Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Budeaux

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Budeaux

"ST. BUDEAUX, a pleasant village on an eminence, overlooking the broad estuary of the river Tamar, 4 miles N.W. of Plymouth, has in its parish 700 souls, and 2507 acres of land, including the hamlets, &c., of King's-Tamerton, Henicknowle, Whitleigh, Saltash Passage, Kinterbury, and part of Knacker's-knowleKnoll, the latter of which is partly in Egg-Buckland parish. A small part of the parish of St. Budeaux is in Cornwall. Lord Graves is lord of the manor, but a great part of the parish belongs to E.H. Gennys, T. Pollard, W.W. Chard, W.J. Clarke, and C.T. Trelawney, Esqrs.; Lord Ashburton, and several smaller owners; some of whom have neat houses here. The manor was anciently called Budockshed, . . . St. Budeaux church and churchyard, having been strongly fortified by the Royalists when blockading Plymouth, were taken by the Parliamentarians in January, 1646, when Major Stuckley, with 20 other officers, and above 100 men, were taken prisoners. The Church, dedicated to St. Budeaux or Budock, is a handsome structure, which was erected in the 8th of Elizabeth, by Roger Budockshed, partly with the materials of the original church, which was of great antiquity, and stood in an unhealthy situation near the Tamar estuary. . . [It is] in the patronage of the Vicar of St. Andrew's, Plymouth, and incumbency of the Rev. B.W.S. Vallack, B.A., . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Roborough Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter. Described by Peskett as follows: "A chapelry of Plymouth St Andrew ... part of the parish of St Stephen's-by-Saltash and county of Cornwall prior to transfer to the county of Devon in 1844, and parish of St Budeaux in 1895; Pennycross was usually served from this parish".

topup

Cemeteries

The "Of the Parish" headstone and memorial indexing and photography project aims to put details of the people who died in Plymouth and the surrounding area online. The churchyards and burial grounds for which gravestone images have been collected and names entered into a consolidated database are to date: Oreston Methodist Church (Plymstock), Pleasure Hill non conformist burial ground (Oreston, Plymstock), Royal Naval Hospital burial ground (No Place Field, Plymouth), St Budeaux, St Edward (Eggbuckland), St Peter The Poor Fisherman (Stoke Beach near Noss Mayo, Revelstoke), and Milehouse overflow burial ground, Devonport (Stoke Damerel).

Brown, Mike. Guide Notes to Monuments in Devon Churches & Graveyards: Plymouth St Budeaux, Plymouth St Andrew's. The Dartmoor Press. 16pp. [Budockshead, Cole]

topup

Church History

St Budeaux - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

St Budeaux Parish Church History (archived copy) - in pictures, and images of text pages.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1599-1848 Marriages 1539-1653, 1792-1850, 1861-1864, 1875.

Hugh Wallis has provided a list that he has compiled of the coverage of the St Budeaux PRs in the microfiche copies available from the Devon R.O.

Name listings extracted from the parish registers covering baptisms 1538-1848), marriages (1539-1875), and burials (1539-1883), provided by Donald Curkeet.

Chiswell, Ann. St Budeaux Marriages 1539-1837. Supplements to Devon Family Historian, vols. 2-5, (Apr 1977 - Jan 1978) 28p.
Whitmarsh, J. Extracts from the Churchwardens' Accounts at St Budeaux in 1636. Western Antiquary 3 (1884) pp.197-198. [Raymond: For 1647 see p.206.]
Parish of St. Budeaux, Devon: incomplete transcript...parish register: baptisms 1615-56, marriages 1539-1653, burials 1538-1864. Manuscript [1885] 1 vol. [Westcountry Studies Library - s929.3/ST.B/1538]
Plymouth Marriage Index: Volume 1:, Exeter, Devon Family History Society (2001). [Includes marriages for St Budeaux, 1837-1955]
Deanery of Three Towns - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2004). [Index of East Stonehouse - St. George: Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1697-1837), Burials (1813-1840), Pennycross - St. Pancras: Baptisms (1813-1839), Burials (1813-1837); Plymouth - Charles the Martyr: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Plymouth - St. Andrew: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); St. Budeaux: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Stoke Damerel: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837). With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England (1844).]
Plymouth Baptisms Index (Volume 1): An index of baptisms in the parishes of Charles Church, Plymouth 1834-1962; St. Andrew, Plymouth 1835-1978; St. Budeaux 1840-1966; St. George, East Stonehouse 1863-1887 and 1941-1954; St. Pancras, Pennycross 1839-1970; Stoke Damerel 1840-1954. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2007). [Entries give the name of the child, the date, name of the church and either the entry number or the page number. PLEASE NOTE:- Names of the parents are not included.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on St Budeaux from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of St Budeaux which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the Tamerton Foliatt, Kings Tamerton and St. Budeaux entry (description and names) in Pigot and Co's Directory of Devonshire 1830-31.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Budeaux to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Budeaux has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Plymouth Data (archived copy) - An encyclopaedia of historical information about the "Three Towns" of Plymouth, Devonport and Stonehouse, and also also the ancient parishes of St Budeaux, Eggbuckland, Tamerton Foliot, Plympton St Maurice, Plympton St Mary and Plymstock, which make up the modern City of Plymouth, compiled by Brian Moseley - highly recommended.

Clamp, Arthur L. Honicknowle Remembered. Plymouth: [The Author] [1983] 24p: ill, maps. [Westcountry Studies Library - pxB/PLY 1/1900/CLA]
Hancock, T.A. St Budeaux: its documents and its treasures. Plymouth Institution - Transactions 17 (1937) pp.305-366.
Ware, Marshall. The ancient parish of St.Budeaux, [Plymouth], [The Author?] (1983) 32 pp.
Worth, R.N. Some notes on the tithing of Pennycross, or Weston Peveril. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 29, (1897) pp.514-517. [Index]
topup
topup

Occupations

R., J.B. A Domestic Servant's Indenture of Apprenticeship. Devon Notes and Queries Vol.1 1 (1900-01) pp.13-14. [Raymond: Indenture, 1732, Ruth Knight of St Budeaux.] [Index]
topup

Probate Records

Will of William Francis Buchan (1838), transcribed by Ian Hearder.

Will of Nicholas Docton (1737) transcribed by David Carter.

Will of Henry Maingay (1847) transcribed by Dinny and Richard Cope.