Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Kennerleigh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Kennerleigh

"KENNERLEIGH (anciently Kynwarthlegh) is a small village and parish, seated on a pleasant declivity on the road from Crediton to South Molton, and skirted on the south by a tributary stream of the river Creedy, and is 6 miles north-by-west from Crediton station on the main line of the London and South Western railway, 13 north-west from Exeter and 196 from London, in the Northern division of the county, hundred, petty sessional division, union and county court district of Crediton, rural deanery of Cadbury, and archdeaconry and diocese of Exeter. The church of St. John the Baptist is a building of stone, in the Later Perpendicular style . . . The register of baptisms dates from the year 1645; marriages, 1696; burials, 1663. The living is a rectory, net yearly income £90, including 53 acres of glebe, called Higher Minchindown (in the adjoining parish of Woolfardisworthy), with residence, in the gift of the twelve governors of the Crediton Church and Charity Trust, and held since 1894 by the Rev. Henry Seymour Fell. The Earl of Iddesleigh C.B. is lord of the manor and chief landowner. Creedy Farm belongs to the Rev. Anthony Benn M.A. of Pudleston, Leominster. . . . The chief crops are wheat, oats, roots and pasturage. The area is 731 acres; rateable value, £589; the population in 1891 was 83." [From: Kelly's Directory of Devonshire, 1902]

A parish in Crediton Hundred, under the Peculiar jurisdiction of the Bishop of Exeter.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page. A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Parish Church is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 5 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M18).

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kennerleigh area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1645 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

The members' area of the Devon FHS website makes available online images, not at present (Jan 2016) available elsewhere, of the Parish Registers covering Kennerleigh Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1648-1773, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1645-1812, Baptisms: 1813-1914, Marriages and Banns: 1754-1911, Marriages: 1813-1835, Burials: 1813-1899.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Betsy Rubel offers look-ups of her transcription of the PRs (baptisms 1673-1811, marriages 1681-1835, and burials 1685-1810).

Deanery Of Cadbury - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 And Burials 1813-1837, CD060, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Brampford Speke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Cadbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Cadeleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1810-1837; Cheriton Fitzpaine Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Colebrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Crediton Presbyterian Chapel Bur: 1826-1837; Crediton Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Down St Mary Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1770-1837; Kennerleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Morchard Bishop Bapt: 1813-1837 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Nether Exe Bapt: 1814-1851 Mar: 1773-1807 Bur: 1813-1856; Newton St. Cyres Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Poughill Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1770-1837; Sandford Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Shobrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh English Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh Pomeroy Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1752-1837 Bur: 1813-1851; Thorverton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1839 Bur: 1813-1837; Upton Hellions Bapt: 1813-1842 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1678-1929; Upton Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1800-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Kennerleigh from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Locki

You can see pictures of Kennerleigh which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kennerleigh to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kennerleigh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Bockett, Julia M. The Manor of Kennerleigh, near Crediton, in Devonshire lost by a Game of Cards. Notes & Queries (11 Aug 1855) p.102.
topup
topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Cruwys Morchard Parish - Bastardy Bonds: James Edwards of Kennerleigh, miller, father of Susanna Lethyby's female bastard (1759) - A2A ref. 1092A-1/PO 141

topup

Probate Records

Listing of Estate Duty and PCC wills, compiled by Kathryn Barnett.