Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Newton Poppleford

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Newton Poppleford

"NEWTON POPPLEFORD [is a] tithing and chapelry, which has 549 inhabitants and 524 acres of land . . . in the vale of the Otter, where it has a good village and a stone bridge of three arches, 10 miles E. by S. of Exeter, and 3 miles S. of Ottery St. Mary. . . . The Chapel of Ease (St Mark,) at Newton Poppleford, is served by the vicar [of Aylesbeare], and is said to have been founded as a chantry chapel by Edward III., about 1330. It is a stone fabric, with a Norman tower and one bell. The village of Newton has also a small Independent Chapel, built in 1816; and on the river bank is a crepe and silk factory, which belongs to Hy. Elliott, Esq., but is now unoccupied. Many females here are employed in making Honiton Lace. . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A chapelry in the parish of Aylesbeare in East Budleigh Hundred in the Archdeaconry and Dioces of Exeter, which became a separate parish in 1896. Part of the Otter Valley area.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newton Poppleford area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1862 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1580 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1581-1670, and Marriages 1581-1630, 1654-1670 (separately listed in the Aylesbeare Registers).

Sellman, R.R. Aylesbeare with Newton Poppleford, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers to 1837/1854 (typescript) 144p. [Westcountry Studies Library]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Newton Poppleford  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Newton Poppleford which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Newton Poppleford to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Newton Poppleford has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Bevan, H.O. Newton Poppleford: Historical Notes (typescript). (1956) 10p. [Westcountry Studies Library - xB/NEW 4/0001/BEV]
Tenney, G. Peep into the past: Newton Poppleford and Harpford. Newton Abbot: G.Tenney [1988] 27p. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/NEW 4/0001/TEN]
Wilson, Ray. Yesterday in Newton Poppleford: the way we were, the things we did, Newton Poppleford, R. Wilson (1999) 93 pp.
The lower Otter valley: sketches on local history, Budleigh, Otter Valley Assoc. (1984) 104p: ill,maps. [ISBN 0950753416]
topup
topup

Societies

The Otter Valley Association has an extensive web-site providing much genealogical and historical material.