GLOUCESTERSHIRE
The information on this page, and on the accompanying
Town & Parish pages is organised by the set of subject
headings which the LDS Family History Library uses for categorising
genealogical research material. Below are the available headings for
Gloucestershire; but see
How the information on this server is presented to the user for
further details, and for an overall list. [Hint: Press the "Back" arrow
on your browser's toolbar to return to this page after reading, as
there is no return link.]
Description in 1887
"GLOUCESTERSHIRE, a west Midland county
[Map (above) shows location],
situated upon the estuary of the Severn,
and bounded north and north-east by Herefordshire, Worcestershire, and
Warwickshire; by Oxfordshire; south by Berks, Wilts, and Somerset; and west by
Monmouthshire, Herefordshire, and the estuary of the Severn; greatest length,
south-west to north-east 54 miles; greatest breadth, north-west to south-east,
33 miles; area, 783,699 acres; population 572,433. The face of the county shows
varied aspects, of which the most distinctive are the Cotswold Hills, in the
east; the valley of the Severn, in the middle; and the Forest of Dean, in the
west. Besides the Severn there are numerous important rivers, such as the Avon,
Lower Avon, Wye, Thames, and Windrush. The canal system has been largely
developed, and several important water-ways of that description pass through the
county. Agriculture forms the leading occupation of the rural population; in the
hills sheep-farming receives attention; while the rich valley of the Severn has
long been famed for the superiority of its products. Its luxuriant pastures
especially have originated and supported a great industry in the shape of dairy
farms which produce the celebrated Glo'ster cheese. In the west of the county
are 2 great coal fields - the Forest of Dean on the north, and the Bristol
coal-field on the west. Other minerals are gypsum, barytes, quartz, limestone,
and freestone. The manufactures are mostly woollen and cotton stuffs, but at
Bristol there are also large hardware manufactures." (Bartholomew's
Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887.)
- All Gloucestershire pages may be searched using the
GENUKI Search engine.
The GENUKI Parish Locator
may be used to identify which town or parish a place is located in.
- There is a FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) file
for these Gloucestershire pages.
- Researchers may find one or more of the
Gloucestershire Mailing Lists useful in their research; and Gloucestershire
Surnames being researched are listed within Graham Jaunay's
On-line English Names Directory.
- Volunteers are being sought to help to transcribe the
1861 and 1891 Censuses for South Gloucestershire & Bristol, to make the whole part of
a free searchable database online. Visit the
FreeCEN
web site for more details, and if you'd like to volunteer.
- A list of the major items (including external links) in the Gloucestershire section of
GENUKI is provided on a separate page of Quick Links.
-
Tobacco Growing in the Vale of Evesham, Winchcombe and District.
by Gerald H. Stratford; trancribed by Colin Hinson. Added 16 Nov 2005.
- Ralph, Elizabeth and Hardwick, Nora M - Calendar of the Bristol Apprentice
Book 1532 - 1565. Published by Bristol Record Society, 1980. Three Volumes:
Vol II, 1542-1552; Vol III, 1552-1565.
Probably out of print, but second hand copies can be found through online bookstores such
as Ambra Books
(see also below), and
John Townsend - Antiquarian Books.
- Salter, Mike - The Old Parish Churches of the Forest of Dean. Folly Publications.
I can recommend this book personally - like
others in his Old Parish Churches series, it is
extremely well-researched, and for me, a regular source of reference.
- The
Bristol & Gloucestershire Archaeological Society's excellent
Gloucestershire Record Series - specialist books, frequently derived
from original source material and relating to the history of Gloucestershire.
- Ivor Cornish, of
Ambra Books, specialises in Buying and Selling Antiquarian and
Secondhand Books, relating to Cornwall, Devon,
Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire. Note also his
Bristol Record Society and
Bristol & Gloucestershire Archaeological Society Transactions.
- Photos and transcriptions of notable church monuments, provided
by the
Church Monuments Society. Added 28 Aug 2007.
-
Roll of Honour - Gloucestershire - War Memorial Selection. Added 5 Aug 2005.
-
Monumental Inscriptions for Family Historians - information on Locating
Gravestones and Cemetery recording, provided by Rod Neep.
- Ralph Bigland visited many of Gloucestershire's graveyards in
the late 18th Century, and recorded the contents of the Memorials he
found in a series of 4 volumes, available in the Gloucestershire Record Office.
These volumes represent a unique reference source, as many of the Monumental Inscriptions
they record have now disappeared, either because the gravestones have been removed, or
because their inscriptions are no longer visible.
As well as the originals available in the Gloucestershire Record Office, reprints
are also available, republished by the Gloucester Record Society, details as follows:-
Historical, Monumental and Genealogical Collections relative
to the County of Gloucester, ed. B. Frith, 1989-95,
published by the Gloucester Record Society.
(Volumes 1-4 : ISBN 0 900197 28 5, 0 900197 30 7,
0 900197 34 X and 0 900197 40 4), UK £30 each.
- The Britannia, "America's Gateway to the British Isles"
Index of Parish Churches features about 10 Gloucestershire Churches.
A nice site, providing you can tolerate the constant invitations to take
part in online gambling.
- John Wilkes has a series of stunning photographs of many
Gloucestershire Parish Churches. His page of
Parish Church Locations has a useful Regional Map showing the
different areas of Gloucestershire.
- Several Gloucestershire churches are featured on Phil
Draper's
Church Crawler Website, devoted to news and information
about churches in the UK, and worldwide, where the emphasis is on
"less-well-known churches that do not appear on the tourist
trails of the world". Phil has a particular interest
in Bristol's Cathedrals, Churches and Chapels, and aims to
feature them all on his site.
- You may also find it worthwhile searching in the GENUKI church database.
Enter the name of the place in which the church is located:
- Some Gloucestershire parish registers (in PDF format, at a modest price)
are available from the
English Parish Registers website. Added 22 Nov 2008.
-
The Forest of Dean Parish Records Project - transcriptions (in
progress) of baptisms, marriages and burials in Forest of Dean parishes
for the period 1813-1901. The project has the full cooperation of the
Gloucestershire Record Office, and results are free to access after a
simple registration process. Added 10 Jun 2006.
- The searchable LDS website - IGI and Familysearch
Note on using IGI Batch Numbers:
It is not always easy to locate your ancestors in the IGI using the search mechanisms provided at
the above LDS site. Manually typing the batch numbers into the IGI search screen can be tedious.
Hugh Wallis has made an exhaustive search of the likely ranges of batch numbers and created a
database of those numbers and the source records that they apply to. A very powerful feature included
is a hotlink from each batch number to the actual search engine provided at the Family Search site,
including the ability to enter the surname you are looking for. This makes it very easy to search all the
batches for a particular geographic location using just the last name you are searching for - something
that is not possible directly from the LDS site without doing a lot of typing. This is
Hugh Wallis's site.
- Gloucestershire Record Office provide a searchable
Summary Catalogue, containing a full catalogue of all Anglican
Parish Records in their keeping, and brief details of other collections
they hold.
-
S&N Gloucestershire Data CDs and Discs - various CDs
are for sale including Gloucestershire material. Of particular
interest are a series of CDs of Phillimore's Marriage volumes,
of which the complete set of all 17 Volumes are available, with
a discount of 50% if ordering them all.
- Stuart Flight's
Gloucestershire Parishes lists material for parishes he has
collected and transcribed, mainly in the Kings Stanley and Stroud areas.
- The Society of Genealogists web site has a
list of their holdings of
Parish Register Copies for Gloucestershire.
- Information on the location of
Quaker Records in
Gloucestershire provided by the Quaker FHS.
- Copies of certificates of Birth, Death and Marriage may be obtained from either
the General Register Office (GRO), or from the Superintendent Registrar's Office in
the District they were first issued. If the District no longer exists, this would be the
Office to which its registers have been moved.
- If ordering from a District (Superintendant's) Register Office, please note the following:
- the cost of a certificate is £7.00 (from 1st April 2003)
- send a Sterling cheque payable to the Superintendent Registrar
plus return postage or two International Reply Coupons;
- the General Register Office (GRO) Index references (available via FreeBMD) are of no value;
- for marriage certificates, the precise place of marriage must be given;
- Civil Registration in England and Wales began on July 1st 1837.
Information about which Local Register Office to contact may be found in Brett
Langston's list of
Gloucestershire Registration Districts (1837-1974).
- If you have a GRO reference, you can now order certificates online via the
General Register Office's website
for the same price as locally.
You can obtain a GRO reference in several ways:-
- Searching microfilm or fiche at a Library or LDS Family History Centre.
- FreeBMD is an ongoing project to make the General
Register Office (GRO) Indexes freely available online. More volunteers are needed and details of how you can help are available on-site.
- findmypast.com (formerly 1837online) - images of the complete BMD indexes from the GRO online. Fee payable
- The images are also available on Ancestry.co.uk for which
a subscription provides access to a wide range of other records.
- Liz Jack's
Rogues' Gallery Photo Collection - photos of prisoners in Gloucester
Jail for the year 1870 and 1880-1906 - is available for purchase on CD
through her Hidden Heritage website.
This complements the database of Gloucester Prison Records searchable
via the Gloucestershire Record Office website.
Added 15 Mar 2008.
- The Prison Service Museum near Rugby houses HM Prison Service's historical
collection of exhibits, illustrating the history of imprisonment from medieval times
to the present day. Housed in a converted stable block, the museum contains
reconstructions of Victorian prison architecture, and exhibits include the
last set of Gibbet Irons used in England. Smaller items include bone
carvings and paintings made by prisoners in their cells, and a nineteenth
century sampler embroidered by a female prisoner from her own hair
Admission to the museum is by appointment only, please contact:-
The Curator,
HM Prison Service Museum,
Newbold Revel,
Rugby,
CV23 0TH
Tel: 01788 834168
[Information compiled from "The Penal Lexicon Home Page",
formerly at www.penlex.org.uk/pages/index.html.]
- Located at the north-east corner of the prison to the rear of the Central Police
Station in Longsmith Street, Gloucester Prison Museum and Shop are open
from Easter Tuesday to end of September. Monday-Saturday from 10.00 am to 4.00 pm,
with limited opening at Bank Holidays.
"The first ever museum to be part of a fully operational and working prison,
the 'Old Gate Lodge' has been converted into a museum depicting the history of
Gloucester Castle as a prison and its progress through to modern day operation."
There is a small shop operated by the museum staff selling souvenirs
produced specifically for Gloucester Prison Museum.
The Governor,
HM Prison and Remand Centre,
Barrack Square,
Gloucester,
GL1 2JN
Tel: 01452 529551
Fax: 01452 310302
[Information compiled from "The Penal Lexicon Home Page",
formerly at www.penlex.org.uk/pages/index.html.]
- Transcription listing Some Prisoners in Gloucestershire
Jails during 1850 and 1851, by Phil Mustoe.
- Nigel Batty-Smith's site of
UK Genealogy Archives - Gloucestershire has a description of the county
from The Comprehensive Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1894-5.
- The transcription of the section for Gloucestershire from
the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- The transcription of the section for Miscellaneous Descriptions from
the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson. Included
here are the descriptions of major topological features (rivers, hills &c.)
and a descriptions of the county hundred divisions.
- You may also find it worthwhile searching in the GENUKI Gazetteer:-
The GENUKI Gazetteer covers the whole of England, Wales and Scotland and can be searched by
place-name (or part of a place-name) or Ordnance Survey Grid Reference (six-figure, eg SO500120).
If there are multiple place-names matching the name you enter, you will be presented initially with a
drop-down list of the matching place-names with their distances and bearings from Gloucester.
