Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Throwleigh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Throwleigh

"THROWLEIGH, or THROWLEY, is a small village, near a rivulet at the foot of the north-eastern declivities of Dartmoor, 6½ miles E.S.E. of Okehampton, and 8 miles S.E. of South-Zeal. Its parish contains 445 souls and 1943A. 3R. 12P. of land, including several farms, &c., bearing different names. Mr. John Dunning is lord of the manor of Throwleigh, but the greater part of the parish belongs to R.D. Gay, Richard Herbert, John Underhill, the Rev. A. Whipham, and several other freeholders. The manor belonged at an early period to the Ferrers, and after passing to many other families, it was dismembered. The Church is a stone fabric, with a tower and five bells . . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Wonford Hundred, the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter. Regarded as part of the Dartmoor area.

Archives and Libraries

The Throwleigh Archive "has assembled an archive, representing both the heritage and contemporary life of the parish through the collection of photographs, artefacts, documents, and sound recordings".

Cemeteries

A transcription of extracts from the Memorial Inscriptions for the Parish Church is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 5 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M18).

Brown, Mike. Throwleigh (Mini Survey). In Dartmoor Region Monumental Inscriptions Indexes, Vol. 23. Dartmoor Press, PO Box 132, Plymouth PL4 7YL.
Everett, A.W. Easter Sepulchre in Throwleigh Church. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 20, 6 (1939) pp.267-269.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Throwleigh area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

Throwleigh - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1653, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1606, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1606-1837, and Marriages 1606-1636, 1654-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

Among the records for this parish provided by Devon Heritage are transcripts of Burials for 1837-1908.

Throwleigh, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers to 1837, with family reconstitutions & other evidence. Typescript (1992) 94p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/THR/1606]
The Deanery of Dunsford: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashton, Bridford, Chagford, Cheriton Bishop, Christow, Doddiscombsleigh, Drewsteignton, Dunsford, Gidleigh, Hittisleigh, Holcombe Burnell, South Tawton, Spreyton, Tedburn St. Mary, Throwleigh and Whitestone. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Ashton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1740-1837; Bridford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Chagford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Cheriton Bishop Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1841, Bur: 1813-1837; Christow Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1757-1844, Bur: 1813-1837; Doddiscombsleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1780-1837; Drewsteignton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Dunsford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Gidleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1748-1812 (BT's), Mar: 1814-1837, Bur: 1813-1884; Hittisleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Holcombe Burnell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1753-1837; South Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Spreyton Bapt: 1803-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Tedburn St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Throwleigh Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Whitestone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Throwleigh  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Throwleigh Parish Website.

Conservation Area Appraisal for Murchington and Throwleigh - interesting accounts of the areas, with numerous photographs and maps.

You can see pictures of Throwleigh which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Brown, Mike. Trade Directory for Belstone, Drewsteignton, South Tawton, Throwleigh 1850, 1870, 1878, Dartmoor Press (2001).

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Fiona Brooker, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: Awaiting fiche of PRs.)

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Dartmoor Press Online Magazine's page for this parish, with articles, transcriptions, publication details, etc. - highly recommended.

Early Throwleigh Knapmans, by David Knapman.

Lega Weekes, Ethel. The Earliest Known Landholders of Throwleigh, Transactions of the Devonshire Association, (1940) pp.185-189.
Tucker, Robert Dennard. The descendants of William Tucker of Throwleigh, Devon. Spartanburg: Reprint Company (1991) ix, 519p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - s929.2/TUC]
Wheatcroft, Gladys Winifred. My Newcombes and a few others. Manuscript (1985) [70]p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - s929.2/NEW]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Throwleigh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Throwleigh to another place.

History

Grumley-Grennan, T. and Hardy, M. Gidleigh - A Dartmoor Village - Past & Present, Gidleigh Castle, Gidleigh, Devon TQ13 8HR, Glebe Publishing (2000) 200 p.
Paget, Michael (Ed.). Throwleigh: pictures and memories from a Dartmoor parish. The Throwleigh Archive, Throwleigh (2006) 184pp. [Index]
Varwell, Emmie. Throwleigh: The story of a Dartmoor village. Exeter (1938) 132 pp. [Index]

Land and Property

Brown, Mike. Throwleigh. In "Dartmoor Tithe Apportionments, Vol. 7". The Dartmoor Press (c1997) 16p.
Lega-Weekes, E. The Earliest Known Landowners of Throwleigh. Trans. Devon Assoc. vol. 72 (1941) pp.185-189. [Raymond: Extract from the Assize Roll, 1243, concerning the descent of lands.]
Whale, T W. Some remarks on the bounds of the Forest of Dartmoor, with special reference to the parishes of Throwleigh, Chagford and Gidleigh. Trans. Devon. Assoc. (1893), vol. 25, pp. 510-534. [Index]

Manors

Moss, Judith, The Descent of the Manor of Throwleigh: The Feudal Period, 1066 - 1428. Trans. Devon. Assoc. (2011) vol. 143, pp. 510-534.

Names, Personal

Throwleigh contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.