Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Whimple

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Whimple

"WHIMPLE, a pleasant vilage, with several neat houses, on a declivity, 4½ miles W.N.W. of Ottery St Mary, and 8½ miles N.E. by E. of Exeter, has in its parish 3028A. 3R. 13P. of land, and 816 inhabitants, including 128 on STRETE RALEIGH tithing. The parish also includes the small hamlets of Slewton, Perreton, and Cobdon, and many scattered farmhouses, &. A fair for sheep, &., is held in the vilage on the Monday after Michaelmas day. Thomas W. Buller, Esq., is lord of the manors of Whimple, Strete Raleigh, and Cobdon, formerly held by the Englefield, Clist, Pudding, Raleigh, Gould and other families. Abm. Smith, Esq., Geo. Brooke, Esq., Jas. Davy, Esq., Mr. J.S. Wish, the Rev. Jas. S. Townsend, and several smaller owners, have estates in the parish. The Church (St. Mary,) is a neat structure in the perpendicular style, and was all rebuilt, except the tower, in 1845, . . . The rectory, valued in K.B. at £30, and in 1831 at £386, is in the patronage of Mrs. Sanders, and incumbency of the Rev. Lloyd Sanders, M.A., who has a neat and commodious residence and 67A. 3R. 14P. of glebe. . ." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Cliston Hundred, the Archdeaconry and Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Finch, Greg. George Brooke of Whimple, 1785-c.1850. Devon Historian 28, (1984) pp.15-19. [Farmer]
Reichel, O.J. Mayor of Whimple. Devon and Cornwall Notes and Queries 11 (1920) p.78.
Tapley-Soper, H. Major-General Robert George Kekewich, C.B. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 8:5, (1915) pp.137-140, plates: port. [1854-1914]

Business and Commerce Records

Whiteway, E.V.M. Whiteways cider: a company history. Newton Abbot: David & Charles (1990) 176p: ill. [ISBN 0715398199]

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Dallas, J. The Heraldry at Devonshire Churches. III: St Mary's, Whimple. Notes and Gleanings - Devon and Cornwall 5 (1892) pp.4-6.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Whimple area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Whimple - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Whimple parish church: historical notes from the time of William the Conqueror. (1938) 8p. ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p726.5/WHI/WHI]

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Indexed transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1653-1836, and Marriages 1654-1836.

Sellman, R.R. Whimple, Devon: edited transcript of parish registers 1653-1836 with family reconstitutions and other evidence. Typescript (1990) 113p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/WHI/1653]
The Deanery of Aylesbeare: An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Aylesbeare, Bicton, Branscombe, Broadclyst, Clyst Honiton, Clyst St.George, Clyst St.Mary, Colaton Raleigh, East Budleigh, Farringdon, Harpford, Huxham, Littleham, Lympstone, Otterton, Ottery St. Mary, Pinhoe, Poltimore, Rockbeare, Salcombe Regis, Sidbury, Sidmouth, Sowton, Stoke Canon, Topsham, Venn Ottery, Whimple, Withycombe Raleigh and Woodbury. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850 and Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of England 1844, CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2012). [Aylesbeare Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bicton Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1755-1835, Bur: 1813-1852, Bur: 1725-1845 (BTs); Branscombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1545-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Broadclyst Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst Honiton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst St. George Bapt: 1813-1837, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clyst St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1840, Bur: 1813-1837; Colaton Raleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Budleigh Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Budleigh Salem Chapel, Bur: 1832-1837; Farringdon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1852; Glenorchy Independent Exmouth, Bur: 1784-1818; Harpford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1809-1837; Huxham Bapt: 1813-1852, Mar: 1758-1836, Bur: 1813-1864; Littleham (near Exmouth) Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lympstone Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Otterton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ottery St. Mary Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Pinhoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1844, Bur: 1813-1838; Poltimore Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Rockbeare Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Salcombe Regis Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sidbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1830, Bur: 1813-1837; Sidmouth Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sowton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Stoke Canon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Topsham Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Venn Ottery Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Whimple Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Withycombe Raleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Woodbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Description and Travel

Section on Whimple  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Whimple village website - general information, links.

You can see pictures of Whimple which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Chris Graves, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: C 1653-1955, M 1653-1836, B 1653-1984 plus other asstd. docs.)

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Whimple has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Whimple to another place.

Societies

Whimple History Society website - the society has extensive archives, and "are pleased to try and answer questions relating to the people of Whimple, its history or past events".