-
English Heritage Viewfinder - site with historic photographs,
searchable by county. Has some unusual ones of the Industrial
Age which won't be found amongst the more usual postcard collections!.
-
The Francis Frith Collection - a collection of
over 700,000 photographs of the UK, Europe and the Middle East taken by the
Victorian photographer Francis Frith.
- A Vision of Britain Through Time -
information about your home area from the 2001 census, and from each British
census back to 1801. Presented both as maps of the whole country and as graphs
showing change over time.
- River Severn Tales -
an account of life on the River Severn, and in particular
Notable Dates in The History of The River Severn, illustrating
how the Severn's presence has shaped events in the county. Almost all
of the parishes bordering on the Severn are mentioned.
- A digital library of medieval and modern sources of the history of the British Isles -
British History Online.
Notable sources include Journals of the House of Commons and House of
Lords, Fasti Ecclesiae Anglicanae, and the Victoria County History.
Added 14 Oct 2005.
- Chris Phillips has compiled an index to place names mentioned in the titles
of topographical articles in the published volumes of the Victoria County History.
The index is available his
Medieval English Genealogy web site, in the
Victoria County History: Gloucestershire section.
- An
Encyclopaedia of British History: 1700-1950 - useful for seeing
local events against a national perspective. Scroll down the introductory
page on this site to see topics - Monarchy, Child Labour, The Railways, &c.
- The Domesday Book Online
"to enable visitors to find out the history of the Domesday Book and to
give an insight into life at the time of its compilation". Note this site does not
provide the original text, but does include a list settlements existing in 1086.
Included Chepstow (now Wales).
- Information about
Gloucestershire Feet of Fines (land conveyances) - on
Chris Phillips
Medieval English Genealogy web site. Added 22 May 2007.
- Mike Durtnall is providing a country-wide collection of
Historical Manuscripts
Pages recording details of deeds that have been offered for sale on eBay
and in auction catalogues. In most cases whereabouts of the documents will be
unknown, but sufficient details of the property involved and of buyers, sellers,
mortages, &c. is provided to make them a useful research tool.
Added 9 Mar 2007.
- Pat Johnson has a large collection of original
Family Deeds. Abstracts, with name and parish indexes are provided onsite,
with transcriptions of the full documents available for a modest fee. In addtion, the original
deed may also be available for purchase if required. Added 3 Oct 2004. Updated 19 Sep 2007.
- The Harvard Law School Library's
English Deeds Collection contains detailed summaries of some Deeds relating to
Gloucestershire. The site 'Search' for 'gloucestershire' may be expected to return nine entries.
Updated 27 Apr 2006.
- Robin Alston has created
The Country House Database, a very useful reference source,
"listing country houses in the British Isles from the late medieval
period to ca. 1850, together with an index to all the families so far
traced as having occupied them." Includes a section on
Gloucestershire.
- The
Equity/Chancery Court Pleadings Database (on the Public Record Office's website)
provides an online index to some of the Chancery Pleadings in series C6.
Searches can be made by both name and place.
- Names from Criminal Registers (PRO Class HO 27) 1805-1816
are available for purchase on floppy disk or microfiche through
Family History Indexes
(the link to the
Criminal Registers is part way down the page).
- British
History Online - Ordnance Survey 1:10,560 Maps -
The County Series of Ordnance Survey maps for Great Britain.
Begun in 1840, this is the first comprehensive historic mapping of
England, Scotland and Wales. Added 11 Mar 2009.
- Access to various satellite map sites (Google, MS Live, &c.) via the
convenient front end of Flash Earth.
Added 16 Jun 2007.
- Gloucestershire Parish Maps
for this site (link added 1 May 2005; but maps aren't new!).
- The London Ancestor
site has maps from the 1885 Boundary Commissioners report for all parts
of the British Isles, including
Gloucestershire (Eyre and Spottiswoode, 1885)
- Map of
Gloucestershire, 1805 produced by E.W. Brayley, and provided by Nicholas Adams.
