Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Tedburn St Mary

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Tedburn St Mary

"TEDBURN ST. MARY, a pleasant village on the Okehampton road, 7½ miles W. by N. of Exeter, has in its parish 867 souls and 4433 acres of land, generally fertile, and hilly. It has a cattle fair, on the Monday before Michaelmas day, and includes the hamlet of Upcott, and many scattered farm-houses. At Domesday Survey, Tedbourne (Teteborne) was held by Ralph de Pomerai, under Baldwin de Sap. It is now held by John Hippesley, Esq. The manors of Hackworthy and Melhuish were formerly held by families of their own names, and now belong to Baldwin Fulford, Esq., of Fulford House, which is noticed with Dunsford, at page 192. John Abbot, Esq., and several smaller owners have estates in the parish. The Church is an ancient structure, with a tower and six bells . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Wonford Hundred, the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Hall, Grace. Grace: bell-ringer at large. Tedburn St. Mary: G.Hall (1989) 48p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p920/HAL]

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St Mary, Tedburn, is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 2 of Devon Memorial inscriptions, DE/M15.

Cresswell, B.F. Notes on the Churches of the Deanery of Kenn, Devon, (1912). [Extracts]

Census

Transcription of the 1821 Census of Tedburn St Mary, by Fay Sampson Priestley. (The original document is in private hands.)

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tedburn St Mary area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1558 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1557 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1557-1837, and Marriages 1558-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

Sellman, R.R. Tedburn St. Mary, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers to 1837. Typescript (1989) 170p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/TED/1558]
Tedburn St. Mary parish registers, 1557-1943: transcript. Typescript [1987] [Westcountry Studies Library - x929.3/TED/TED]
The Deanery of Dunsford: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashton, Bridford, Chagford, Cheriton Bishop, Christow, Doddiscombsleigh, Drewsteignton, Dunsford, Gidleigh, Hittisleigh, Holcombe Burnell, South Tawton, Spreyton, Tedburn St. Mary, Throwleigh and Whitestone. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Ashton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1740-1837; Bridford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Chagford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Cheriton Bishop Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1841, Bur: 1813-1837; Christow Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1757-1844, Bur: 1813-1837; Doddiscombsleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1780-1837; Drewsteignton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Dunsford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Gidleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1748-1812 (BT's), Mar: 1814-1837, Bur: 1813-1884; Hittisleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Holcombe Burnell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1753-1837; South Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Spreyton Bapt: 1803-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Tedburn St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Throwleigh Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Whitestone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Tedburn St. Mary  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Tedburn St. Mary website.

You can see pictures of Tedburn St Mary which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Tedburn St Mary has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Tedburn St Mary to another place.

History

Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Tedburn St Mary, Devon. Typescript (1965) 7 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]
Breedon, Margaret and Dalling, Vivian. Murder at Tedburn St Mary on 2nd December 1848, Devon Family Historian, vol. 136, (Nov 2010) pp.34-35. [Concerning the murder of Grace Holman, of which James Landick was found guilty]
Murder in Devonshire (Tedburn St Mary), Devon Family Historian, vol. 132, (2009) p.13. [From the West Briton and Cornwall Advertiser, 26 Jan 1849 - concerning William Cann, Joseph Mills, Mary Ann Emery, James Landick and James Mill, accused of murdering a Mrs Holman.]

Land and Property

Transcription, by Fay Sampson Priestley, of an 1836 notebook by Baldwin Fulford entitled an Account of the Parish Lands of Tedburn St. Mary. (The original document is in private hands.)

Manors

Transcription, by Fay Sampson Priestley, of a Rent Book for the Fulford Estate, including the Manors of Fulford and Melhuish. (The original document is in private hands.)

Names, Personal

Tedburn St Mary contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Phillips, Peter. The Case For Removal: Removal of the Pauper Richard ASH and his family from Cheriton Bishop to Tedburn St Mary, 1842, Devon Family Historian, vol. 162, (2017) pp.7-12.

Schools

Tedburn St. Mary Primary School, 1877-1977: at school in rural Devon. Heritz Studios (1977) 14 pp. ill., ports.