Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Stoke Gabriel: Stoke Gabriel Registers: Entries to Owners of Occupiers of Watton (1920): index

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Name Index

to

Stoke Gabriel Registers: Entries to Owners of Occupiers of Watton

Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries vol. 11 (1920-1) p. 315.

And from the same issue, pp. 315-320.:

Shepherd of Watton Court, Honiton and Lawell

by

A.J.P. Skinner

Prepared by Michael Steer

Watton, since renamed Waddeton Court is a large country house, near the site of an earlier house, in landscaped gardens overlooking the River Dart. It was built in 1829 with a mid-19th century extension at the rear, and in Tudor style. Skinner's Notes (353 & 354) provide data on its earlier occupants extracted from the parish registers. A Shepherd of Honiton pedigree is included, as well as a copy of James Sheppard the elder's will, and information about the Shepherd monument in the parish church. The church was destroyed by fire in 1911. Google with the Archive Organization has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. The Internet Archive makes available, in its Community Texts Collection (originally known as Open Source Books), books that have been digitised by Google from a number of libraries. These are books on which copyright has expired, and are available free for educational and research use. The copy of this rare book is held in the collection of Albert William Bryant Messenger, and is available from the Internet Archive.

 

  Page
A  
Adams, Amy gent.wom. 315
Adams, Mrs Cicell gent.wom. 315
Adams, John 315
Adams, Nicholas Esq 315
B  
Baseley, George 317
C  
Call, Dorothy 317-8
Chilcott, Joseph 318
Chilcott, Susannah jnr 318
Clarke, Anna 318
Clarke, Thomas 318
Cleaveland, Mr 317-8
Coleman 317
Croot, John 318
D  
Davidson, Mr 319
Deem, Mrs Margaret 317-8
D'Oyley, Mary 315
D'Oyley, Robert gent 315
F  
Fowler, Elizabeth 316
Fowler, grandfather 318-9
H  
Hollwaye, Joan 315
Hollwaye, John 315
Hollwaye, William Esq 315
Holway, Elizabeth gent.wom. 315
Holwaye, Doryte 315
M  
Murray, Sir Oswyn KCB 319
N  
Northleigh, Frances 316
P  
Palmer, George gent 315
Palmer, Richoard 315
Peard, Catherine 315
Peard, Oliver 315
S  
Shepherd, Abraham 316
Shepherd, Alexander 316
Shepherd arms (also Sheppard) 316, 318-9
Shepherd, Benjamin (also Sheppard) 316-8
Shepherd, Betty 316
Shepherd, Clement 316
Shepherd, Elizabeth (also Sheppard) 316
Shepherd, Elizabeth (2) 316, 318
Shepherd family (also Sheppard) 315
Shepherd family of Honiton 315-6
Shepherd, Frances 316-8
Shepherd, Frances (2) (also Sheppard) 316
Shepherd, ffrancis gent 315-8
Shepherd, Francis jnr 316
Shepherd, Helen 316
Shepherd, James gent (also Sheppard) 316-9
Shepherd, James jnr gent (also Sheppard) 316-9
Shepherd, Sir James Knt (also Sheppard) 315-9
Shepherd, Mrs Jane 315-6, 318-9
Shepherd, Mary (also Sheppard) 315, 318-9
Shepherd, Mary (2) 316
Shepherd, Mary (3) 316
Shepherd, Mary (4) 316
Shepherd, Richoard 315
Shepherd, Sarah 316
Shepherd, William 316
T  
Turner, John 317, 319
V  
Venn, John gent 317, 319
W  
Walrond arms 316, 318
Walrond, Mary (also Waldron) 316-7
Whitemore, Mary 317
Y  
Yeard, Doryte 315
Yeard, Peter 315