Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for GLOUCESTERSHIRE PROBATE RECORDS

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

GLOUCESTERSHIRE PROBATE RECORDS

Abstracts from

WILLS 1568 - 1589

for Cromhall, Rangeworthy, Tytherington & Wickwar

Contact: Leslie Mahler

Complete Documents can be seen on L.D.S. Film #0091378 thru to #0091379 obtainable at your local L.D.S. Family History Library.

The parish registers for Cromhall begin in 1653; those for Rangeworthy in 1704; Tytherington in 1662; Wickwar in 1689. There are some bishops transcripts available, but they are generally fragmentary. Therefore, the following wills provide information that may be unavailable elsewhere.

1568

DODDE, Edward - Wickwar

dtrs Agn & Jane; wife Joan exec; overs Jn Rowche, Thos Bassett, Thos Wooddall & Geo Kyrkeman

MARTEN, Thomas - Tytherington, husb

wife Cath exec; overs Thos Smithe & Jn Agrove

ROCHE, William - Wickwar

childr Nicholas, Thos & Eliz; exec wife Christian; overs bro Nicholas R & Henry son of Rob Wolworthe alias Webe

1569

TYLER, John - Ichington, Tytherington, yeo

childr Thos, Edward, Wlm & Mary; son in law Thos Gibbs of Olldsonne; wife Joan exec; overs Rob Benton & Thos Gybbes

1570

ARNOLD, Robert - Cromhall

sons Thos & Rob; Wlm Rogers jr; Ede Everod; bro Rich; Rich Atkyns; Jn Lacy; wife Eliz exec; overs Wlm Rogers

BYCKE, Robert - Wickwar, husb

childr Jn, Rob, Susan & Agn; unborn child; mother Agn Bicke; dtrs in law Kath, Edith & Joan; wife Joan exec; overs Jn Hill, Jn Hurne & Jn Underwood

COLE, William - Wickwar, weaver

childr Rob, Henry, Wlm & Margt; wife Joan exec; overs Geo Hopper & Jn Viser

ROCHE, William - Wickwar (duplicate of will found under 1568)

YATES, Hugh - Tytherington, husb

Roger Stych; Rob Brutton; Wlm Mannshill; Jn Packer; execs childr Benjamin, Judith & Mary

1571

BARNARD, Robert - Rangeworthy (Thornbury), husb

sons Wlm & Rob; house at Hethend; Morris, Eliz, Kath, Joan & Edith James; sis Margery; execs: dtrs Gillyan & Margt; overs Rob Hobbes of Iron Acton, Rich Hooper & Nicholas Hooper

DYMERE, Henry - Ichington, Tytherington

dtrs Eliz & Margt; Gylyan Barnard; wife Susan exec; overs Rob Brueton, bro Thos & Peter Hycks

FOORDE, Thomas - Wickwar, minister

poor of Alderley; sisters Joan, Dorothy & 2 named Margt; bro Rich; bro Rob & his childr; Henry Mylle; Chris Plom; Francis Came; Nicholas Walkeley; Thos Welshyre; Jn Stock; Rob Coole; execs bro Rob F & Thos Came

HOBBS, William - Tytherington (same will found in 1574)

childr Jms, Rob & Eliz; wife Christobel exec; overs father in law Peter Webb & Rich Hobbs

LENNY, Thomas - Cromhall

four children; wife Agn exec

PACKER, John - Cromhall, weaver

dtrs Alice & Agn; bro Rich; wife Susan exec

PARKER, Nicholas - Rangeworthy, smith

Juliane Webb & her husb; son Nicholas; wife Margery exec; overs Jn Lynsaye & Rich Hoper

ROGERS, Agnes - Cromhall

Thos Dymry; Alice Paker; son Rich exec

TOMES, Thomas - Cromhall

lease at Estwod; childr Eliz & Rich; 2 sons & their childr; wife Agn exec

WHITINGE, William - Wickwar, carpenter

childr Jn & Alice; wife Edith exec; overs father in law Jn Hill, bro in law Thos Daw & bro Jn W

1572

COLLYMER, John - Ichington, Tytherington

childr Eliz, Mary, Margt & Wlm; wife Ellen exec; overs Peter Webb & Henry Agrove

FYSSHER, John - Wickwar

Jms Webley; Benedict Willms; childr Jn, Alex & Alice; dtr Susan & her 3 childr; 2 childr of Rich Smith; wife Jane exec; overs Wlm Proute & Henry Tomes

