Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Milton Damerel

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Milton Damerel

"MILTON-DAMERELL, a village and parish on the north side of the small river Waldon, 5 miles N.E. by N. of Holsworthy, comprises 813 inhabitants, and 4252 acres of land, including the hamlets of East and West Wonford and Whitbeare. The Earl of Devon is lord of the manor, which is held under him by Earl Stanhope; but a few smaller owners and lease-holders have estates here. The Church (Holy Trinity,) has a tower and three bells, and the living is a rectory, valued in K.B. at £26. 12s. 6½d., and in 1831 at £441, with the perpetual curacy of Cookbury annexed to it. The Rev. Thos. Clack, B.A., is the incumbent, and has 75A. of glebe and a good old residence. A Sunday School for about 100 children is supported by subscription. the Earl of Devon is patron of the rectory. " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Black Torrington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Heard, Cyril Ross Henry. Memories and reminiscences of an octogenarian in rural Devon. Milton Damerel: The Author [1994] 120p: ill,map,ports. [Westcountry Studies Library - p301.35/MIL/HEA]

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Milton Damerel area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Milton Damerel - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Lega-Weekes, Ethel. Saint Loye's [chapel], East Wonford. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 52 (1920) pp. 207-222. [Index]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1791 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

According to Peskett: "many entries relative to Milton Damerel occur in Cookbury registers 1749-1791".

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1678, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1606, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

The members' area of the Devon FHS website makes available online images, not at present (Jan 2016) available elsewhere, of the Parish Registers covering Milton Damarel Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1678-1791, Baptisms and Burials: 1791-1812, Baptisms: 1813-1866, Marriages and Banns: 1754-1809, Marriages and Banns (covers), 1754-1812, Marriages and Banns: 1811-1828, Marriages: 1813-1837, Marriages: 1837-1914, Burials: 1813-1910.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel, Gidcot Cross: Registers for c1813-37 - see Holsworthy, Kingsbridge (PRO RG 4/1210, 1088)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1609-1837 Marriages 1606-1636, 1666-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

Note: The Devon Record Office Newsletter, Issue 20 (Nov 1997), reported acquisition of "two registers of the parish of Milton Damerel covering the years 1683-1810 (D 2963 add 2), which had strayed with a former incumbent as far as Nottingham and were kindly returned by a relative".

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbots Bickington, Ashwater, Black Torrington, Bradford, Bradworthy, Bridgerule, Clawton, Cookbury, Halwill, Hollacombe, Holsworthy, Luffincott, Milton Damerel, Pancrasweek, Pyworthy, Sutcombe, Tetcott, Thornbury, West Putford and Holsworthy Weslyan Burials. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850), Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902) and A Topographical Dictionary of England, Samuel Lewis (1831), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Abbots Bickington Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1770-1833 Bur: 1813-1837; Ashwater Bapt: 1813-1841 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Black Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bradford Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1705-1837; Bradworthy Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Bridgerule Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Clawton Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Cookbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1841; Halwill Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1843; Hollacombe Bapt: 1813-1898 Mar: 1757-1837 Bur: 1813-1852; Holsworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1860 Bur: 1813-1837; Holsworthy Weslyan Bapt: 1812-1831; Luffincott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1814-1840; Milton Damerel Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1761-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pancrasweek Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Pyworthy Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1837 Bur: 1813-1838; Sutcombe Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1800-1837; Tetcott Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1755-1836 Bur: 1813-1837; Thornbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1756-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; West Putford Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1838.]

Description and Travel

Section on Milton Damerell  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Milton Damerel which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Don Davis, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: Censuses 1841-1891; Land Tax assessments, Tithe apportionments, PRs 1606-1837.)

Don Davis's blog on the Fishleigh/Fishley family contains extensive information relating to Abbots Bickington, Bulkworthy, Milton Damerel and Newton St Petrock.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Milton Damerel has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Milton Damerel to another place.

Probate Records

Will of Mary Norton (1779), transcribed by Ros Dunning.

Last updated: 1 Feb 2016 - Brian Randell

Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future.