Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Langtree

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Langtree

"LANGTREE is a considerable village, 3½ miles S.W. of Great Torrington, and has in its parish 911 souls, and 4028 acres of land, including the hamlets of Stowford and Week. The Trustees of the late Lord Rolle own most of the soil, and are lords of the manors of Langtree and Stowford, and patrons of the rectory ... The Church has a tower and five bells, and contains several neat monuments. There was anciently a chapel at Cross hill. The National School, built in 1840, is supported by the rector." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter. Includes Stibb Cross.

topup

Biography

Barnhart, Cynthia H. Success with DNA!, Devon Family Historian, vol. 163, (2017) p.17. [Joseph Henry Hearn (b. 1854, emigrated to Bernicia, California).]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Listing of Surnames in All Saints Churchyard (archived copy), by Shirley Turner.

All Saints Church Langtree - The Graveyard Project, CD, Langtree History Group. [DFHS Library B29.5/LAN]

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Langtree area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1659 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1659, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1603, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1603-1850, and Marriages 1597-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

Betsey Rubel offers look-ups of Langtree PRs - Marriages: 1659 - 1767 (320 marriages), Baptisms: Feb 1659 - Feb 1840 (2328 entries), and Burials: 1659 - 1812

The Deanery of Torrington - An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashreigny, Beaford, Buckland Filleigh, Dolton, Dowland, Great Torrington, Huish, Iddesleigh, Langtree, Little Torrington, Meeth, Merton, Newton St. Petrock, Peters Marland, Petrockstowe, Roborough, Shebbear, Sheepwash, St. Giles in the Wood and Winkleigh. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2010) . [Ashreigny Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Beaford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Filleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Dolton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Dowland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1742-1837; Great Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Huish Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Iddesleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Langtree Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Little Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Meeth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Merton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Newton St. Petrock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Peters Marland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Petrockstowe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Roborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Shebbear Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sheepwash Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; St Giles in the Wood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Winkleigh Bapt: 1813-1853, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Langtree from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Langtree which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Langtree to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Langtree has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Edgcombe, A.C. A short history of Langtree. Langtree: A.C.Edgcombe (1985) 80p: ill, maps. [Westcountry Studies Library - pxB/LAN 7/0001/EDG]
Price, Simon David Kingsley. What changes took place in Langtree ... 19th and early 20th century. Northern Exam. Assoc. (1990) 29 leaves: ill, maps. [Barnstaple Library - BT:LAN 7/1841/PRI]
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Langtree contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Probate Records

The will of John Frayne (1655) transcribed by Jonathan Frayne.