Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Winkleigh

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Winkleigh

"WINKLEIGH is a large ancient village, situated on a lofty eminence, on the Crediton and Torrington road, 6 miles S.W. of Chulmleigh and E.N.E. of Hatherleigh, and 22 miles W.N.W. of Exeter. Its parish contains 1650 inhabitants, and 9118 acres of land, including a large tract of barren, moory ground; but some parts are woody, and the remainder is tolerably good corn and grazing land. . . . The Rev. Peter Johnson is lord of the manor [which] was for a long period divided between the Keynes and Tracey families, and was afterwards held by those of Holland and Lethbridge. . . The Hon. Newton Fellowes owns Southcote estate; and that of Holcombe belongs to Robt. Luxton, Esq. Part of the parish belongs to J.H. Tremayne, Esq., and several smaller owners. . . . The Church (All Saints,) is a fine antique structure, with a tower containing five bells, and commanding from its summit extensive views, in which are seen the hills of Dartmoor, and the steeples of 24 parish churches. The Dean and Chapter of Exeter are appropriators of the rectorial tithes, and patrons of the vicarage, valued in K.B. at £21. 8s. 9d., and in 1831 at £215, and now held by the Rev. Henry Wright, B.A., who has a good residence, and 8A. 3R. 26P. of glebe. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.

Biography

Cornwell, John. Earth to earth: a true story of the lives and violent deaths of a Devon farming family. London: Penguin (1989) 174p, plates: ill, map. [ISBN 0140111352] [Luxton Family]
Parker, Henry. The Old Fashion Devonshire Gammon Pie, Devon Family Historian, vol. 105, (2003) pp.28-28. [Anecdote by Harry Parker (bap. 1833)]

Census

Winkleigh Census Transcripts (archived copy), from the Winkleigh Heroes website.

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Winkleigh area or see them printed on a map.

Church History

Hughes, Thomas Cann. The Vicars of Winkleigh since the Commonwealth. Trans. of Devonshire Assoc., (1927), pp311- 322
Hughes, T.C. Vicars of Winkleigh. Notes and Queries 167 (1934) pp.168-169. [Raymond: MIs and PR extracts relating to the vicars]
Johnson, R. H. K. Notes on Winkleigh Church. Exeter: James Townsend & Sons Ltd. [This booklet is referred to in an article in Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries Vol. 23 (1947-49), p.64. W.G.H. comments that it "is a second edition of a pamphlet by Mr. R. H. K. Johnson, with some slight changes. There are some brief notes on the village and parish, more detailed notes on the church and its fittings and plate, and a list of incumbents from 1202 to the present day".]
Mortimer, E. Notes on Winkleigh Church. Crediton: Phillips & Co, Printers (1982), 8p.
Nesbitt, Frank. Church life in Winkleigh in Tudor times. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries Vol. 15 (1928-29), pp. 41-48.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1569 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1569 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1815-37 - see Okehampton (PRO RG 4/1089)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1585-1837 and Marriages 1569-1837.

The Deanery of Torrington - An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Ashreigny, Beaford, Buckland Filleigh, Dolton, Dowland, Great Torrington, Huish, Iddesleigh, Langtree, Little Torrington, Meeth, Merton, Newton St. Petrock, Peters Marland, Petrockstowe, Roborough, Shebbear, Sheepwash, St. Giles in the Wood and Winkleigh. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Devonshire Directory 1850. CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2010) . [Ashreigny Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Beaford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Buckland Filleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Dolton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Dowland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1840, Bur: 1742-1837; Great Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Huish Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Iddesleigh Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Langtree Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Little Torrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Meeth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Merton Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Newton St. Petrock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Peters Marland Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Petrockstowe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Roborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Shebbear Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Sheepwash Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; St Giles in the Wood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Winkleigh Bapt: 1813-1853, Mar: 1754-1836, Bur: 1813-1837.]

Court Records

Register of Freeholders - Teignbridge, Tiverton, West Budleigh & Winkleigh c1816, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF D135). [Foreword]

Description and Travel

Section on Winkleigh  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Winkleigh Online - community website.

