Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Owlpen

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Owlpen

Archives and Libraries

  • Original source material relating to Owlpen, and other parishes in Diocese of Gloucester may be found at the Gloucestershire Archives.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Owlpen area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Owlpen which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Owlpen has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • From earliest recorded times the Manor was a focal point for our ancestors. Manorial records which may exist from the time before parish registers begin, may provide clues to our family history, in terms of who our ancestors worked for, what lands they held, what crimes they may have committed, and more. Although its function became replaced by a more central, and less parochial administration, the Manor Houses themselves still survive in many villages. Sometimes they have become farms, or else in other circumstances, Business Parks (for example Staunton, nr. Newent), or else they are still owned by the same family, and are open as "Stately Homes". Owlpen Manor is an example of the latter. There's a good photograph of the Manor House on Owlpen Manor Estate home page - it was, and still is the home of the MANDER family, and their web site also contains some notes on their family history. The surname MANDER(S) is also the subject of a One-Name Study, although this particular branch are possibly more famous for the manufacture of paint!

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST800980 (Lat/Lon: 51.680358, -2.290687), Owlpen which are provided by: