Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Ipplepen

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Ipplepen

"IPPLEPEN (ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST), a parish, in the union of NEWTON-ABBOTT, hundred of HAYTOR, Teignbridge and S. divisions of DEVON, 3¾ miles (S. S. W.) from Newton-Abbott; containing, with the chapelry of Woodland, 1172 inhabitants. It comprises 2726 acres, of which 180 are common or waste. The church has a handsome screen, and an enriched wooden pulpit; it formerly belonged, with some adjoining lands, to the priory of St. Peter de Fulgeriis in Brlttany, and attached to it was a cell to that establishment. The Wesleyans have a place of worship." [From Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England (1844)]

A parish in Haytor Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ipplepen area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Ipplepen - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Ipplepen Methodist Church web site.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1558 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1558 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1843, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel, Dainton: Registers for c1813-37 - see Teignmouth (PRO RG 4/1220)

Nothing transcribed into the IGI (as of Jan. 1993).

Ipplepen Wesleyan Methodist Church. Ipplepen Wesleyan Methodist baptisms 1838-1945. (1993) 14p. [Westcountry Studies Library - px929.3/IPP/1838]
Phillimore, W. P. W. (William Phillimore Watts). "Marriages at Ipplepen, 1612-1813", In Devonshire parish registers, vol. 1. London: Phillimore & Co., 1909 (Phillimore's parish register series, vol. 112), pp. 1-30. [Full text]
Sellman, R.R. Family reconstitution from the parish registers of Ipplepen, Devon, 1671-1870. Typescript (1988) 72p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/IPP/1671]
Deanery of Ipplepen: Photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD - Devon FHS (2012). [An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of: Abbotskerswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1756-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Berry Pomeroy Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Brixham All Saints Baptisms (1826-1839), Marriages (1826-1837), Burials (1831-1832); Brixham St Mary Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Broadhempston Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1681-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Churston Ferrers Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1835), Burials (1800-1837); Cockington Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1780-1834); Coffinswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1857); Denbury Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837); Ipplepen Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1843), Burials (1813-1837); Kingskerswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Kingswear Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1755-1837), Burials (1780-1837); Littlehempston Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1731-1837), Burials (1813-1840); Marldon Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Paignton Baptisms (1813-1841), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Paignton Independent Burials (1826-1836); Staverton Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Stoke Gabriel Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Torbryan Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1838), Burials (1813-1854); Tormohun Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Torquay St Marychurch Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Wolborough Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1839), Burials (1813-1837); Woodland Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1755-1835), Burials (1813-1838).]
topup

Description and Travel

Conservation Area Appraisal for Ipplepen - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

Section on Ipplepen from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Ipplepen which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ipplepen to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Family History in Ipplepen, by Arthur French.

Watkin, Hugh R. Bulley and Jerrard (or Jellard) families. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 11:8, (1921) pp.304-305. [See query vol.11, p.251. Also vol.12, pp.16-17.] [Index]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ipplepen has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Cooke, R.D. Notes on the Churches and Parishes of Ipplepen and Torbryan. (1963) [Plymouth Library]
French, Arthur. Ipplepen, Obelisk Publications (2003). [ISBN 1 903585 28 7] [Index]
topup
topup

Societies

Ipplepen Local History Group website.