Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Thorverton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Thorverton

"THORVERTON, a large village, pleasantly situated on the west side of the Exe valley, about 7 miles N. of Exeter, and E. by N. of Crediton, has in its parish 1445 inhabitants, and 4063 acres of land, including the hamlets of Raddon, Yellowford, or Yoldford; and many scattered houses. It has two annual fairs, one on the last Monday in February, chiefly for fat sheep, and the other on the Monday after July 18th, for lambs, of which upwards of 40,000 are frequently sold, principally for rearing. The Dean and Chapter of Exeter are lords of the manor of Thorverton, and owners of 13092A., . . . J.H. Hippisley, Esq., is lord of the manor of East Raddon, and owner of 1226A.; Mrs. Fursdon owns 624½A., and the rest of the parish belongs to Lord Clinton and other freeholders. The manor and church of Thorverton were given by Henry II. to St. Martin's Abbey, in Tours; and in the farm-house called Chapel St. Martin, may be seen the remains of a Roman Catholic chapel. The Church (St. Thomas a-Becket,) is a large and handsome Gothic structure, with a tower and five bells. . . . The Dean and Chapter of Exeter are appropriators of the great tithes, and patrons of the Vicarage, . . . now in the incumbency of the Rev. J.D. Coleridge, LL.D., who has 27 aces of glebe, and a handsome residence, . .. . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Hayridge Hundred, the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter, 7 miles S.W. of Cullompton. There was a medieval chapel at Raddon (rebuilt 1896, removed 1925).

topup

Biography

Orbell, Sharon. Thorverton school 1905, Devon Family Historian, no. 125, (Feb 2008) p.27. [Alice Ellen and Jane Symes]
Palfrey, V.R. My Trafalgar Man, Devon Family Historian, vol. 116, (Nov 2005) pp.6,7. [Mark Lake (b. Thorverton 1774, d. Exeter 1860), who served on HMS Agamemnon (1804-09)]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St Thomas a Beckett is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 7 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M20).

Whitmore, J.B. Devonshire Monumental Inscriptions, MS at Society of Genealogists (1951). [Extracts]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Thorverton area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Thorverton - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Thorverton Baptist Church 1832-1982: a brief history. (1982) [2], 16p. [Westcountry Studies Library - p286/THO/THO]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1725 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1720, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1606, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1939, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Baptist Chapel, Berrysbridge Road: Thorverton and Brampford Speke Registers for 1832-1938 (C) are at DRO

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1606-1837, and Marriages 1606-1641, 1662-1697, 1713-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

Fursdon, C.A.T. Genealogical contents of Devon and Cornish wills and inventories [ca.1558-1810] ; Thorverton marriage licences 1528-1834, Typescript (1931). [D&CRS Library: R WIL]
Sellman, R.R. Thorverton, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers 1606-1837, with family reconstitutions. Typescript (1990) 151p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/THO/1606
Deanery Of Cadbury - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 And Burials 1813-1837, CD060, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Brampford Speke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Cadbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Cadeleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1810-1837; Cheriton Fitzpaine Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Colebrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Crediton Presbyterian Chapel Bur: 1826-1837; Crediton Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Down St Mary Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1770-1837; Kennerleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Morchard Bishop Bapt: 1813-1837 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Nether Exe Bapt: 1814-1851 Mar: 1773-1807 Bur: 1813-1856; Newton St. Cyres Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Poughill Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1770-1837; Sandford Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Shobrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh English Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh Pomeroy Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1752-1837 Bur: 1813-1851; Thorverton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1839 Bur: 1813-1837; Upton Hellions Bapt: 1813-1842 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1678-1929; Upton Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1800-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Thorverton  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Conservation Area Appraisal for Thorverton - an interesting account of the area, with numerous photographs and maps.

You can see pictures of Thorverton which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Thorverton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Thorverton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Sue Davey's Thorverton pages provide historical information, and parish register extracts.

Eagger, A. Austin. Thorverton past and present: with street directory - 2nd ed. Thorverton: British Legion (1969) 57p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/THO 7/0001/EAG]
Hill, Walter J. Three generations of Thorverton postmasters 1870-1994. Thorverton & Dist. History Soc. (1995) 17p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p383.49/THO/HIL]
Hoskins, W.G. and H.P.R. Finberg. Devonshire Studies, London, Jonathan Cape (1952) 470 pp. (Pp. 120-138 concern Traymill.)
Retter, Frank. Ashley Farm and Thorverton. Bath: F.Retter (1987) 64p: ill, maps. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/THO 7/1900/RET]
Stoyle, Ian. Thorverton, Devon. Thorverton (1993) 72p. (£9 inc p&p from Ian Stoyle, "Fairfield", Thorverton, Devon, EX5 5NG).
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Thorverton contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Cullompton Register of Bastardy Applications 1850-1859, Exeter, Devon FHS (2004). [Includes parishes of Burlescombe, Churchstanton, Cullompton, Halberton, Kentisbeare, Silverton, Thorverton and Uffculme.] [Foreword] [Names included in the overall index published as "Rich man, poor man, beggar man, thief" (CD 023).
topup

Taxation

Hoskins, W.G. Cadbury and Thorverton Subsides. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 20, 2 (1938) pp.74-76. [1591 name listing]