Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Pilton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Pilton

"PILTON is a pleasant village, on an eminence, about half a mile north of Barnstaple. Its parish contains 1805 inhabitants, and is mostly included in the Borough of Barnstaple. . . The manor of Pilton belonged to a Benedictine Priory, which was founded here as a cell to Malmsbury Abbey, and was valued at £56. 12s. 8d. per annum at the dissolution, when it and the manor were granted to the Chichester family. The manor, after passing to the Sydenham, Northmore, and other families, was dismembered. John Whyte, Esq., owns the site of the priory, and Westaway estate, and has a handsome mansion here, called Pilton House; but a great part of the parish belongs to the Trustees of the late Lord Rolle, J. R. Griffiths, Esq., Capt. May, and several other freeholders." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Braunton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pilton area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Pilton - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Chanter, John Frederick. The church of St. Mary the Virgin, Pilton and its curates. Exeter Dioc.Gazette (1908) 10p. [Raymond: Includes biog. notes on clergy.]
Davies, Clifford. An account of the parish and parish church of Pilton [New ed.]. Ramsgate: Church Publishers (1966) 24p: ill [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/PIL/0001/DAV]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1566 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1807-37 - see Barnstaple Circuit (PRO RG 4/954)

Nothing transcribed into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Pilton parish register 1566- 1899: Index. Typescript [1981] 266p. [Westcountry Studies Library - f929.3/PIL/1566]
Pilton parish register: baptisms 1569-1884. Typescript [1981] 234p. [Westcountry Studies Library - f929.3/PIL/1569]
Pilton parish register: marriages 1569-1899; burials 1566-1860. Typescript [1981] 114p. [Westcountry Studies Library - f929.3/PIL/1566]
Deanery of Barnstaple - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2005). [Index of Atherington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Barnstaple: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Bishops Tawton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Chittlehampton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Filleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Fremington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), High Bickington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Horwood: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1654-1837), Burials (1675-1837), Huntshaw: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Instow: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Landkey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Newton Tracey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1570-1837), Burials (1725-1837), Pilton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Swimbridge: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Tawstock: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Westleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838)
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Pilton  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Pilton which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription of the description and name listing for Barnstaple, with the village of Pilton and neighbourhoods, from Pigot's London and Provincial New Commercial Directory of 1830.

Transcription of complete description and name listing for Barnstaple, together with Pilton Parish and part of Bishop's Tawton, from White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Transcription, by Jonathan Frayne of the West Pilton section of Kelly's Directory of Barnstaple and Neighbourhood (1941).

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Pilton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Guthrig, Sylvia C. Whatever Went Wrong?, Devon Family Historian, no. 101, (Feb 2002) pp.33. [Concerning Harriet (later Henry?) Manning of Pilton, bap. 1840.]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Pilton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Reed, Margaret A. (Margaret Anne). Pilton: its past and its people. Barnstaple: Vineyard,1985, xii, 258 pp. ill., 1 facsim., maps, plans, ports. ISBN: 0951019201. [Lookups]
Corney, M.L. The Bull House, Pilton, [Pilton?] : M.L.Corney (1985) 20 pp. [WCSL p728.83/PIL/COR]
Woodley, Kathleen M. Pinhoe. [Pinhoe]: [K.M Woodley] [1982] [6], 70p. [Westcountry Studies Library]
A walk through Pilton's past. Pilton Village History Group. (1988) 20p: ill, map, ports. [ISBN 0951313703]
The village of Pilton. Barnstaple: Aycliffe Press [1984?] 8p: ill, map.
topup

Land and Property

Elliot, John. Homes and gardens, Bull House, Pilton. Devon Life vol. 9 no. 74 (1972) pp.14-16; ill.
topup