Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Luppitt

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Luppitt

"LUPPITT, or Luppit, is a village and a parish, on a bold range of hills, four miles N. by E. of Honiton. It has 782 souls, and 4730 acres of land, including Shapcombe tithing, the small hamlets of Beacon and Shaugh, and a common of more than 500 acres. The baronial family of Crew were formerly lords of the manor, and were seated till the 16th century at Mohun's Ottery, now a farm house in this parish. The Rev. Wm. Bernard, of Clatworthy, Somerset, is now lord of the manors of Luppitt and Mohun's Ottery, but a great part of the parish belongs to C.J. Helyar, Esq., the Revs. H. and H.W. Helyar, and a few smaller freeholders. The Church (St. Mary,) is in the style which prevailed in the 15th century, and has a tower and four bells. It contains some ancient monuments of the Carew family, and was appropriated to Newenham Abbey. The vicarage, valued in K.B. at £13. 6s. 10½d., and in 1831 at £121, is in the patronage of the Rev. W. Bernard, and incumbency of the Rev. John S.C.L. Cabbell, who has held the living here since 1796. The Parsonage House is a small cottage, and the glebe is 5A. 22P. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Axminster Hundred, the Archdeaconry and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Hooker, John. The life of Sir Peter Carew of Mohun Ottery, Co. Devon. Archaeologia (1838) p96-151.
Maclean, John, Esq, FSA. (1857 ). The Life and Times of Sir Peter Carew, Knt: From the Original Manuscript. London: Bell & Daldy, 186 Fleet Street, illus. pviii, cxviii, 321 pp. [Index]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Transcriptions of memorial inscriptions from Luppitt churchyard and war memorial are available from the Luppitt History Group web-site.

Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

topup

Census

Transcriptions of the census records (1841-1901) are available from the Luppitt History Group web-site.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Luppitt area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Luppitt - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Sage, John. Luppitt Church, Devon, (1981). [SoG Library Devon Tracts Box]
Sage, John. St. Mary's Church, Luppitt, Devon. [Luppitt]: [The author] [1992] [8]p: ill. Westcountry Studies Library - p726.5/LUP/SAG
Sage, John. A glimpse of the past and present of St. Mary's Church Luppitt, Devon County Council (2008). [Devon FHS p942,35/LUP]
Guide to St Mary's Church, Luppitt (1971). [Devon FHS Library 942.35/LU]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1711 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcriptions of baptisms (1710-1920), marriages (1724-1920) and burials (1710-1940) are available from the Luppitt History Group web-site.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1838, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

The Deanery of Dunkeswell, CD012, Devon Family History Society, Exeter (2007). [Contains indexes: Awliscombe - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Churchstanton - Baptisms 1813-1837, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1839; Clayhidon - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Combe Raleigh - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Dunkeswell - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1800-1837; Hemyock - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1635-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Luppitt - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1838, Burials 1813-1837; Sheldon - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1836, Burials 1770-1837; Upottery - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Yarcombe - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Luppitt from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Luppitt which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Luppitt to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Extensive information (BMDs, family trees, book extracts, maps,etc.) is available from the Luppitt History Group's Luppit: Parish, Church and People website.

Phillipps, Thomas, Sir. Carew quarterings, pedigree of Carewe of Carewe Castle, Co. Pembroke, and Mohuns Ottery, Co, Devon, and the branches of Haccombe, Antony, Bury, and Crowcombe. Middle Hill: the author, 1830.
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Luppitt has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Luppitt - Parish, church and People website.

Sage, John. Luppitt - Parish, Church and People. The Luppitt Local History Group (2000) 206 pp. [Details] [Index].
topup

Land and Property

Spreadsheet transcription of the Tithe Apportionments.

Tithe Map and Apportionments, by Lucy Franklin.

topup
topup

Schools

Transcriptions of the School Registers (1873-1960) are available from the Luppitt History Group web-site.

topup

Societies

The Luppitt Local History Group web-site provides extracts from their recently published book of Luppitt Local History, and an extensive set of transcriptions. These include census records, parish registers, monumental inscriptions, taxation records, poor law records, and much else, together with a set of family trees compiled from these Luppitt records.

topup

Taxation

Hoskins, W.G. Extracts from the lay subsidy rolls...for the parishes of Luppitt [1591, 1660], Cotleigh [1660], Monkton [1660], Shute [1660], Northleigh [1660], Farway [1660] and lists of the inhabitants of the precinct of Bradninch in Exeter, 1708, 1732, 1752, Manuscript (1935). [D&CRS Library, Exeter: P1660]