Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Weare Giffard

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Weare Giffard

"WEAR GIFFORD, a pleasant village and parish, on the eastern side of the river Torridge, 3 mies N.W. of Great Torrington, contains 576 inhabitants, and 1587 acres of land, including the hamlet of Clifft, and a number of scattered farms. The river is navigable to this village for small craft, and by means of a canal, barges, &c., go up as high as Torrington. A large earthenware manufactory has recently been established here; and in the parish is a small woolen factory. The manor of Weare was held by the Giffords at an early period, and afterwards passed to the Fortescues, who were seated here for several generations, . . . Earl Fortescue is now lord of the manor, but part of the parish belongs to the trustees of the late Lord Rolle, and a few smaller owners. The Church (Holy Trinity,) is a plain structure, containing monuments to the Fortescue, Rolle, and other families. The rectory, valued in K.B. at £13. 5s., and in 1831 at £180, is in the patronage of Earl Fortescue, and incumbency of the Rev. Wm. Fortescue, of George Nympton, The parsonage is a small building, and the glebe is 17 acres. The Wesleyans have a small chapel here. . . " [From White's History, Gazetteer and Directory of Devon (1850)]

A parish in Shebbear Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Bowden, John. John Heal, Devon Family Historian, vol. 145, (2013) pp.5-8. [1780-1862]
topup

Business and Commerce Records

Listings of Licensed Victuallers for this parish are to be found here.

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Messenger, A.W.B. Heraldry at Weare Giffard Hall. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 20 (1938-39) pp.273-276.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Weare Giffard area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Hingeston-Randolph, F.C. The Rectors of Weare Giffard. (1894) [Westcountry Studies Library]
Dredge, J.I. The Rectors of Wear Gifford, Devon. Notes and Gleanings - Devon and Cornwall 3 (1890) pp.152-154.
A Guide to Holy Trinity, Weare Giffard. [Weare Gifford]: [The Church] [1970?] 12pp. [Index]
The church of the Holy Trinity, Weare Giffard: notes on points of interest to visitors. [Weare Gifford]: [The Church] [1980?] 4pp. [Westcountry Studies Library - p726.5/WEA/CHU]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1583 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1583 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Christenings (1583-1812) and marriages (1584-7, 1615-1812) have been entered into the IGI.

An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbotsham, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Bideford, Buckland Brewer, Bulkworthy, Clovelly, East Putford, Frithelstock, Hartland, Landcross, Littleham, Monkleigh, Northam, Parkham, Wear Gifford, Welcombe and West Woolfardisworthy. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Abbotsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Alverdiscott Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1775-1837; Alwington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bideford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Brewer Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bulkworthy Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1814-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clovelly Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Putford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1797-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Frithelstock Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Hartland Bapt: 1838-1839, Mar: 1558-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Landcross Bapt: 1814-1839, Mar: 1761-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Littleham Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Monkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Northam Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Parkham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1537-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Wear Gifford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Welcombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; West Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Weare Giffard  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Extract from Murray's "Handbook for Travellers in Devonshire" (1879), covering Bideford, and also Weare Giffard and Horwood.

Weare Giffard Community website - includes page on the history, and a listing, with photographs of churchyard MIs.

You can see pictures of Weare Giffard which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript of an extract from an 1857 Directory with a description of the parish, and a list of clergy, gentry, professions, trades, etc.

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Weare Giffard to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Peskett, H.M. The inheritance of Giffard of Weare. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 32 (9), 1973, pp. 266-71. [Medieval.]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Weare Giffard has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Weare Giffard and its History from the Weare Giffard community website.

topup

Language and Languages

The British Library's Survey of English Dialects - Weare Giffard, Devon.

topup

Manors

Ashworth, Edward. The ancient manor house of Wear Gifford; (a paper read at College Hall, Jan. 14th 1858). [s.l.]: [s.n.] (1858) 7p. [Westcountry Studies - sx728.83/WEA/ASH]
topup
topup

Names, Geographical

A note on the names Gifford and Giffard, by Chris Burgoyne.

topup

Names, Personal

Weare Giffard contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

topup

Occupations

Weare Gifford Apprentice Register 1802-1804. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2013). [Foreword]
topup

Probate Records

Transcript of the will of Hugh Fortescue (1600) by Kathleen Noye.

topup

Schools

Coad, Peter. Wear Gifford: A history of education, Bideford, Lazarus Press (Edward Gaskell Publishers) (1998) 224 pp. [ISBN: 1-898546-22-3]