Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Stoke Rivers

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Stoke Rivers

"[Stoke Rivers] anciently belonged to the "Rivers" family, is a village & parish 5 miles E by N of Barnstaple containing 299 inhabitants & 2426 acres of land, including the hamlet of "North Horridge". Sir A. Chichester, Bart, is lord of the manor & owner of most of the soil, and the rest belongs to J. & P. Tamlyn, & several smaller owners. The Church (Holy Ascension) is a Gothic structure with a tower & 5 Bells. The Rectory valued in KB at £14-14s-7d and in 1831 at £260 is in the patronage and incumbency of the Rev. Henry Hiern LLB. who has 59a,1r,32p, of glebe & a good old residence." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Shirlwell Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and Diocese of Exeter, 5 miles N.E. of Barnstaple, which had 270 inhabitants in 1831.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Scobie, C.L. Monumental Inscriptions of the Church of St Michael and All Angels, Loxhore, 1614-1971, and the Church of St Bartholomew, Stoke Rivers, 1686-1971. (1971) [Westcountry Studies Library, SoG Library]

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stoke Rivers area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1553 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1553 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

The members' area of the Devon FHS website makes available online images, not at present (Jan 2016) available elsewhere, of the Parish Registers covering Stoke Rivers Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1553-1744, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1700-1812, Baptisms: 1813-1903, Banns and Marriages: 1754-1814, Marriages: 1813-1837, Marriages: 1838-1914, Banns: 1824-1890, Burials: 1813-1910.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1807-37 - see Barnstaple Circuit (PRO RG 4/954)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1553-1744 and Marriages 1556-1744.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Arlington, Ashford, Berrynarbor, Bittadon, Bratton Fleming, Braunton, Brendon, Challacombe, Charles, Combe Martin, Countisbury, East Buckland, East Down, Georgeham, Goodleigh, Heanton Punchardon, High Bray, Ilfracombe, Kentisbury, Loxhore, Lynton, Martinhoe, Marwood, Mortehoe, Parracombe, Shirwell, Stoke Rivers, Trentishoe, West Buckland and West Down. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Arlington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1814-1837; Ashford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1747-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Berrynarbor Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bittadon Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1754-1835, Bur: 1815-1843; Bratton Fleming Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Braunton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brendon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Challacombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1822-1848; Charles Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Combe Martin Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Countisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Buckland Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1839; East Down Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1839, Bur: 1813-1852; Georgeham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Goodleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Heanton Punchardon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; High Bray Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ilfracombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Kentisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1841, Bur: 1813-1837; Loxhore Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lynton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Martinhoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Marwood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Mortehoe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1837; Parracombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1598-1838, Bur: 1813-1838; Shirwell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Stoke Rivers Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Trentishoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; West Buckland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; West Down Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1840.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Stoke Rivers  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Stoke Rivers which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Stoke Rivers to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Jackson, Liz. A Pioneering Spirit: The Story that began with Philip's ponds, Elizabeth Joan Jackson (2007) 198 pp. [ISBN 978-0-9557380-0-5] [Concerning the Hiern family, originally of Stoke Rivers]
Jackson, Liz. A Pioneering Spirit: The Story That Began with Philip's Ponds, Devon Family Historian, vol. 127, (2008) pp.24-26. [Family of Rev. Henry Hiern, Vicar of Stoke Rivers for 18 years, who emigrated with his family to South Australia in 1852.]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Stoke Rivers has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup
topup

Land and Property

Complete transcription of Stoke Rivers Land Tax records, 1780-1832, by Roy Conibear.

 

topup