Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Upton Pyne

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Upton Pyne

"UPTON-PYNE is a straggling village on the north-east side of the vale of the small river Creedy, near its confluence with the Exe, and nearly 4 miles N. by W. of Exeter. Its parish extends to Cowley Bridge, and contains about 2200 acres of land, and 512 inhabitants. Sir Stafford Henry Northcote Bart., is lord of the manor, and owner of a great part of the soil, and resides at PYNES HOUSE, a commodious brick mansion, in a small but well- wooded park, commanding picturesque views. The manor belonged to the Pyne family as early as the reign of Henry I., and it afterwards passed to the Larders, Coplestons, and Staffords. The heiress of the latter carried it in marriage to the late Sir Henry Northcote, one of whose ancestors was created a baronet in 1641. An estate called Ley or Leigh, in this parish, belongs to the Roberts family, and here are several farms belonging to other proprietors. The Church (St. Peter,) is an ancient structure, with a tower and five bells, and a south aisle was added to it about 14 years ago." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Wonford Hundred, the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter.

Jane Austen's novel "Sense and Sensibility" was set in the village of Upton Pyne - see: A Literary Tour of Devon.

Church History

Upton Pyne - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Detailed illustrated description of the church, from the Roughwood British Churches Album.

Northcote, John Stafford. Notes on the parish church of Upton Pyne. London: J.Day & Son (1890) 28p. [Westcountry Studies Library - s726.5/UPT/NOR]

 

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Upton Pyne area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1673 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1673, and of the Bishops' Transcripts going back to 1612, are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1838, Burials 1800-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1612-1837, and Marriages 1620-1644, 1664-1675, 1687-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

Sellman, R.R. Upton Pyne, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers 1669-1837, with family reconstitutions. Typescript (1990) 80p. [Westcountry Studies - sx929.3/UPT/1669]
Deanery Of Cadbury - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 And Burials 1813-1837, CD060, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Brampford Speke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Cadbury Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Cadeleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1810-1837; Cheriton Fitzpaine Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Colebrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Crediton Presbyterian Chapel Bur: 1826-1837; Crediton Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Down St Mary Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1770-1837; Kennerleigh Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Morchard Bishop Bapt: 1813-1837 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Nether Exe Bapt: 1814-1851 Mar: 1773-1807 Bur: 1813-1856; Newton St. Cyres Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1840; Poughill Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1770-1837; Sandford Bapt: 1813-1838 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Shobrooke Bapt: 1813-1839 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh English Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1813-1837; Stockleigh Pomeroy Bapt: 1813-1843 Mar: 1752-1837 Bur: 1813-1851; Thorverton Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1839 Bur: 1813-1837; Upton Hellions Bapt: 1813-1842 Mar: 1754-1837 Bur: 1678-1929; Upton Pyne Bapt: 1813-1840 Mar: 1754-1838 Bur: 1800-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Upton Pyne  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Upton Pyne which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk for this parish is Thomas Peeke, who invites queries and lookup requests.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Upton Pyne has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Upton Pyne to another place.

History

Hatch, Rosemary and Mayer, Mary. Upton Pyne: A study in social change 1851 and 1891.. Self-published. [DFHS Library 942.35/UPT]

Names, Personal

Upton Pyne contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.