Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Chardstock

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Chardstock

topup

Archives and Libraries

  • The Chardstock Historical Record group have an online Web Museum which provides genealogical and local history records relating to Chardstock, Wambrook, and local settlements.
topup

Cemeteries

  • Tunstall, Joan & Parminter, H.M. Record of the inscriptions on the gravestones in Chardstock churchyard, 1971-72. (1972) 17p. [Westcountry Studies Library - 929.5/CHA/REC, SoG Library DE/M16]

topup

Church Records

  • There are copies of the parish registers (christenings 1597-1947, marriages 1597-1987, and burials 1597-1864) at the Devon Record Office, the Dorset Record Office, and the Society of Genealogists
  • Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Marriages 1597-1748.
  • Noble, Arthur H. The Parish Registers of Chardstock. Trans. Dev. Assoc. 100 (1968) pp.227-229.
  • Chardstock Marriages, 1813-1837. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society.
  • Chardstock Burials, 1813-1837. [Devon]: Devon Family History Society (2000).
topup

Description and Travel

  • A description of Chardstock from the Comprehensive Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1894-5 is available on the UK Genealogy Archives site

You can see pictures of Chardstock which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Chardstock to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Chardstock has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

  • Pulman, George P.R. The Book of the Axe. Bath: Kingsmead Reprints (1969) pp. 562 et seq. (Reprint of 3rd edition, 1875.) [Lookups]
  • Wood, P.J. and Carter, R.W. A History of the Parish of Chardstock, (1999). [DFHS Library 942.35/CHA] [ISBN 0953504103]
topup

Land and Property

topup
topup

Names, Personal