MERET, Edward - Tytherington

bro Rich M; wife Edith exec

1573

COLLYMORE, Robert - Tytherington

childr Jn, Rich, Mary, Joan & Ellen; dtr Edith Browne & her dtr Agn; Thos son of Jn Bruton; Giles son of Jn Pirriman; wife Isab exec; overs Rob Bruton & Anthony Houlder

FYDLER, Richard - Cromhall, husb

dtrs Joan & Agn; wife Joan exec

LEGGE, Edward - Tytherington

dtrs Margt & Agn; dtr Ellen & Jn Hobbs senr of Itchington (her husb?); wife Agn exec

NEYLE, Walter - Cromhall

wife Joan exec

PARKER, Margery - Rangeworthy, widow (given as Thornbury in index)

son Nicholas; Jn Ragland; dtr Eliz Ragland exec

WOODE, Margaret - Tytherington

dtr Joan exec

1574

BREWTON, William - Cromhall

childr Morgan, Ann, Rich, Thos, Edward, Cath & Joan; wife Mary exec; overs Edward Atwells, Thos Hicks & Thos Marten

DYMERY, Thomas - Cromhall, clothman

wife Margt; childr Rob, Rich & Alice; 2 sons named Jn; Eliz Arnaull; execs son Thos & Jn jr; overs Thos Larrance & Rich Mode

HOBBES, William - Tytherington (same will found in 1571)

childr Jms, Rob & Eliz; unborn child; wife Christobel exec; overs Peter Webbe & Rich Hobbes

1575

DANYELL, John - Cromhall, weaver

childr Anthony & Susan; unborn child; uncle Wlm Danniell; sis Joan Dannell; wife Margt exec; overs father Thos D & Thos Demery of Bibstone

FORDE, William - Wickwar

childr Arthur, Margt & Agn; unborn child; wife Edith exec; overs Henry Webe alias Wolwoorth & Edward Mill

STICHE, Roger - Tytherington

childr Oswald, Eliz, Christian, Joan & Agn; Jn Woode; svts Cicely Jonson & Thos Bruton; wife Kath exec; overs Thos Price, clerk, Jn Hobbs & Rich Hicks

1576

FLEMINGE, William - Cromhall, clerk parson

wife Joan; childr Edith, Ursula, Henry, Sam, & Wlm; wifes childr Joan, Margt & Morgan; Thos Lawrence; execs: sons Michael & Thos; overs Humphrey Elcocke & Wlm Rogers

HOBBES, Richard - Rangeworthy, husb (given as Thornbury in index)

sons Jn & Matt; Eliz dtr of Thos Hobbes; svt Agn Wyllcoke; Andrew Wyther; son Thos exec; overs Rich Hopper & Jn Weynall

LYNZEY, John - Rangeworthy

childr Thos, Elnr & Mary; dtr Gillian wife of Jms Roche & their son Wlm; Thos Sherman; Andrew Wyther; Edward Webbe; Anthony Tiladam; wife Margt exec; overs Jn Ferisse, Alex Lynzey, Alex Stynchcam & Edward West

RADMAN, Thomas - Rangeworthy, smith

wife Edith; execs sons Jn & Hugh; overs Giles Dymrie & Rich Hopper

1577

HOBBES, John - Tytherington

childr Rich, Jn & Ellen; bro Rob H; son Wlm exec

1578

LENNIE, Agnes - Cromhall

son Rich & his wife Joan; Morgan Lenny; son Morris exec

ROBERTS, Agnes - Wickwar

Joan Smith; son Jn & his childr; son in law Thos Rodman of Rangeworthy & his sons Jn & Hugh; dtr married to Jn Roch & their 2 dtrs; son Thos exec

SMITH, Alice - Tytherington

Wlm, Rob, Jn & Margt Pache; Martha Smythe; sons Jn Phelps & Andrew Patch of Bristol; son Rich Patch; Agn Collimore; Margt Thowsend; son in law Jn Hill exec

SMITH, Thomas - Tytherington, yeo

Agn dtr of Rich Smith; son Rich; wife Alice; execs Wlm & Martha Smith; overs Rich Hicks & Wlm Higgins

1579

ADLAND, Robert - Rangeworthy, mason (given as Adlam in index)

Giles Banton; Jn Ills; execs wife Dorothy & dtr Edith; overs Rob Hobbs, Nicholas Tucker & Rich Hopper

HAULE alias COLLYMORE, Elizabeth - Tytherington, widow

sons Peter, Rob & Andrew Collymore; son in law Rich Pache; bro Peter Webbe; kinswmn Mary Colymore; exec son Abraham Colymore; overs Wlm Hyggynes, Wlm Browne & Wlm Smythe

