Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Yarnscombe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Yarnscombe

"YARNSCOMBE, a village and parish, 5 miles N.E. of Great Torrington, and 7 miles S. by E. of Barnstaple, contains 512 souls, and 3047 acres of land. The Trustees of the late Lord Rolle are lords of the manor of Great Yarnscombe; and J.H. Furse, Esq.&, owns that of Little Yarnscombe. J.P. Blew, Esq.&, and several smaller owners, have estates in the parish. The Church (St. Andrew,) is an ancient structure, with several old monuments. The vicarage, valued in K.B. at £7. 11s. 11d., and in 1831 at £132, is in the patronage of the Lord Chancellor, and incumbency of the Rev. John K. Fletcher, D.D., of Callington, Cornwall. The glebe is 30 acres, and the Parsonage is a small stone residence. The tithes were commuted in 1840, the vicarial for £136. 10s., and the rectorial for £152. The latter belong to the Trustees of the late Lord Rolle. There was anciently a chapel at Little Yarnscombe. Here is a small Wesleyan Chapel. . ." [From White's History, Gazetteer and Directory of Devon (1850)]

A parish in Hartland Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple and Diocese of Exeter, 6 miles N.E. of Great Torrington, that had 498 inhabitants in 1831.

Business and Commerce Records

Listings of Licensed Victuallers for this parish are to be found here.

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon and NDA North Devon indexes - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Yarnscombe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in the Devon Record Office - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1653 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library - for details see Parish Registers in the Devon & Cornwall Record Society's Collection.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1838 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1820-36 - see Ashburton Circuit (PRO RG 4/840)

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1606-1812, Marriages 1606-1812. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

Deanery of Barnstaple - Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837 and Burials 1813-1837 - CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2005). [Index of Atherington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1800-1837), Barnstaple: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Bishops Tawton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Chittlehampton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Filleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Fremington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), High Bickington: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Horwood: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1654-1837), Burials (1675-1837), Huntshaw: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Instow: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Landkey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Newton Tracey: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1570-1837), Burials (1725-1837), Pilton: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Swimbridge: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Tawstock: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1837), Westleigh: Baptisms (1813-1839), Marriages (1754-1837), Burials (1813-1838) [Lookups]

Description and Travel

Section on Yarnscombe  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Yarnscombe which are provided by:

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

Transcription provided by Val Henderson of the entry (description and names) in Morris and Co's Commercial Directory and Gazetteer of Devonshire 1870.

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is William Cooke, who invites queries and lookup requests.

Downs, Dorothy Ruth Miller. Death and Taxes, Devon Family Historian 110, (May 2004), p.4. [Fisher Family]
Richardson, W.H. Pedigree of the family of Clarke of Yarnscombe, Co. Devon, and of Waste Court, Abingdon, Co. Berks., from the records of the College of Arms, Genealogist 2, 1878, pp. 169-72.

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Yarnscombe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Yarnscombe to another place.

History

Kennard, A.H.W. Yarnscombe A.H.W. Kennard, 26 Birkett Way, Chalfont St Giles, Bucks HP8 4BJ. [1955] 8p. [Westcountry Studies Library - B/YAR 7/0001/KEN]