Nearby places
MISERDEN, Gloucestershire
- Some
Memorial Inscriptions in St Andrew's Churchyard, Miserden,
collected and transcribed by Alf Beard. Added 17 Nov 2005.
-
Inscriptions on the War Memorial, recorded by John Hyde
(on the same web page as the Monumental Inscriptions, by Stuart Flight, below).
-
Monumental Inscriptions, taken from the first volume of Gloucestershire
Notes and Queries (pub. 1881, edited by Rev. Beaver H. Blacker, M.A). The
inscriptions themselves were recorded in 1880, and most are from inside the
church. This modern transcription is by Stuart Flight.
- From earliest recorded times the Manor was a focal point for
our ancestors. Manorial records which may exist from the time before
parish registers begin, may provide clues to our family history,
in terms of who our ancestors worked for, what lands they held, what
crimes they may have committed, and more. Although its function became
replaced by a more central, and less parochial administration, the Manor
Houses themselves still survive in many villages. Sometimes they
have become farms, or else in other circumstances, Business Parks
(for example Staunton, nr. Newent), or else they are still owned by the same
family, and are open as "Stately Homes". The Manor House
at Miserden, Wishanger was owned by the PARTRIDGE family,
as it happens also the subject of a One-Name Study.
© Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2009, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/GLS/Miserden/index.html
[Last updated 7 Jun 2009 - 11:02 by Rosemary Lockie]