Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Torbryan

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Torbryan

"TORBRIAN (HOLY TRINITY), a parish, in the union of NEWTON-ABBOTT, hundred of HAYTOR, Teignbridge and S. divisions of DEVON, 4 miles (S. W. by S.) from Newton-Bushell; containing 264 inhabitants. The parish comprises 1972 acres, of which 200 are common or waste land; it abounds with limestone of excellent quality. . . The church contains three sepulchral chapels, and has an elegant wooden screen, an enriched pulpit of wood, an ancient font, and a piscina; the porch is ornamented with sculptured angels and in the churchyard is a cross." [From Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England (1844)]

A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes, and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Walker, Hilda H & Antony J Sutcliffe. James Lyon Widger, 1823-1892 and the Torbryan Caves. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 99 (1967) pp.49-110.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Torbryan area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Torbryan - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1564 are held in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1838 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1820-36 - see Ashburton Circuit (PRO RG 4/840)

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Sellman, R.R. Torbryan, Devon: edited transcript of the parish registers to 1837. Typescript (1978) 63p. [Westcountry Studies Library - x929.3/TOR/1564]
Deanery of Ipplepen: Photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD - Devon FHS (2012). [An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of: Abbotskerswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1756-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Berry Pomeroy Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Brixham All Saints Baptisms (1826-1839), Marriages (1826-1837), Burials (1831-1832); Brixham St Mary Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Broadhempston Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1681-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Churston Ferrers Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1835), Burials (1800-1837); Cockington Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1780-1834); Coffinswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1857); Denbury Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837); Ipplepen Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1843), Burials (1813-1837); Kingskerswell Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Kingswear Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1755-1837), Burials (1780-1837); Littlehempston Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1731-1837), Burials (1813-1840); Marldon Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Paignton Baptisms (1813-1841), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Paignton Independent Burials (1826-1836); Staverton Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Stoke Gabriel Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Torbryan Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1838), Burials (1813-1854); Tormohun Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Torquay St Marychurch Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837); Wolborough Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1754-1839), Burials (1813-1837); Woodland Baptisms (1813-1840), Marriages (1755-1835), Burials (1813-1838).]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Torbryan  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Torbryan which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Torbryan to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Alexander, J.J, Early owners of Torbryan manor, Trans. Devon. Assoc. 68, 1936, pp. 197-214. [Brian family]
Alexander, J.J. The Brians of Torbryan, Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries 19 (1), 1936, pp. 6-11. [Medieval. ]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Torbryan has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Cooke, R.D. Notes on the Churches and Parishes of Ipplepen and Torbryan. (1963) [Plymouth Library]
Hobbs, S.D. 'To cure the mind's wrong biass, Spleen, some recommend the bowling-green'. In Devon Documents (ed. T. Gray). Tiverton: Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries, Special Issue (1996) [ISBN 0925836203] pp.100-102. [Set in Tor Newton house in Torbryan, and Ipplepen]
topup

Manors

Alexander, J.J. Early owners of Torbryan Manor. Trans. Devon. Assoc. vol. 68 (1936) pp.206- 214.
topup
topup

Names, Personal

Torbryan contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.