Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Pennycross

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Pennycross

"PENNYCROSS, otherwise Western Peverell or St. Pancras, is a chapelry, containing 1310 acres of land, and 276 souls, and includes part of Mutley and Ford Park, and several handsome houses. The manor was anciently held by the Peverells, and afterwards by the Carew, Hewer, and other families, and is now held by the Rev. J.H. Parlby, of Manadon, formerly the seat of the Hewers. The Chapel (St. Pancras,) is an ancient building, and the curacy is annexed to the vicarage of St. Andrew. " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish, in Roborough Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter, just to the N. of Stoke Damerel/Devonport.

topup

Cemeteries

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions in the Churchyard in Mill Lane is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 6 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M19).

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pennycross area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Parish church website.

Collins, Charles Trelawny. A Farewell Address to the Parishioners of Pennycross ... on resigning the curacy of St. Pancras Chapel. W. H. Luke: Plymouth (1868) pp. 23. [BL 4372.b.13.(9.)]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1634 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1634 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993), under the name "Plymouth, Pennycross": Parish Church Christenings 1634-1812 Marriages 1636-1752.

Name listings extracted from the parish registers covering baptisms 1634-1812), marriages (1636-1752), and burials (1635-1812), provided by Donald Curkeet.

Deanery of Three Towns - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2004). [Index of East Stonehouse - St. George: Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1697-1837), Burials (1813-1840), Pennycross - St. Pancras: Baptisms (1813-1839), Burials (1813-1837); Plymouth - Charles the Martyr: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Plymouth - St. Andrew: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); St. Budeaux: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Stoke Damerel: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837). With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England (1844).]
Plymouth Baptisms Index (Volume 1): An index of baptisms in the parishes of Charles Church, Plymouth 1834-1962; St. Andrew, Plymouth 1835-1978; St. Budeaux 1840-1966; St. George, East Stonehouse 1863-1887 and 1941-1954; St. Pancras, Pennycross 1839-1970; Stoke Damerel 1840-1954. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2007). [Entries give the name of the child, the date, name of the church and either the entry number or the page number. PLEASE NOTE:- Names of the parents are not included.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Pennycross  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Pennycross which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) for Western Peverell in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Pennycross to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Wright, Sylvia. Belair & The Elphinstone Family, Devon Family Historian, no. 153, (2015) pp.22.
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Pennycross has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Worth, R. N. Some notes on the tithing of Pennycross, or Weston Peveril. Trans. Devon Assoc. vol. 29 (1897) pp. 514-517. [Index]
topup

Land and Property

Index of heads of Households in Devonshire: Plymouth - Western Peverell, P.O. Box 339, Blackburn, Victoria, Australia 3130, Australian Institute of Genealogical Studies (2000). [As recorded in Land Tax records 1780-1831]
topup