Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Talaton: Parish Register Inaccuracies (1916): index

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Name Index

to

Parish Register Inaccuracies

Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 9:2, (1916) pp. 53-54.

by

W.H. Cottell

Prepared by Michael Steer

Talaton is sometimes spelled Tallaton. The author of this Note seeks to remediate certain uncertainties in his family tree by consulting the Talaton parish registers. He claims that four or five generations of his family resided at Larkbere and supposes that to have been a better class of old farmhouse. As well as seeking to sight a copy of the registers, the author requests information on Drusilla Wescott who witnessed his ancestor's will at Crewkerne in 1784. Google with the Archive Organization has sponsored the digitisation of books from several libraries. The Internet Archive makes available, in its Community Texts Collection (originally known as Open Source Books), books that have been digitised by Google from a number of libraries. These are books on which copyright has expired, and are available free for educational and research use. The copy of this rare book is held in the Library of Arthur William Bryant Messenger, and is available from the Internet Archive.

  Page
Canterbury, Archbishop of 53
Cottell family 53-4
Cottell, John 53
Cottell, Mark 53
Cottell, Mary 53
Cottell, Thomas JP 53
Cottell, William 53
Freeman arms 53
Freeman, Dean 53
Hawker, Rev Robert 53
Hull family 54
Peterborough, Bishop of 53
Sackville arms 53
Sackville, Lady 53
Wescott, Drusilla 53
Wescott family 53
Westcott, Mary 53
Westcott, Philip (also Wescott) 53