Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Kingskerswell

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Kingskerswell

"KINGSKERSWELL, or KING'S CARSWELL, is a pleasant scattered village, mostly on an acclivity, near the junction of the Torquay and South Devon Railways, 2½ miles S.S.E. of Newton Abbot, and 4 miles N.W. by W. of Torquay. Its parish contains 845 souls, and 1740 acres of fertile land, including the hamlets of North and South Whilborough, more than a mile south of the church. Henry Langford Brown, Esq., owns a great part of the soil, and is lord of the manor. . . . The manor was held by the Crown at Domesday survey. It afterwards passed to the Droun, Fitz-Count, Courtenay, Smyth, and Langford families. The latter left it to the Browns in 1710. The Church (St. Mary,) stands in the valley, at the foot of the village, and is an ancient structure, with a tower and five bells. . . . the Dean and Chapter of Exeter are appropriators of the rectorial tithes, and the living is a perpetual curacy, valued in 1831 at £105, in the patronage of the Vicar of St. Mary Church, and incumbency of the Rev. Aaron Neck, B.A., who built a new parsonage house, about 11 years ago. . . . Here is a National School, chiefly supported by the incumbent, who clothes part of the children. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Haytor Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes and in the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Brown, Yoland. Zanzibar - May Allen and the East African Slave Trade, Eleventowns Publishing (2005) 256 pp. [ISBN 0-9515015-1-8] [About the Universities Mission to Central Africa. One of the main figures is Edward Steere, who became the 3rd Bishop of Central Africa in 1874. His first parish was Kingskerwell, where in 1858 he was married to Mary Beatrice Brown of Barton Hall in Kingskerswell]
topup

Cemeteries

Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Kingskerswell area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Kingskerswell - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Watkin, H.R. The use of a Norse standard of measurement by the Normans in eleventh and twelfth century buildings, as exemplified in the structure of Torre Abbey and the churches of Kingskerswell and Cockington. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 46 (1914) pp. 326-345. [Index]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1752 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

The members' area of the Devon FHS website makes available online images, not at present (Jan 2016) available elsewhere, of the Parish Registers covering Kingskerswell Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1752-1812, Baptisms: 1813-1847, Baptisms: 1848-1915, Marriages and Banns: 1754-1792, Marriages and Banns: 1786-1812, Marriages: 1813-1837, Marriages: 1837-1915, Banns: 1823-1868, Banns: 1867-1915, Burials: 1813-1868, Burials: 1869-1914.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1813-37 - see Teignmouth (PRO RG 4/1220)

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Phillimore, W. P. W. (William Phillimore Watts). "Marriages at Kings Kerswell, 1752-1837", In Devonshire parish registers, vol. 1. London: Phillimore & Co., 1909 (Phillimore's parish register series, vol. 112), pp. 31-43. [Full text]
Deanery of Ipplepen: Photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD - Devon FHS (2012). [An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of: Abbotskerswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1756-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Berry Pomeroy Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Brixham All Saints Baptisms (1826-1839), Marriages (1826-1837), Burials (1831-1832); Brixham St Mary Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Broadhempston Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1681-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Churston Ferrers Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1835), Burials (1800-1837); Cockington Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1780-1834); Coffinswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1857); Denbury Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837); Ipplepen Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1843), Burials (1813-1837); Kingskerswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Kingswear Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1755-1837), Burials (1780-1837); Littlehempston Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1731-1837), Burials (1813-1840); Marldon Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Paignton Baptisms (1813-1841), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Paignton Independent Burials (1826-1836); Staverton Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Stoke Gabriel Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Torbryan Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1838), Burials (1813-1854); Tormohun Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Torquay St Marychurch Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Wolborough Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1839), Burials (1813-1837); Woodland Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1755-1835), Burials (1813-1838).]
topup

Description and Travel

Conservation Area Appraisal for Kingskerswell - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

Section on Kingskerswell from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Kingskerswell which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Kingskerswell to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Philson, Marianne. The Duder family in New Zealand. Auckland: Bush Press (1990) 144p: ill,geneal.tables. [ISBN 0908608233]
Reichel, Oswald J. The Mules or de Moelis family of Kingskerswell and Diptford. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 7:3, (1912) pp.91-95. [Refers to T.D.A. vol.40, pp.127. Pedigree set out.]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Kingskerswell has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Carsewella Local History Group. The Book of Kingskerswell: The Parish and Its People, Tiverton, Halsgrove Press (2003) 160 pp. [ISBN: 1841142360]
Walker, Hilda H. The History of Kingskerswell, a Medieval Market Town. Devon Archaeological Society Proc. vol. 26 (1968) pp195-215, pl: ill, maps.
Edmonds, F.S. Chronicles of St Mary Church, with notes on Babbacombe, Ilsham, Shiphay Collaton, Kingskerwell, and Coffinswell. (1925) pp. 66. C. G. Jowitt: Torquay, [1930.] 8o. BL 04705.aaa.56.
Searley, A.W. A collection towards a history of the church and manor of Kingskerwell. Scrapbook [1930?] 390p: ill, maps. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/KIN 2/0001/SEA]
topup