- A most useful set of maps for the whole of England and Wales,
showing parish boundaries, on a one inch to the mile scale, is available on
CD-ROM for a modest price - see:
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R.,
Historic Maps
of England and Wales: Boundaries before 1850. Available on CD from
History Data Service, UK Data Archive, 17 May 2001. SN: 4348.
- The Old Maps web site
has a wonderful series of 1:10,560 scale historical maps for
the whole of the UK available online.
- The
Genmaps site contains a fine collection of Old Maps of the British
Isles for Genealogists and Historians. In particular, see
Old Maps of Gloucestershire.
- The above Genmaps Links pages lists
Great Britain - Medieval Maps, which in turn provides several maps
including an intriguing
Ecclesiastical Map of the British Isles in the Middle Ages,
which shows the principal Monasteries, demonstrating some of the
earliest centres of habitation and influence.
- Detailed Maps of the area you may be interested in Gloucestershire
are viewable at the
UK Street Map Page.
The site provides a most useful service, with superb address searching
and street map facilities for anywhere in mainland Great Britain.
- Clear, Large Type and Braille Maps. Added 11 Feb 2006.
David Hawgood has produced
Maps of Gloucestershire with Braille labels (large print labels) to help people
with visual disabilities, with similar
Tactile and large print Maps for other English counties.
There is an article on David's website,
Production of Tactile maps with Braille labels
explaining how these maps have been produced.
- Bristol and Transatlantic Slavery -
"all about the transatlantic slave trade and the effect on Bristol from the 1400s right
up to today". Still under construction (3 Sep 2003) but promises to be an
interesting site.
- The Soldiers of Gloucestershire Museum
website provides information relating to "The Glorious Glosters", including a
'Soldier Search' and Military Timeline. Also available are a military book and gift shop,
and a genealogy research service. Added 13 Sep 2009.
- Two very comprehensive sites featuring Castles and Fortifications -
CastleUK.net, and
The Gatehouse.
Added 3 Sep 2005.
- The Age of Nelson - a
website providing general information about the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic
Wars 1793-1815, and specifically searchable databases of those present at
Trafalgar (and more) and of all Commissioned Naval Officers 1787-1822.
- The Glorious Glosters,
history of the Gloucestershire Regiments from 1694. Has copious lists of
Casualties of notable campaigns - Crimean War, Indian Mutiny, Korea, et al.
- Names from Musters of the Gloucestershire (North & South) Militia 1781-82
are available for purchase on floppy disk or microfiche through
Family History Indexes
(the link to
Militia Musters is part way down the page).
- Information about
The Gloucestershire Regiment is available on Liz Jack's
Hidden Heritage website.
- Men & Armour for Gloucestershire in 1608 / [compiled by]
John Smith; a Muster Roll of fit and able bodied men.
"The names and Surnames of all the able and sufficient men
in body fitt for his Ma'ties service in the warrs within the City of
Gloucester and the Inshire of the same, wherein are contayned the
City of Glouc' and the Hundreds of Dudstone and Barton Regis, with
their ages, personable Statures and Armours viewed by the Right
honorable Henry Lord Berkley Lord Lieutenant of the said City and the
County thereof by direction from his Ma'tie in the month of
September, 1608."
The list provides occupations, and a measure of age, and physique of
the parties concerned by means of a key, for example:- John
Bendall Brodeweaver - 1m. being decipherable using the following table:-
The figure (1) sheweth the age of that man to bee about Twenty.
The figure (2) sheweth the age of that man to bee about Forty.
The figure (3) sheweth the age of that man to bee betwene Fyfty and threescore.
The L're (p.) sheweth the man to bee of the tallest stature fitt to make a pykeman.
The L're (m.) sheweth the man to bee of a middle stature fitt to make a musketyer.
The L'res (ca.) sheweth the man to bee of a lower stature fitt to serve with a Calyver.
The L'res (py.) sheweth the man to bee of the meanest stature either fit for a pyoner, or of little other use.
The L'res (tr.) sheweth that at the takinge of this viewe, hee was then a trayned soldyer.
