Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Virginstow

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Virginstow

"VIRGINSTOWE, a small village, pleasantly situated in the valley of the Carey rivulet, 6½ miles N. by E. of Launceston, has in its parish 167 souls, and 1274A. 2R. 39P. of land. H. Hawkes, Esq., owns part of the soil, and the rest belongs to several smaller owners. The Church (St. Bridget,) is a small ancient delapidated structure, which is about to give place to a new one, to be erected in the early lancet style, at a cost of about £500. The new church will have a bell gable, and 137 sittings, of which 83 will be free. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £5. 6s. 8d., and in 1831 at £103, is in the patronage of the Lord Chancellor, and incumbency of the Rev. Ponsford Cann, B.A., who built the handsome Rectory House in 1845, supports the schools, and is a liberal contributor to the new church, to which Mrs. Morrison, of Yeo Dale, has presented a valuable silver-gilt service of communion plate. The glebe is 56A. 11P., and the tithes have been commuted for £119 per annum." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Lifton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Totnes and the Diocese of Exeter. The parish was originally in Cornwall but was transferred to Devon in 1936. Some records are held at the Cornwall Record Office.

Cemeteries

Cornwall burial index 1813-1837: Virginstow. Cornwall Family History Soc. (1996) 2p. [ISBN 185869423x]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Virginstow area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

The parish church is located in OS Grid Square SW3792.

Church Records

According to Peskett, the parish registers - dating from 1730 - are still with the incumbent, but the Devon Record Office has the BTs from 1609.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

BTs (1609 - 1729), Baptisms (1730 - 1911), Banns (1824 - 1911), Marriages (1730 - 1911), and Burials (1730 - 1936) are included in the Cornwall OPC searchable parish register database.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Parish of Virginstow: 1813-37: marriage transcripts. Cornwall Family History Soc. (1994) i, 1p. [ISBN 1858691834]
Parish of Virginstow: 1720-1850: baptism and marriage register index. Microfiche, Cornish Forefathers Soc. [SoG Library - DE/REG/90939]
The Deanery of Tavistock, CD008, Devon Family History Society, Exeter (2007). [Contains indexes: Bradstone - Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1755-1838, Burials 1813-1837; Brentor - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1834, Burials 1801-1845; Bridestowe - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Broadwoodwidger - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1836, Burials 1813-1837; Coryton - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1837, Burials 1806-1860; Dunterton - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1836, Burials 1752-1837; Kelly - Baptisms 1813-1842, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1838; Lamerton - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1844, Burials 1812-1838; Lewtrenchard - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1840; Lifton - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1650-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Lydford - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1780-1841; Maryystow - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1837, Burials 1792-1837; Milton Abbot - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1838; Princetown - Baptisms 1813-1839, Burials 1815-1853; Sourton - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1723-1837, Burials 1814-1838; Stowford - Baptisms 1811-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Sydenham Damerel - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1837, Burials 1750-1837; Tavistock - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Thrushelton - Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1755-1837, Burials 1813-1837; Virginstow - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1755-1836, Burials 1813-1839.]

Civil Registration

The parish of Virginstow was originally in the Broadwoodwidger sub-district, in the Holesworthy Registration District of Devon. (GRO volumes : X (1837-51); 5b (1852-1930)). In 1853, the parish moved under the control of the St Stephen-by Launceston sub-district of the Launceston Registration District of Cornwall, where it remained until 1901 when it became part of the North Petherwin sub-distrct. In 1936, it moved back to the Holsworthy Registration district of Devon. In 1998, Holsworthy became subsumed into the Torridge Registration District of Devon.

Description and Travel

Section on Virginstow  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Virginstow which are provided by:

Directories

Transcription by Neil Stanton of the entry for Virginstow in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Virginstow has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Virginstow to another place.

History

Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the parish of Virginstowe, Devon. Typescript (1963) 5p. [Westcountry Studies - sB/VIR/0001/WIL]

Maps

Map of the Launceston Registration District in which the parish once lay.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SX377926 (Lat/Lon: 50.710256, -4.300168), Virginstow which are provided by:

Names, Personal

Virginstow contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

St Giles parish was part of the Launceston Union for Poor Law administration and parish relief.

Population

Population in 1841 - 167 persons.

Probate Records

Wills for this parish were proved in the Court of the Archdeacon of Cornwall, and are now held by the Cornwall Record Office. They are listed in:

Glencross, R.M. (ed.). Calendar of Wills, Administrations and Accounts Relating to the Counties of Cornwall and Devon in the Connotorial Archdiaconal Court of Cornwall (with which are included the records of the Royal Peculiar of St. Burian) now preserved in the District Probate Office at Bodmin. Index Library, vols. 56 & 59.