Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Mariansleigh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Mariansleigh

"MARIANSLEIGH, or Mary Ansleigh, a small village on an eminence above the Mole valley, nearly 1 mile S.S.E. of South Molton, has in its parish 338 souls, and 1740 acres of land, including the hamlets of Alswear and Kemp Town, and many scattered houses. . . . Sir H.R.F. Davie, Bart., is lord of the manor and owner of a great part of the parish, and the rest belongs to Mr. Wm. Toms, Mr. F.A. Cockram, and several smaller proprietors. Mr. Cockram owns Kemp Town, and is about to build several new dwellings there. The Church (St Mary,) is an ancient structure, with a tower and four bells. The Rev. Geo. James Gould, of Nympton St. George, is the incumbent, and the patronage is in the Charity Trustees of Exeter, as trustees of John Davye's Almshouses in that city, founded in the 42nd of Elizabeth. . . . In the village is an Independent Chapel, built in 1840. The National School was erected by the late Sir H.P. Davie, Bart. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

Also known as Marley. A parish in Witheridge Hundred, and the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple and Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Mariansleigh area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Mariansleigh - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1727 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1727, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1579, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1597-1837 and Marriages 1598-1606, 1629-1634, 1668-1700, 1712-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

Burials 1837 - 1856, 1857 - 1876, 1877 - 1896 and 1897 - 1916, provided by Devon Heritage.

The Deanery of South Molton: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bishop's Nympton, Cheldon, Creacombe, Cruwys Morchard, East Anstey, East Woolfardisworthy, East Worlington, George Nympton, King's Nympton, Knowstone, Mariansleigh, Meshaw, Molland, North Molton, Oakford, Puddington, Rackenford, Romansleigh, Rose Ash, Satterleigh, South Molton, Stoodleigh, Templeton, Thelbridge, Twitchen, Warkleigh, Washford Pyne, West Anstey, West Worlington and Witheridge. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902). CD-ROM 062, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Bishop's Nympton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Cheldon Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1755-1835, Bur: 1813-1841; Creacombe Bapt: 1814-1902, Mar: 1759-1835, Bur: 1813-1850; Cruwys Morchard Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Anstey Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1688-1839; East Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1813-1837; East Worlington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; George Nympton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1790-1837; King's Nympton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Knowstone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1740-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Mariansleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Meshaw Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1813-1838; Molland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; North Molton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Oakford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1840; Puddington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1759-1836, Bur: 1740-1837; Rackenford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Romansleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1730-1837; Rose Ash Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1850; Satterleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; South Molton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Stoodleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Templeton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Thelbridge Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1853; Twitchen Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Warkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Washford Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1813-1840; West Anstey Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1745-1838; West Worlington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1846, Bur: 1813-1851; Witheridge Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1835]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Mariansleigh  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Mariansleigh which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Mariansleigh to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Priestley, Fay Sampson. Elusive Southcombes of Mariansleigh, Devon Family Historian, vol. 156, (2015) pp.9-12.
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Mariansleigh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Tull, Christopher S. Mariansleigh Church and people (2nd. ed.) [Bishopsnympton]: C.S.Tull (1981) 28p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p726.5/MAR/TUL]
Mariansleigh Millenium Group (Thelma Avery, Norma Bona, Barbara Elliott, Ginny Hobart, Mike Samspon and John Usmar). Mariansleigh: The Parish Through the Ages. Printed by Burridge Litho, Witheridge, Devon [2000?] 110 pp. [Contains photographs of all the houses in the parish, memories of bygone days from the local residents, brief sections on various aspects of the history of the parish and many transcriptions of items on the parish extracted from the South Molton Gazette]
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Protestation Return of 1641/42 from Devon Heritage.

Mariansleigh contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Ryall, David. Lest We Forget, War memorials around South Molton. South Molton Archive, 68pp. [ISBN 0 951236 1 4] [Provides an indexed list of names]
topup

Probate Records

Abstract of the will of Robert Southcombe (1672), provided by Fay Sampson.