]
Grant, Alison. Instow: A History, Honeytone Promotions (2002). [ISBN 0952792435] [DFHS Library - 942.35/INS]
topup

Land and Property

Elliot, John. Homes and gardens - Tapeley Park, Instow. Devon Life vol. 10 no. 83 (1973) pp.22-24; ill.
topup
topup

Probate Records

Transcript of the will of George Blake (1741), provided by Elizabeth Kipp.

Benson, John. Down Family. Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries 20 (1938-39) pp.283-285. [Will of Rev. John Down of Instow.]