Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Westleigh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Westleigh

"LEIGH, (WEST) a village and parish, on the east side of the estuary of the Torridge, 2 miles N. by E. of Bideford, has 526 inhabitants, and 2456 acres of land, including East Leigh and Southcott hamlets, and many scattered houses. Mrs. Torr, of Torville, is lady of the manor of West Leigh, and owner of the Barton of East Leigh. Tapley, or Taplegh, a handsome mansion, with tasteful grounds, is the seat of Mrs. Clevland, and belongs to her son, Archibald Clevland, a minor. L.W. Buck, Esq., and several smaller owners, have estates in the parish. The Church (St. Peter,) is an ancient structure, and the living is a vicarage, valued in K.B. at £8. 2s. 1d., and in 1831 at £170, in the patronage of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter. The Rev. D. Lang, B.A., is the incumbent, and has a neat residence, erected in 1837, and 45A. of glebe. The Wesleyans have a chapel here, built in 1841. . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Fremington Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple and the Diocese of Exeter.

topup

Biography

Arthur, Vivien. Archibald George Gallagher 1885-1975, Devon Family Historian, vol. 111, (2004) pp.25-27. [Born London, but spent most of the Second World War teaching in Westleigh.]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon and NDA North Devon indexes - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Westleigh area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1560 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1559 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

Transcriptions of Baptisms (1560-1697) and Marriages (1561-1697) are provided on the Westleigh Parish Council Web-sites (archived copies).

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1839 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1560-1697, Marriages 1651-1643, 1654-1697.

Deanery of Barnstaple - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2005). [Index of Atherington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Barnstaple: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Bishops Tawton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Chittlehampton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Filleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Fremington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), High Bickington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Horwood: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1654-1837), Burials (1675-1837), Huntshaw: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Instow: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Landkey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Newton Tracey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1570-1837), Burials (1725-1837), Pilton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Swimbridge: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Tawstock: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Westleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838)
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Westleigh from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Westleigh which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Westleigh to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Newcombe, Keith. Charles Newcombe, Devon Family Historian, vol. 143, (2012) pp.26-27. [Descendants of George Newcombe, b. c1808, Westleigh]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Westleigh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

The very useful history pages (archived copy) of the Westleigh Parish councl website, providing a number of articles, transcripts (including of PRs, census and tax lists) and photographs.

topup
topup

Occupations

Westleigh Apprentice Register 1808-1843. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2013). [Foreword]

Last updated: 23 Jul 2015 - Brian Randell

Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence threaten its whole future.