|
|
Canon Pyon |
|
Contents & Site Map |
The church of St. Lawrence is an ancient stone edifice, in the Norman and Gothic styles of architecture, with square tower containing five bells. It has nave, chancel, two side aisles, font, and at the entrance to the churchyard is a lych gate. The chancel was rebuilt in 1865 at the expense of the Dean and Chapter of Hereford, and the church underwent general restoration in 1870 at a cost of £820, chiefly defrayed by the vicar and parishioners. Henry Ward, Esq., of Stafford, was the architect, and Messrs. John Williams and Charles Jones, both of Canon Pyon, were the builders. The parish registers begin with the year 1754. A new school has been recently erected to meet the requirements of the "Elementary Education Act". It is centrally situated, and affords accommodation for 122 children; the cost of building was defrayed by subscription. The school is under the management of a parochial committee, of which Mr. Herbert Yeomans is the secretary. Great House, the residence of Gordon Graham, Esq., is pleasantly situated near the church. About half a mile west of the house, on the top of the renowned Pyon Hill, is built a castellated brick summer-house, commanding delightful views of several counties.
| PRIVATE RESIDENTS. | |
|
Clarke Thomas Esq., Derndale Clayton Mr. John, The Parks Dawes Rev. Thomas M.A. (vicar), The Vicarage Dent Miss Margaret, Crown house Graham Gordon, Esq., Great house Griffiths Henry, Esq., Brick house |
Jay Miss Ann, The Cottage Plevy John Benjamin, Esq., Westhope Plevy William, Esq., Westhope Sunderland Jos. Hy., Esq., Lawton's hope Wilson Mrs. Eliza, Canon Pyon house Yeomans Mrs. Elizabeth, Kinford |
| COMMERCIAL. | |
|
Beddoes Mrs., farmer, Oldfield Bethell Edmund, farmer, Vetches land Blackwell George, farmer & hop grower, Nupton farm Bonnor Geo. Fred., farmer, Court farm Davies Robert, miller, Kinford mill Davies Shadrach, cooper, The Parks Davies William, farm bailiff, Nupton Galliers George T., farmer and hop gr., Butt ho. (and in King's Pyon parish) George Frank, master of National school Griffiths Charles, farmer and carpenter, Meeting house Griffiths Henry, landowner, farmer, and hop grower, Brick house Griffiths James, assistant overseer and rate collector, Bush bank Griffiths John, shoemaker Bush bank Grosvenor Thomas, plumber, painter, and glazier, Bush bank Hughes Mrs. Sarah, shopkpr., Westhope Jay James, farmer and hop gr., Red castle Jones Charles, mason, The Parks Lerry John, police constable, Bush bank Patrick Henry Francis, Nag's Head Inn, and shopkeeper, New end Plevy John Benjamin, farmer and landowner, Westhope Plevy William farmer, landowner, and hop grower, Westhope Porter Edwin, farmer, New end Price James, wheelwright, &c., New end Price Thomas, wheelwright & machinist, Parks |
Pullen Thomas, farmer, Westhope Rowberry Stephen, carrier and shopkpr. Rudge Richard, farmer, Bush bank Saunders Thomas, tailor, New end Savory Elijah, frmr., Holly lo., Westhope Skyrme George, farmer, Bush bank Skyrme Richard, farmer, Oakfield Skryme William, farmer, Park lane Southall James, farmer, The Parks Steele Charles, blacksmith, Westhope Steele John, agricultural implement manufacturer and machinist, The Plough Inn, New end; stores for implements at Cattle market, Hereford Steele William, blacksmith, New end Sunderland Joseph Henry, auctioneer, farmer, landowner, and hop grower, Lawton's hope Thomas Mrs. Ann, farmer and hop grower, Lower Derndale Thomas George, farmer and hop grower, Upper Derndale Thomas Mrs. George, farmer, Shire Glatt Watkins James, stonecutter and shopkeeper, Bush bank Weaver John, tailor, Westhope Wiles Thomas, farmer, New end Williams John, carpenter and builder Yeomans Herbert, landowner, farmer & hop gr., Great Nupton & Nupton farm |
[Transcription by Marion Wilkinson in August 2001
from a copy of Littlebury's Directory of Herefordshire, 1876-7 in Hereford Central Library]
© Copyright Marion Wilkinson, GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2007, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/CanonPyon/Littlebury1876.html