Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Rattery

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Rattery

"RATTERY, or Rattrey, a small village on an eminence, four miles W. by N. of Totnes, has in its parish 485 souls, and 2823A. 3R. 23P. of land. Marley House, a large and handsome stuccoed mansion, with a fine lawn, is the residence of the Dowager Lady Carew, who is daughter and heiress of the late Walter Palk, Esq., and carried the manor of Rattery and other estates to the late Sir Henry Carew, Bart. Her eldest son, Sir. W.P. Carew, is now lord of the manor, but part of the soil belongs to R. Brown, Esq., and a few smaller owners. The Church is an ancient structure, with a tower, containing four bells, and crowned by a small spire. It has been repaired by Lady Carew, and now has a handsome appearance. Some of its windows have lately been decorated with stained glass. The vicarage, valued in K.B. at £14. 10s., and in 1831 at £240, is in the patronage of Sir W.P. Carew, and incumbency of the Rev. R.P. Carew, who has a good residence and 60A. 3R. 5P. of glebe. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Stanborough Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes and the Diocese of Exeter. Regarded as part of the South Hams area.

topup

Census

Name index to the 1841 census, from the Parishes of the South Hams website.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Rattery area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Rattery - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Burns, J.S. Syon Abbey. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 25, (1893) pp.343-355. [Index]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1563 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1653, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1609, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1800-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1820-37 - see Ashburton Circuit (PRO RG 4/840)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1609-1837, Marriages 1609-1618, 1631-1641, 1653-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

The Deanery of Totnes: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials . . . with photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Ashprington: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Blackawton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Buckfastleigh: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Cornworthy: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1840), Dartington: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Dartmouth St. Clement: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Dartmouth St. Petrox: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Dartmouth St. Saviour: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Dean Prior: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1755-1837), Bur (1790-1837), Diptford: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Dittisham: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Halwell: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1755-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Harberton: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Holne: Bapt (1813-1842), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Rattery: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1800-1837), South Brent: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Stoke Fleming: Bapt (1813-1839), Mar (1754-1837), Bur (1813-1837), Totnes: Bapt (1813-1842), Mar (1754-1837), Bur: (1813-1837)]
Sellman, R.R. Rattery, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers to 1837, with family reconstitutions and other evidence. Typescript (1992) 98p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/RAT/1609]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Rattery  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Rattery which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription of the entry in White's Devonshire Directory (1850) by Terry Partridge.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Rattery to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

The South Hams Genealogical Information Resource website offers lookups in their records concerning this parish.

Hannaford, Ronda. Susannah Hannaford & Her Family, Gould Books, 1267 North East Road, Ridgehaven SA 5097. [ISBN 0 947284 00 1]
Phillips, Alan. Family Tree of William & Susannah Hannaford, Gould Books, 1267 North East Road, Ridgehaven SA 5097. 112 pp.[ISBN 0 947284 20 6]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Rattery has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Your Devon? Rattery, Devon Family Historian, No. 68, Nov. 1993, pp. 16-17.
The Book of Rattery, Compiled by the People of the Parish (Halsgrove Community History Series), Halsgrove House, Lower Moor Way, Tiverton, Devon, EX16 6SS, UK, Halsgrove Publishing (2001) 160 pp. [ISBN 1841141011] [Index]
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Rattery contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

The Report of the Commissioners Concerning Charities: Containing that Part which Relates to the County of Devon, Exeter, T. Besley (1826-30). [Rattery extract]
topup

Probate Records

Transcript of the will of Margery Blake (1838), provided by Elizabeth Kipp.