HOLDER, Christopher - Itchington, Tytherington (given as Eytherington in index)

childr Martha, Margt, Thos, Anthony, Chris & Nicholas; wife Susan exec; overs Peter Hyckx, Wlm Cullymer & Rich Lennye

1580

CREW, Peter - Tytherington

wif Eliz; dtrs Anne, Susanna, Sara & Joyce; dtr Mary wife of Henry Stamborne; cousin Edward Atwell; dtr in law Rebecca Webbe; son Edmund; overs Jn Hobbes, bailiff, Abraham Webbe & Wlm Browne

CROME, Thomas - Tytherington

sons Jn & Rich; son Rob & his wife Agn; dtr Dorothy wife of Jms Pullen; wife Agn exec

FYDLER, Joan - Cromhall

Rich Daniell jr; Wlm Fydler jr; Jn Barnes; Jn Somers jr of Wickwar; Geo Alda; Rich Allen; Rich Andresse; Thos Warde; execs dtrs Joan & Agn

HOBBES, Richard - Tytherington

childr Wlm, Nicholas, Joan, Martha & Alice; wife Agn exec

MARTEN, Thomas, senr - Cromhall

dtrs Alice, Helen, Eliz, Margt & Susan; son Thos; wife Edith exec; overs Alex Neale & Wlm Rogers

1581

CREWE, Isabel (or Elizabeth) - Tytherington

sons Abraham & Isaac Webbe; dtr Judith wife of Rich Alynche; Christian Webb; godtr Isab Webb; Peter Ayleworth; late husb Peter Crewe; execs dtrs Rebecca Webbe & Susanna, Sara & Joyce Crewe; overs Wlm Higgins, Wlm Brown, Jn Hobbs & Abraham Webb

1582

HOBBS, Thomas - Rangeworthy, husb

childr Eliz, Jn, Rob & 1 other dtr; Alice Hambyn; wife Eliz exec; overs Jn Pherisse, Rich Hooper & Wlm Barnard

HOOPER, Nicholas - Rangeworthy, husb

wife Kath; son in law Phil West; dtr Eliz wife of Giles Sherman; dtr Mary West; Jn son of Nicholas Hooper; Joan Eckyns; son Nicholas exec; overs Rob Hobbs & Rich Hooper

PRIWET, Thomas - Tytherington (given as Privett in index)

wife Margt exec; witns Thos Houlder, Jn Wod & Jms Wawle

STOCKE, Robert - Wickwar

sons Jn, Rich, Henry & Thos; Eliz wife of Wlm Bisshop; Agn dtr of Wlm Bishope; wife Agn exec; overs Edmund Simes & Jn Cornocke

1583

CAME, Thomas - Wickwar (given as "Caine" in index)

poor of Hawkesbury & Horton; land in Horton to wife Margt & son Thos; godson Thos Came; Wlm & Jn sons of Thos Came; childr Francis, Henry & Mary; Thos & Margt childr of Henry Tomes; Thos, Jn & Henry sons of Alex Tomes; execs wife Margt & son Thos; overs Alex Tomes

COLLIMORE, William - Wickwar

Agn & Margt dtrs of Rob Webbe; Wlm son of Rich Cooke of Westerley; svt Eliz Neale; bro Jms C; son in law Jn Harroule; sister in law Agn Collimore of Tytherington; son in law Rob Webbe; exec son in law Rich Cooke of Westerley; overs Thos Hanchorne & Jn Hyll of Wickwar

COOKE, John - Wickwar

Agn & Margt Webe; childr of Henry Webe; execs dtr Margt & wife Margt; overs Geo Hopper & Jn Ford senr

HICKES, Thomas - Cromhall

son Wlm; wife Agn exec; overs Edward Atwell & Thos Crewe of Hawkesbury

STINCHCOMBE, Alexander - Rangeworthy, husb

son Thos & his bro in law Wlm Raynoulde; dtrs Alice & Jane; son Jn; land in Wickwar; wife exec; overs Henry Mopas & Wlm Jeffries

1584

ADAMES, James - Tytherington

childr Mary, Rob & Jn; son Oswald & his son Roger; Jms son of Geo Adames; wife Edith exec

FARRE, Richard - Cromhall

childr Rich, Joan, Rob & Wlm; dtr Christian Dannell; Helen Dannell; wife Margt exec; overs Wlm Rogers & David Farre; witns Wlm Dannell

HORWOOD, William - Rangeworthy, taylor

childr Thos, Anne, Joan, Jn & Rich; mother; wife Ellen exec; overs Jn Pherisse & Thos Horwood

1585

BRUTON, Richard - Cromhall

childr Arthur, Jn & Agn; wife Agn exec

FERRIS, John - Rangeworthy, yeo

childr Edmund, Jn, Eliz, Margt & Edward; wife Margt exec; overs Jn Weynall, clerk & Wlm Raynolls

FORDE, John - Wickwar, husb

childr Thos, Rob, Margt, Wlm & Jn; wife Elnr exec

WALCOTT, Thomas - Rangeworthy

dtrs; execs son Rob & wife Agn; overs Thos Hanckorne & Arthur Baker

1586

COLLINS, Ann - Wickwar, widow

Margery wife of Henry Byshope, parson; godson Jn Squalle; exec Christian wife of Thos Byshope; overs Thos Byshope

1587

ATWELL, Edward - Cromhall, yeo

advowson of Cromhall to son Rich; childr Jn, Susan & Jane; wife Margt exec; overs cousins Jn Powell of Cheltenham, gent, Edward Tomlin of Toddenham, gent & Matt Crewe of New Mills, Oldbury, clothier

DYMERIE, Thomas - Cromhall

childr Rich, Agn, Jn, Henry, Margt & Alice; wife Isab exec; overs Jn Crome, Rob Arnold & Rob ... fey

FYDLER, William - Cromhall

son Jn; dtr in law Bennet Baylie; Margt Taner; dtr in law Isab Barne; 3 childr of Wlm Barnes; Eliz Thorner; Jms Dymerie; son in law Jn Clercke exec; overs Jn Goodman, Wlm Peseley & Thos Daniell

KYRKMAN, George - Rangeworthy

son Rob; wife Alice; execs dtr Ellen & Edith; overs Jn Hardinge & Thos Antonye

TOMES, Henry - Wickwar, yeo

childr Margt, Rich, Alex & Agn; kinsman Alex Tomes; bros in law Hugh Venne & Walt Osburne; wife Margery exec; overs Geo Hooper, Henry Crome & Jn Osburne

WOLWORTH alias WEBB, Richard - Wickwar, clerk

Arthur Wolworth & his son Rich & other childr; son in law Rich Colwell, his wife Edith & their dtr Agn Cooke; land at Charthills; son Arthur; wife Dorothy exec; overs Arthur Vizer & Arthur Came senr

1588

BRUTON, Robert - Tytherington

childr Marian, Alice, Ellen & Jn; Giles Perriman; wife Joan exec; overs Rob Forde, Wlm Clarke & Wlm Brewton

HICKES, Peter - Tytherington

dtr Rebecca; Peter son of Rich Hickes; Judith Hicks; Joan & Peter childr of Edward Tyler; Jn Bruton of Burstall; Mary Peryeman; Peter son of Jn Hyckes; Geo Waule; son Chris exec; overs Jn Latye, Jn Hicks, Rich Hicks & Edward Tyler

SMYTH, Edward - Tytherington

childr Joan, Peter, Jms & Thos; Agn Boarname of Yate; son Jn exec

1589

ALLEN, Thomas, jr - Cromhall

land in Thornbury to sis Susanna A; sis Margt A; exec mother Jane Allen

DANIELL, William - Cromhall

childr Rich, Joan & Martha; wife Margt exec; witns Jn Goodman, Jn Dymerye & Thos Daniell

GROVE, John - Tytherington, yeo

wife Margery; dtr Agn; dtr Judith Jones; 2 sons named Rich; Eliz dtr of Rich Grove; Joan dtr of Abraham Coolimore; Morris & Joan childr of Henry Jones; Thos Howlbrocke; Margt Goffe & Susanna Whiting; dtr Ellen exec; overs Wlm Browne & son Rich G jr

HOBBS, Robert - Tytherington, taylor

Peter Ayler; bro Jms H exec

HOLDER, Mary - Tytherington

childr Jms, Wlm & Alice; execs childr Andrew, Joan, Kath & Margt; overs Thos Pullin, Rob Colimor & Andrew Pullin

HOULDER, Thomas - Tytherington

childr Jms, Wlm, Andrew, Alice, Joan, Kath & Margt; wife Mary exec; overs Wlm Hobbes & Thos Pullin

PULLYN, Margaret - Tytherington

son Andrew P exec; witns Jn Hobbes, Rob Cullymore & Brice Mannsell

WESTE, Joan - Rangeworthy, widow

son Edward & his wife Margt; Joan dtr of Edward West; son Anthony; dtr Julian wife of Nicholas Hoopp; son in law Rich Taylor; exec Agn Maynstone

WORLOCK, John - Cromhall

childr Thos, Kath & Joan; wife Alice exec