The L'res (sub.) sheweth that the said man was then a subsidy man.;
This is just to whet your appetite to give you a flavour of the kind of
detail which is available.
The original manuscript of Men and Armour is now on deposit at Gloucestershire
Record Office. The printed version - Reference: Author(s): Smith, John, b.1567
[compiled by] John Smith - was republished in 1980 by Alan Sutton:
ISBN/ISSN: 0904387496 as a limited edition of 400 numbered copies
- Smith, A. H. (Albert Hugh; 1903-1967),
The place-names of Gloucestershire.
One of the English Place-Name Society Series; v.38-41.
Cambridge: University Press (1964-1965). In 4 Volumes:
- The river- and road-names. The east Cotswolds
- The north and west Cotswolds
- The lower Severn Valley. The Forest of Dean
- Introduction, bibliography, analyses, index, maps.
- St. Clair Baddeley, Welbore (1856-1945),
Place-names of Gloucestershire : a handbook.
Gloucestershire : J. Bellows, 1913.
- The Newspaper Library at Colindale - my current information (October 2007) is
that the BL is going to close Colindale, transferring its archives to Boston Spa.
Newspapers will be viewable on film only at the British Library, until such time as
their holdings are digitised. See the British Library's
Newspapers Digitisation Project for up-to-date details of research facilities.
Updated 13 Nov 2008.
-
The Gloucestershire Echo & Gloucester Citizen.
- The Bristol Evening Post
Has a News Search Archive, although one rather imagines their idea of
an archive is last week!
Links to Newspapers' sites are provided not only for the Newspaper
content, but also because they may contain links to other items
or sites of local interest.
- For other English Newspapers see
OnlineNewspapers.com - England.
- Nigel Batty-Smith's site providing
UK Genealogy Archives of Gloucestershire
includes Heralds' Visitation of Gloucestershire, 1623, published by The Harleian Society, 1885
(follow the link to Visitation)
- The Worshipful Company of Curriers -
information about the history of this trade. Added 1 Apr 2008.
- The Virtual Waterways Archive -
"Hundreds of years of British waterway history brought together in one
online catalogue". Added 19 Nov 2007.
-
Pubs and Breweries of the Midlands past and present -
select 'Pub Histories' for listings by county. Added 2 Nov 2005.
- Registers of the Company of Stationers, London :
Apprentices from Gloucestershire,
transcribed by Leslie Mahler.
- Records of Carpenters' Hall, London
1654-1694 : Apprentices from Gloucestershire, a list published originally in
Gloucestershire Notes & Queries (N&Q, vol X, No. 91, 1914),
transcribed by Rosemary Lockie.
- The Restoration of the Severn Princess site looks at the
efforts to restore the last Severn Ferry which plied between Aust, just north
of Bristol, and Beachley, near Chepstow - working
daily until the opening of the Severn Road Bridge. Unfortunately it is no longer
available offline, but archived versions exist - thanks to the
Wayback Machine -
see
Archived version of www.severnprincess.co.uk, and click on one of the listed dates.
Note: these pages are well worth a visit, but as the link is to
archived versions, some internal links may no longer work.
- A List of Mines in The Forest of Dean (1880), giving the
name of the Colliery, where situated and who owned it;
list are provided by Kevin Davis as part of his
Family History Archive.
-
For further information about Coal Mining generally visit the
Coal Mining History Resource Centre.
- The
Society of Brushmakers' Descendants assists those with
Brushmaking Ancestors, or with an interest in discovering more
about the brushmaker's trade.
- Some notes on Stroudwater Canal are available on
Stuart Flight's Stroud Area page.
-
The National Waterways Museum at Gloucester, sited
in Llanthony Warehouse on Gloucester Docks. Relates the story of 200
years of Britain's Canals. Nice animated .gif features a Canal Boat
in front of the Museum.
