Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Newton Ferrers

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Newton Ferrers

"NEWTON FERRERS is a pleasant scattered village, on rising ground, at the head of a small creek from the estuary of the Yealm, 7 miles S.E. by E. of Plymouth, and 2 miles from the sea-coast. Its parish contains 778 souls, and 2991 acres of land, extending two miles northward along the east side of the estuary, and including the small hamlet of Torr, and a number of scattered farms. There are oyster-beds in the estuary, belonging to companies in London and Southampton; and a variety of other fish are taken here. The manor of Newton anciently belonged to the Ferrers family, whose co-heiress carried it in marriage to Lord St. John. It afterwards passed to the Bonville, Copleston, Hele, and other families. It now belongs in moieties to H.R. Roe and John Holberton, Esqrs., the latter of whom has a pleasant seat, called Torr House, where his family has resided for many generations. . . . The Church (Holy Cross,) is an ancient structure, with a tower and five bells, and was repaired and new seated about 60 years ago. Near Puslinch House stood the ancient chapel of St. Toly (Olave,) but its remains were removed some years ago. The rectory . . . is in the patronage and incumbency of the Rev. John Yonge, B.A., . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Ermington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter. Regarded as part of the South Hams area.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newton Ferrers area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1600 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1600 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Name listings extracted from the parish registers covering baptisms 1600-1905), marriages (1600-1834), and burials (1600-1905), provided by Donald Curkeet.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1813-37 - see Plymouth Ebenezer (PRO RG 4/1325)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1600-1836 and Marriages 1600-1836.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the Deanery of Plympton. with photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2007). [Brixton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Cornwood: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Ermington: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1838), Bur (1813-1837 ), Harford: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1755-1837), Bur (1813-1838), Holbeton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Ivybridge: Bapt (1835-1840), Mar (1835-1840), Bur (1836-1840), Kingston: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837), Modbury: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Newton Ferrers: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1836), Bur (1813-1837)), North Huish: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Mary: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plympton St. Maurice: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Plymstock: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Revelstoke: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Shaugh Prior: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1835), Ugborough: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1841), Bur (1813-1837), Wembury: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1612-1837), Bur (1813-1840), Yealmpton: Bapt (1813-1840), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837)]

Description and Travel

Section on Newton Ferrers  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Conservation Area Appraisal for Newton Ferrers - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps [Downloadable PDF].

Barber, Chips. Newton Ferrers and Noss Mayo. Pinhoe, Exeter: Obelisk Publications. [ISBN 1899073418].
Bowen, David. Portrait of a village - Newton Ferrers and Noss Mayo. Devon Life vol. 5 no. 37, (1969) pp.18-21; ill.
You can see pictures of Newton Ferrers which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription of the entry in White's Devonshire Directory (1850) by Terry Partridge.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Deborah O'Brien, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: Using PR transcriptions of the Late Donald E. Curkeet)

Rowe, J.B. Upton pedigree, Miscellanea Genealogica et Heraldica 2nd series 2, 1888, pp. 161-62.
Upton: extracts from parish registers, Miscellanea Genealogica et Heraldica 2nd series 3, 1890, pp. 197-202 & 221-26. [Raymond: From registers of Brixham, Newton Ferrers, et al; also monumental inscriptions from Brixham.]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Newton Ferrers has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Newton Ferrers to another place.

History

Clamp, Arthur L. Newton Ferrers and Noss Mayo remembered. Plymouth: A.L.Clamp (1986) 24p. ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - pxB/NEW 2/1900/CLA]
Grimes, C.H.D. History of Newton Ferrers. Plymouth: Clarke, Doble & Co. (1946) 35p. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/NEW 2/0001/GRI]
Yonge, C.B. A Short History of Newton Ferrers. (1924) [Westcountry Studies Library, Plymouth Library]
Your Devon: Newton Ferrers. Devon Family Historian No.90 (May 1999) pp. 32-37 [Extract from White's 1850 Directory, plus photographs, of Newton Ferrers and Noss Mayo]

Land and Property

Morshead, J.Y.A. A history of Puslinch. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 48, (1916) pp.180-188.