Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Welcombe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Welcombe

"WELLCOMBE is a small scattered village and parish, 3 miles S. of Hartland, adjoining Cornwall and the sea, and near the sources of the rivers Torridge and Tamar. It has only 293 souls, and 751 A. 2R. 21P. of land, mostly belonging to L.W. Buck, Esq., the lord of the manor, formerly belonging to the Capra, Merton, Stowell, and Rolle families. The Church (St. Nectan,) is a small ancient structure, and the living is a perpetual curacy, which was separated from Hartland in 1508, and is valued at only £86, in the patronage of Lord Clinton, and incumbency of the Rev. H. M. Cockshott." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Hartland Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Business and Commerce Records

Listings of Licensed Victuallers for this parish are to be found here.

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the NDA North Devon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Census

Transcriptions by Kathy Miller of the 1841 and the 1871 census for Welcombe.

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Welcombe area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

Welcombe - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Wecombe Parish Church web-site.

Chanter, J.F. Formation of the parish of Welcombe. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 9:3, (1916) pp.70-73. [Agreement between Abbot of Hartland and chapel of Welcombe, 1533] [Index]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1757 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1757-1786, 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1817-37 - see Holsworthy Circuit (PRO RG 4/1210)

No registers entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Wickes, Michael J.L. The Marriage Registers of Clovelly, Landcross and Welcombe in North Devon, pre 1838. Taunton, Somerset: Harry Galloway Publishing (1998) 44p. [Lookups]
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Abbotsham, Alverdiscott, Alwington, Bideford, Buckland Brewer, Bulkworthy, Clovelly, East Putford, Frithelstock, Hartland, Landcross, Littleham, Monkleigh, Northam, Parkham, Wear Gifford, Welcombe and West Woolfardisworthy. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2009). [Abbotsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Alverdiscott Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1775-1837; Alwington Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bideford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Brewer Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bulkworthy Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1814-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clovelly Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Putford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1797-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Frithelstock Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Hartland Bapt: 1838-1839, Mar: 1558-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Landcross Bapt: 1814-1839, Mar: 1761-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Littleham Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; Monkleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Northam Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Parkham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1537-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Wear Gifford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Welcombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; West Woolfardisworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Welcombe  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Lauder, Rosemary Anne. Westward Ho! to Welcombe, Bideford, North Devon, North Devon Books (1994) 70 pp.
Lockyear, Harold. This part of Devon: a description of Hartland and Welcombe for visitors. Bideford: Polypress [1968?] 57p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/HAR 7/1968/LOC]

You can see pictures of Welcombe which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Alan Rowland, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: bap. 1777-1812; marr.1757-1836; bur.1778-1812; Hearth Tax List 1674; Devon Protestation Return 1641.)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Welcombe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Welcombe to another place.

Land and Property

Spreadsheet transcription of the Tithe Apportionments.