"UPTON HELLIONS, in the picturesque valley of the small river Creedy, two miles N. by E. of Crediton, is a village and parish, containing only 146 inhabitants, and about 1000 acres of fertile land. Mrs. Guerin owns the manor and farm of Helions Barton, anciently held by the Helion family. Sir. H.R.F. Davie, Bart., owns Creedy Widger, or Lower Creedy. Mr. W.C. Dicker owns the estate called Haske, or Husk; and J.C. Luxmore, Esq., owns Merifield, or Merryvale. The Church (St. Mary,) is an ancient structure, with a tower and one bell, and the living is a rectory, valued in K.B. at £10. 6s. 8d., and in 1831 at £275, is in the patronage and incumbency of the Rev. W. Wellington, B.A., who has a large and handsome, residence, commanding a fine view of Creedy Park, on the opposite side of the river, The house was much enlarged by a late rector, - the Rev. James Carrington, who died in 1794, and has a handsome monument in the church, The poor have the dividends of £132. 8s. 10d., four per cent stock, purchased with money given by various donors." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]
A parish in West Budleigh Hundred, and the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter.