Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Luffincott

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Luffincott

"LUFFINCOT, a small parish in the Tamar valley, 6 miles S. of Holsworthy, has only 93 souls, and 990 acres of land, mostly the property of Miss Venner and John Spettigue, Esq., who are joint owners of the manor, and patrons of the rectory, valued in K.B. at £5. 6s. 8d., and in 1831 at £97. The Rev. Franke Parker, M.A., is the rector, and has 61 acres of glebe, and a good residence, rebuilt and enlarged a few years ago. The tithes were commuted, in 1842, for £68. 5s. per annum. Sir Wm. Molesworth has an estate in the parish. The Church (S. James,) is a small ancient structure. DIRECTORY :- Rev. F. Parker, M.A., Rectory: John and Edmund Spettigue, gentlemen, West Peek; A. Trible, farmer, Barton: and Wm Parkin, smith. " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Black Torrington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes and the Diocese of Exeter.

Cemeteries

Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Luffincott area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Luffincott - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Luffincott church has been declared redundant. In December 1979 this church was put into the hands of the Redundant Churches Fund, now the The Churches Conservation Trust and is maintained by them as an example of rural tranquillity. During 1981-82 the main roof was strengthened and re-slated, windows repaired, new drainage installed and the tower parapet rebuilt. Internal replastering and limewashing was carried out during 1983. The tower was rendered and limewashed and the walls of the church repointed in 1992. [Information supplied by John Williams]

Scott, J.G.M. St James Church - Luffincott - Devon, Devon Family Historian, vol. 131, (August 2009) pp.9. [Extract from his guidebook to the church, published by The Churches Conservation Trust.]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1654 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1653, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1608, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1608-1812 Marriages 1610, 1633-1636, 1650-1655, 1670-1753.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbots Bickington, Ashwater, Black Torrington, Bradford, Bradworthy, Bridgerule, Clawton, Cookbury, Halwill, Hollacombe, Holsworthy, Luffincott, Milton Damerel, Pancrasweek, Pyworthy, Sutcombe, Tetcott, Thornbury, West Putford and Holsworthy Weslyan Burials. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850), Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902) and A Topographical Dictionary of England, Samuel Lewis (1831), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Abbots Bickington Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1770-1833 Bur: 1813-1837; Ashwater Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Black Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bradford Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1705-1837; Bradworthy Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bridgerule Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clawton Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Cookbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1841; Halwill Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1843; Hollacombe Bapt: 1813-1898 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1852; Holsworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1860 Bur: 1813-1837; Holsworthy Weslyan Bapt: 1812-1831; Luffincott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1814-1840; Milton Damerel Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1761-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pancrasweek Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pyworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Sutcombe Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Tetcott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1813-1837; Thornbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; West Putford Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1838.]
Burials from Bishops Transcripts: Luffincott 1814-1840. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2013).

Description and Travel

Section on Luffincott from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Luffincott which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Kirsty Gray, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs on Fiche.)

Gray, Kirsty. An Obsession . . . Not just with Family History, Devon Family Historian, vol. 131, (August 2009) pp.8. [About the Silifant family, and plans for a general book about the villages of Luffincott and Tetcott.]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Luffincott has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Luffincott to another place.

History

Williams, H.Fulford. Notes on the parish of Luffincott, Devon. Typescript (1964) 6p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/LUF/0001/WIL]

Names, Personal

Luffincott contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Luffincott Apprentices Register - 1808-1827, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF A278). [Foreword]