Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Roborough

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Roborough

"ROBOROUGH, 5½ miles E. by S. of Torrington, has in its parish 588 souls, and about 3000 acres of land, including the hamlet of Ebberley, and a number of scattered farms. Henry Hole, Esq., is lord of the manor, and owner of a great part of the soil, and resides at Ebberley House. The Trustees of the late Lord Rolle own Owlacombe, and several smaller proprietors have estates in the parish. The Church (St. Peter,) has a tower and six bells, and the living is a rectory, valued in K.B. at £10. 9s. 8d., and in 1831 at £244. The Bishop of Exeter is patron, and the Rev. W.W. Gurney is the incumbent, and has 60A. of glebe, and a handsome residence, in the Elizabethan style, erected some years ago, at the cost of about £1500. . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Fremington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Census

Roborough Census for 1861, transcribed by Deborah O'Brien.

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Roborough area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

Williams, H. Fulford. The Rectors of Roborough. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 28 (1959-61) pp.279-281.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1549 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1549 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1839 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1550-1812 and Marriages 1549-1812.

The Deanery of Torrington - An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashreigny, Beaford, Buckland Filleigh, Dolton, Dowland, Great Torrington, Huish, Iddesleigh, Langtree, Little Torrington, Meeth, Merton, Newton St. Petrock, Peters Marland, Petrockstowe, Roborough, Shebbear, Sheepwash, St. Giles in the Wood and Winkleigh. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2010) . [Ashreigny Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Beaford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Filleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Dolton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Dowland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1742-1837; Great Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Huish Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Iddesleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Langtree Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Little Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Meeth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Merton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Newton St. Petrock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Peters Marland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Petrockstowe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Roborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Shebbear Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sheepwash Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; St Giles in the Wood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Winkleigh Bapt: 1813-1853, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Roborough  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Barber, Chips. Around & About Roborough Down. Pinhoe, Exeter: Obelisk Publications. [ISBN 1899073698].

You can see pictures of Roborough which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Deborah O'Brien, who invites queries and lookup requests.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Roborough has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Roborough to another place.

History

Oliver, B. Notes on Roborough (North Devon), Trans. Devon. Assoc., (1957) pp.239-252.
Reichel, O.J. The Hundred of Roborough in Early Times, Trans. Devonshire Association (1940) pp.97-132.
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the parish of Roborough, Devon. Typescript (1961) 8p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/ROB/0001/WIL]

Land and Property

Oliver, May F.C. Correction and addition to the "notes on the manors and bartons". Trans. Devon. Assoc. 84, (1952) pp.206-207.

Manors

Snell, Ruth. Inspeximus: Poetry from the manors of The Roborough Hundred. Silverwood Books (2014) 114 pp. [ISBN-13: 978-1781323021] ["Each poem is written with reference to one of the historical manors, and is presented with a short piece of information about the history of the relevant manor."]

Military History

Sullock, Jason. Militia of Roborough Hundred, 1569 (1996). [Devon FHS Library p942.35/WES

Names, Personal

Roborough contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Probate Records

Transcript of the admon of John Parkin (1897), and the wills of John Squire (1894) and Francis Squire (1907), provided by John Fisher.