- Geoff Sandle's
Gloucestershire Pubs site. Geoff is attempting to locate all
old pubs and breweries in Gloucestershire from 1850. Archive
material includes petty sessional divisional records dating from 1891
and 1903 and old county directories. (Kelly's etc.)
- A site "dedicated to the Workhouse - its buildings,
its inmates, its staff and administrators, and even its poets..." -
The Workhouse -
created by Peter Higginbotham.
- Information about Workhouses and Poor Law Institutions on the
Rossbret Institutions Website,
which also includes Asylums, Almshouses, Gaols (Prisons), Dispensaries,
Hospitals (Infirmaries), Reformatories (Industrial Schools), and Orphanages,
in many cases listing individual premises.
-
The Regency Collection has a section on Postal History, and
also includes other interesting material relating to the Regency period -
e.g. Turnpike Trusts, Georgiana Duchess of Devonshire, and more.
- Rosemary Lockie has begun a collection of pages listing
abstracts of
Gloucestershire Probate Records
You are invited to submit similar information from your own Wills collection,
whilst at the same time, of course to use whatever information is there already
for assistance in locating your own forebears.
Many thanks to all the kind people who have already contributed their
ancestors' Wills to this project!
- Leslie Mahler is the one responsible for setting this particular
ball rolling. He began work in 1998, transcribing indexes to, and abstracts
from early Gloucestershire Wills in an effort to trace his own Gloucestershire
ancestors prior to the earliest parish registers. The periods
he's covered so far are 1541-1545,
and ALL Gloucestershire Wills dated
1619.
Abstracts from specific locations are also available - check out his
Early Gloucestershire Probate Records
for further details.
- Confused as to which of the above collections to go for? Me too!
See Gloucestershire Probate Records
Online for an overview, and links to online collections elsewhere.
- A brief history of
Education in England (3 parts).
- If you are interested in finding out whether your
dearest school friends are also researching their family trees,
check out Friends United,
a site devoted to reuniting old school and college friends.
- Mother Bedford -
"a website devoted primarily to the history of Old-Bedford County,
Pennsylvania during the American Revolutionary War period" -
a fascinating site including items of general historical interest eg:
- Apposite to the time of adding:
The Celebration of Christmas.
- Examples of music our ancestors may have enjoyed:
The Music of the 1770s: a Directory.
-
Gazetteer of Markets and Fairs in England and Wales to 1516 -
The Gazetteer, compiled by Dr Samantha Letters is a catalogue of Markets and Fairs in
Medieval England and Wales. First comprehensive National Survey, with detailed
information about grants of Charters to all Market Towns.
-
Victorian Social History: An Overview - Public Health,
Education, Conditions of Life and Labour.
- Costume
History - from Ancient Babylon through to 1990s - a very comprehensive
site on Fashion and Dress through the ages. Has images to illustrate
what my great*6 aunt Mary OUTRAM might have been wearing on top of her
"second best stays", one of the items she left in her will of 1769
to a young female relative!
- The E 179 Database
(on the National Archives website) contains detailed information about over
26,000 documents relating to the taxation of lay people in England and Wales
between c.1200 and c.1700. These documents are likely to contain many names.
An extract from one of these documents -
Lay Subsidy Roll : E179/116/488 - is provided here, transcribed and contributed
by Johan Winsser.
- In addition, the set of
Lay Subsidies 1581-1595 (links to a PDF file) are available on The
Bristol & Gloucestershire Archaeological Society website.
Added 22 Dec 2007.
This county is maintained by
Rosemary Lockie with help and information
provided by a number of other volunteers.
[Beginning on 22nd February 1998 - created originally by Brian Randell]
GENUKI contains many hyperlinks and directives to sites
developed by others. They are provided for your convenience only. We do
not control nor guarantee the accuracy, relevance, timeliness, or
completeness of such sites, and in the event of a link to such a site
being 'broken', or otherwise unavailable, our only recourse is to
remove that link.
© Copyright GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2009, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/GLS/index.html
[Last updated 14 Nov 2009 - 17:47 by Rosemary Lockie]