Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Kings Nympton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Kings Nympton

"KING'S NYMPTON is an old irregularly built village of thatched houses, on a bold eminence overlooking the Taw valley, 3½ miles N. by W. of Chulmleigh, and 5½ miles S.S.W. of South Molton. Its parish contains 777 inhabitants and 5539 acres of land, including many scattered houses, 91A. of orchards, 540A. of woods, and about 900A. of moor and coarse pasture land, which has been brought into cultivation during the last ten years. The manor was anciently part of the royal demesne, and was given by Henry III. to Roger de la Zouche. It afterwards passed successively to the Cornwall, Pollard, Northcote, and Buller families. It was purchased of the latter, about 12 years ago, by the present owner, James Tanner, Esq., of King's Nympton Park, a handsome and pleasant seat on the east bank of the river Mole. . . He owns the greater part of the parish, and has brought much of the moor land into fine cultivation. Mrs. Byne has a manor here, formerly belonging to the Brown and Melhuish families; and part of the parish belongs to several smaller owners. The Church (St. James,) is a fine ancient structure, with a tower, crowned by a tall wooden spire. . . . The rectory . . . is in the patronage and incumbency of the Rev. F.A. Savile, who has a thatched residence and 96A. 1R. 18P. of glebe. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Witheridge Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the NDA North Devon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kings Nympton area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Kings Nympton - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Lega-Weekes, Ethel. Early parish registers: Kingsnympton. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 12:5, (1923) pp.203-204. [Refers to vol.11, pp.69. Examination of early pages of register.]
The Deanery of South Molton: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bishop's Nympton, Cheldon, Creacombe, Cruwys Morchard, East Anstey, East Woolfardisworthy, East Worlington, George Nympton, King's Nympton, Knowstone, Mariansleigh, Meshaw, Molland, North Molton, Oakford, Puddington, Rackenford, Romansleigh, Rose Ash, Satterleigh, South Molton, Stoodleigh, Templeton, Thelbridge, Twitchen, Warkleigh, Washford Pyne, West Anstey, West Worlington and Witheridge. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902). CD-ROM 062, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Bishop's Nympton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Cheldon Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1755-1835, Bur: 1813-1841; Creacombe Bapt: 1814-1902, Mar: 1759-1835, Bur: 1813-1850; Cruwys Morchard Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Anstey Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1688-1839; East Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1813-1837; East Worlington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; George Nympton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1790-1837; King's Nympton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Knowstone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1740-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Mariansleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Meshaw Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1813-1838; Molland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; North Molton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Oakford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1840; Puddington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1759-1836, Bur: 1740-1837; Rackenford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Romansleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1730-1837; Rose Ash Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1850; Satterleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; South Molton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Stoodleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Templeton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Thelbridge Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1853; Twitchen Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Warkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Washford Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1813-1840; West Anstey Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1745-1838; West Worlington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1846, Bur: 1813-1851; Witheridge Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1835]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Kings Nympton  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Kings Nympton which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850, by Debbie Kennett.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kings Nympton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Pollard, W.B. The Pollards of Kings Nympton. Typescript [1961?] 100p. [Westcountry Studies Library - s929.2/POL]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kings Nympton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Kings Nympton contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Ryall, David. Lest We Forget, War memorials around South Molton. South Molton Archive, 68pp. [ISBN 0 951236 1 4] [Provides an indexed list of names]
topup

Newspapers

Extracts from Trewman's Exeter Flying Post, relating to Kings Nympton, provided by Lindsey Withers.

topup

Probate Records

Abstract of the will of Robert Southcomb (1685), yeoman, provided by Fay Sampson.

Transcript of the will of James Buller (1765), provided by Elizabeth Kipp.

Transcript of the will of Elizabeth Thorne (1716), provided by Ross Dunning.

topup

Societies

South Molton and District Archive Local History Society web-site (archived copy) - provides details of archive holdings for the twenty-eight parishes in what used to be the South Molton Rural District, lists of publications, etc.