Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Zeal Monachorum

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Zeal Monachorum

"ZEAL MONACHORUM is a village and parish in Taw vale, 8 miles W.N.W. of Crediton, and contains 649 souls, and 2946 acres of land, including the hamlets of Loosebeare or Loxbeare, Burstone, and Tuckingmill. It was anciently called Sele Monachorum, and had the latter part of its name from its being long held by the monastery of Buckfast, to which it was given by King Canute. J.H. Ley, Esq., is now lord of the manor; but Loosebeare belongs to the Kelland family, and Burstone to J. and W. Wreford, Esqrs. Messrs. J. and R. Pedler, John Sweet, and a few smaller owners, have estates in the parish. The Church (St. Peter,) has a tower and five bells; and the living is a rectory, valued in K.B. at £17. 8s. 9d., and in 1831 at £401. The Rev. John Comyns, M.A. of Bishop's Teignton, is the rector, and has sold the patronage to Mr. Tombs. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple, and the Diocese of Exeter.  

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions for the Church of St Peter is held in the Society of Genealogist's Library, in Vol. 7 of Devon Memorial inscriptions (DE/M20).

Dwelly, E. (ed.). Devon M. I. vol. 1., being all the monumental inscriptions in the parishes of Countisbury, Brendon, Martinhoe, etc. pp. v. 226. E. Dwelly: Fleet, (1918). 8o. BL 9918.aaa.1. [SoG Library]

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Zeal Monachorum area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Godeck, J.W.G. The parish church of Saint Peter the Apostle, Zeal Monchorum, Devon: a short history and guide (2nd ed.). Shillingford St George: Author (1991) [12]p: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - p726.5/ZEA/GOD]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1594 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1594 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The members' area of the Devon FHS website makes available online images, not at present (Mar 2016) available elsewhere, of the Parish Registers covering Zeal Monachorum Baptisms, Marriages and Burials: 1736-1812, Baptisms: 1813-1853, 1853-1913, Marriages: 1754-1812, 1813-1837, 1837-1912, 1913-1915, Banns: 1813-1850, 1852-1914, Burials: 1813-1895.

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1594-1837 and Marriages 1594-1837. (These entries are in part from Bishops' Transcripts.)

Zeal Monachorum burials, 1813-1837, compiled by members of the Devon History Society, Devon Family History Society 1994.
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bondleigh, Bow, Brushford, Burrington, Chawleigh, Chulmleigh, Clannaborough, Coleridge, Eggesford, Lapford, North Tawton, Nymet Rowland, Wembworthy and Zeal Monachorum. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850). CD-ROM 063, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Bondleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Bow Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brushford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Burrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chawleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chulmleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clannaborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1759-1834, Bur: 1697-1836; Coleridge Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Eggesford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1838; Lapford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1567-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; North Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Nymet Rowland Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1734-1879; Wembworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1733-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Zeal Monachorum Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Zeal Monachorum  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Zeal Monachorum web-site (archived copy).

You can see pictures of Zeal Monachorum which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Zeal Monachorum to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

This parish is one of the growing number of places for which the Devon Heritage website provides census or parish register transcriptions, articles, and/or illustrations, etc.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Zeal Monachorum has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Adams, Ann. Zeal Monachorum: A Rural Devon Parish 1086-1801, The Author, 'Hayne', Zeal Monachorum, Crediton, Devon EX17 6DE. [DFHS Library - 942.35/ZEA]
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the parish of Zeal Monachorum, Devon. Typescript (1961) 10 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/ZEA/0001/WIL]
topup
topup
topup

Probate Records

Transcript of the will of Grace Huggins (1854) by Ros Dunning.