Hide
Stoke Canon
hide
Hide
hide
- Almanacs◬
- Archives & Libraries◬
- Bibliography◬
- Biography◬
- Business & Commerce Records◬
- Cemeteries
- Census◬
- Chronology◬
- Church History
- Church Records
- Churches
- Civil Registration◬
- Correctional Institutions◬
- Court Records◬
- Description & Travel
- Directories
- Emigration & Immigration◬
- Encyclopaedias & Dictionaries◬
- Folklore◬
- Gazetteers
- Genealogy
- Handwriting◬
- Heraldry◬
- Historical Geography◬
Hide
Click on map to view parish boundaries in detail.
Hide
Hide
hide
- History
- Jewish History◬
- Land & Property◬
- Language & Languages◬
- Manors◬
- Maps
- Medical Records◬
- Merchant Marine◬
- Military History
- Names, Geographical◬
- Names, Personal◬
- Newspapers◬
- Occupations◬
- Periodicals◬
- Politics & Government◬
- Poor Houses, Poor Law◬
- Population◬
- Probate Records◬
- Schools◬
- Social Life & Customs◬
- Societies◬
- Taxation◬
- Voting Registers◬
Hide
"STOKE-CANON, a small village near the confluence of the rivers Exe and Culm, and near the Bristol and Exeter Railway, 4 miles N.E. by N. of Exeter, has in its parish 490 souls, and 1217 acres of land. The manor was given by King Athelstan to Exeter Cathedral, and still belongs to the Dean and Chapter, who also own a great part of the soil, and are appropriators of the tithes and patrons of the perpetual curacy, valued in 1831 at £221, and now enjoyed by the Rev. Wm. T.N. Penoyre, for whom the Rev. T.H. Knight, of Exeter, officiates. The Church (St. Mary,) was rebuilt about 1836, except the tower, at the cost of £1000. The interior is neatly fitted up, and the tower has a clock and four bells. In April, 1847, a hot cinder, blown from one of the railway engines, ignited the thatched roof of a row of cottages, and the fire spread till 24 dwellings, including the Parsonage House, were destroyed." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]
A parish in Wonford Hundred, under the Peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter.
Hide
MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.
A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St Mary the Virgin is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 7 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M20).
Stoke Canon - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).
Parish Church of St Mary Magdalene - website
Parish Registers going back to 1654 are held in the Devon Record Office.
Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1654, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1608, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.
The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their Devon Parish List.
Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1608-1837, and Marriages 1608-1620, 1641, 1656-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)
Sellman, R.R. Stoke Canon, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers 1654-1837, with family reconstitutions. Typescript (1990) 60p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/STO/1654]
The Deanery of Aylesbeare: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Aylesbeare, Bicton, Branscombe, Broadclyst, Clyst Honiton, Clyst St.George, Clyst St.Mary, Colaton Raleigh, East Budleigh, Farringdon, Harpford, Huxham, Littleham, Lympstone, Otterton, Ottery St. Mary, Pinhoe, Poltimore, Rockbeare, Salcombe Regis, Sidbury, Sidmouth, Sowton, Stoke Canon, Topsham, Venn Ottery, Whimple, Withycombe Raleigh and Woodbury. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2012). [Aylesbeare Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bicton Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1755-1835, Bur: 1813-1852, Bur: 1725-1845 (BTs); Branscombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1545-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Broadclyst Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst Honiton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst St. George Bapt: 1813-1837, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1840, Bur: 1813-1837; Colaton Raleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Budleigh Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Budleigh Salem Chapel, Bur: 1832-1837; Farringdon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1852; Glenorchy Independent Exmouth, Bur: 1784-1818; Harpford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1809-1837; Huxham Bapt: 1813-1852, Mar: 1758-1836, Bur: 1813-1864; Littleham (near Exmouth) Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lympstone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Otterton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ottery St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Pinhoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1844, Bur: 1813-1838; Poltimore Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Rockbeare Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Salcombe Regis Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sidbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1830, Bur: 1813-1837; Sidmouth Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sowton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Stoke Canon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Topsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Venn Ottery Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Whimple Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Withycombe Raleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Woodbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]
Section on Stoke Canon from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.
Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.
The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Stoke Canon to another place.
The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Thomas Peeke, who invites queries and lookup requests.
Spiller, Margaret. Who Was John Pook, Victim of the Sonning Rail Disaster?, Devon Family Historian, vol. 150, (2014) pp. 5-8.
Cresswell, Beatrix F. The parish of Stoke Canon: a record of a thousand years of village life. Typescript [192-?] 19p. [Westcountry Studies Library - B/STO 2/0001/CRE]
Gentry, F.D. Take Care of your Fire and Candle [11 fires in Devon towns]. Devon Books (1985) 138p. [ISBN 0861147596] [Devon FHS Library 929.35]
Davey, Dennis. 100 Years of the Events & People of Stoke Canon, Dennis Davey, 42 Vinnicombe Road, Stoke Canon EX5 4BB.
Piper, Gillian and John. Stoke Canon. A Short History (1987) [DFHS LOC 352]
View a map of the boundaries of this town/parish.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SX939980 (Lat/Lon: 50.771849, -3.50604), Stoke Canon which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
The 1914-18 War Memorial, transcribed by John Williams