Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Petrockstowe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Petrockstowe

"PETROCKSTOW, or Stow St. Petrock, is a pleasant village and parish, 4 miles N.N.W. of Hatherleigh, containing 616 souls, and 4030 acres of land, including 210A. of woodland, 1360A. of open moor, and the deer park of Heanton Sackville, (136A.) where the ancient mansion was burnt down many years ago, as noticed at page 768, where it will be seen that the present handsome mansion, called Heanton House, stands in the adjoining parish of Huish, and is the seat of Lord Clinton, the lord of the manors, and owner of most of the soil of both parishes. The old house was for some time a seat of the Rolles, and afterwards of the Earls of Orford. Merland belongs to Mr. John Bonifant, and formerly belonged to the Zouch and Fitzwarren families. The Church is an ancient fabric, with a beautiful stained glass window, and a much admired Norman font. It has several monuments belonging to the Rolle and other families." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Giles, Richard. Teaching in Devon in Three Generations, Devon Family Historian, no. 125, (Feb 2008) pp.5-7. [William Britton Edwards, Richard Bawden Giles, Richard Keith Giles]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Petrockstowe area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Listing of Saint Petroc's Rectors, provided by Michael Wright.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1597 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1819-37 - see Bideford (PRO RG 4/955)

Nothing transcribed into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Transcriptions of Petrockstowe Baptisms (1615-1814), Marriages (1615-1833), Burials (1615-1812), and Overseers of the Poor (1682-1705) by Betsey Rubel.

The Deanery of Torrington - An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashreigny, Beaford, Buckland Filleigh, Dolton, Dowland, Great Torrington, Huish, Iddesleigh, Langtree, Little Torrington, Meeth, Merton, Newton St. Petrock, Peters Marland, Petrockstowe, Roborough, Shebbear, Sheepwash, St. Giles in the Wood and Winkleigh. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2010) . [Ashreigny Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Beaford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Filleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Dolton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Dowland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1742-1837; Great Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Huish Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Iddesleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Langtree Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Little Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Meeth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Merton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Newton St. Petrock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Peters Marland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Petrockstowe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Roborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Shebbear Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sheepwash Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; St Giles in the Wood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Winkleigh Bapt: 1813-1853, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Petrockstowe  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Petrockstowe web site - general information, illustrated description, history, genealogy, etc.

Petrockstowe village web site - general community information, village history, etc.

You can see pictures of Petrockstowe which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Transcription provided by Michael Wright of the entry (description and names) in Billings' Directory (1857), White's 1878/79 Directory, and Kelly's Directory 1899.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Petrockstowe to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Michael Wright's Petrockstowe One Place Genealogy web-site makes available an extensive set of transcriptions of records reating to the parish - trade directory entries, PRs, protestation returns, etc.

Giles, Richard. Dunnotar to Devon - and Back, Devon Family Historian, vol. 128, (2008) pp.35-37. [Details of the Falconer family of Petrockstowe and Dunnotar (Aberdeenshire).]
Giles, Richard. The Falconer Family - The Next Generation, Devon Family Historian, vol. 130, (2009) pp.31-33. [A Scottish family who emigrated to Devon in the mid-19thC]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Petrockstowe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the parish of Petrockstowe, Devon. Typescript (1964) 8p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/PET 7/0001/WIL]
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Protestation Return (1641-42), provided by Michael Wright.

Petrockstowe contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.