Lega-Weekes, Ethel. Winkleigh church accounts. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 14:2, (1926) pp.66-67. - Additional to vol. 13, p.200.
McLean, Lesley (ed). Winkleigh Ways: A Brief Guide to Our Parish. Winkleigh Community Book Committee, Hedgerow Print, The Old Creamery, Lapford, Devon EX17 6AE (c2000) 54pp.
Nesbitt, Frank. Winkleigh church accounts. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 13:5, (1925) pp.200. [1519-1600]

You can see pictures of Winkleigh which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Denise Hunt, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs on fiche, although quality is variable, limiting some information.)

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

Bliss, Mary. Finding Bolt Family Ancestors, Devon Family Historian, vol. 142, (2012) pp.14-16. [Results of searching records of Muller's Orphanage Bristol]
Luxton, F.C. The Origins of the Luxton Family, Devon Family Historian, no. 104, (Nov 2002) pp.12-14, no. 105 (Feb 2003) pp.4.
McGee, Nick. Fred Hawkins, Devon Family Historian, no. 153, (2015) p.21.
Snow, David. Winkleigh, Devon Family Historian, no. 153, (2015) p.15. [On the surname Heywood]
Tapley-Soper, H. Winkleigh customs. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries Vol. 11 (1920-21), pp120-121. [A transcription of a document dating from 1615 concerning the "Examination of the cause concerning the base child borne within the parish of Winckeley on the bodie of one Margarett CLEVEDON of which she reputeth John OSEMENT of Winckeley aforesaid to be the Father".]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Winkleigh has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Winkleigh to another place.

History

Sue Davey's Winkleigh pages provide historical information, and parish register extracts.

Winkleigh - A Devon village - a website providing an illustrated history of the village of Winkleigh.

Cottey, Ron. History of Winkleigh Airfield 1939-1995. Winkleigh: Winkleigh Publns. (1995) [39]p: ill, map. [ISBN 0952684802]
Molland, Lawrence. A history of the parish of Winkleigh in the county of Devon. Manuscript (1949) [9], 389p: ill, map. [Westcountry Studies Library - sxB/WIN/0001/MOL]
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the parish of Winkleigh, Devon. Typescript (1962) 10p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/WIN/0001/WIL]
Charles Worthy, The History of the Manor & Church of Winkleigh, in the county of Devon., W. Brendon & Son: Plymouth, (1876) pp. 62..

Land and Property

Transcription of Winkleigh-Related Deeds, from John Tingey's Calendar of Deeds Enrolled Within the County of Devon 1536 - 1673, provided by Debbie Kennett.

S., J. W. Grant of lands, etc., in Winkleigh to the churches of Winkleigh and Barnstaple. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries Vol. 10 (1918-19), pp. 308-311. [A transcription of a deed from the parish chest dated 1550.]
Schopp, J. W. Grant of lands, etc., for the maintenance of Winkleigh Parish Church. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries Vol. 10 (1918-19), pp261-264. [A transcription of a deed from the parish chest dated 1552.]

Winkleigh Heroes (archived copy) - a project "to provide, for the first time, a complete and accurate record of the active participants from Winkleigh in the First World War".

Names, Personal

Winkleigh contributors to a 1678 brief for the rebuilding of St Paul's Cathedral.

Probate Records

Wills of Ann Cruse (1586), Susann Cruse (1648) and Mary Cruse (1655) transcribed by Debbie Kennett.

Lyne, Peter. The Will of John Line of Winkleigh, Devon Family Historian, vol. 114, (2005) pp.3-4. [Includes transcription of will proved in 1655]
Will of George Henry Pinckard JP (1891), transcribed by Colin Rosewell.

Schools

Molland, Sheila. Winkleigh Board School, Devon Family Historian, vol. 113, (Feb 2005) pp.6-10. [Extensive references to school log books for the late 19c]