|
|
Coddington |
|
Contents & Site Map |
The church forms a pretty object, and is prettily situated, the view from the churchyard westward being very extensive. This twelfth-century church, dedicated to All Saints, was restored in 1866 at a cost of about £2,200. It consists simply of nave and chancel without aisles, but having a new ornamental tower and spire at the west end containing a peal of six bells. It was originally a Norman structure, as appears by the round-headed door beneath a modern porch, and though restored, the Norman features have been preserved as much as possible. The Early English windows remain; those in the chancel were filled with stained glass in 1873. The church is paved with encaustic tiles from the well-known manufactory of Mr. W. Godwin, of Lugwardine. The reredos is composed of round intersecting arcades supported on polished marble pillars, which is very effective. There is a piscina on the south side.
There is an organ-chamber, and a fine organ was erected in 1871 by Nicholson, of Worcester. The restoration of this interesting fabric was carried out from the designs and under the superintendence of F. R. Kempson, Esq., F.I.B.A., of Hereford. The parish registers begin with the year 1675. A new school, with residence for the mistress, was built in 1868, near the church, at a cost of £650. The average attendance is about 25. There are charities to the amount of £30 yearly, the principal of which is a farm, devised in the reign of Henry VIII. for the benefit of the poorer classes. Coddington House is the residence of Captain Henry Edward Vale.
| PRIVATE RESIDENTS. | |
|
Curtis Rev. George James, M.A. (rector of Coddington, and chaplain of St. Catherine's hospital, Ledbury), The Rectory Vale Henry Edward, Esq. (captain of the Worcestershire militia), Coddington ho. | |
| COMMERCIAL. | |
|
Dallow Miss Harriette, schoolmistress, School house Farmer James, mason, beer retailer, and shopkeeper, Red house Hales George, farmer, Bush farm Hodges Robert, farmer and hop grower, Coddington farm; res., Worcester James George, farmer, Pound farm James Thomas, carpenter & wheelwright Kendrick Mrs. Mary Ann, farmer and hop grower, Woefields. |
Morris William, tailor Moss Samuel, tailor Powell ___, gamekeeper to C. A. Hewitt, Esq., J.P., D.L. Rogers Mrs. M., beer retailer (Golden Cross) Smith William Henry, farmer, Moorcroft (and in Colwall parish) Stinton ___, farm bailiff, Coddington farm Townsend Frederick, blacksmith Wadley John, farmer and hop grower, Church farm |
[OCR/Transcription by Rosemary Lockie in November 2001
from a copy of Littlebury's Directory of Herefordshire, 1876-7 in Hereford Central Library]
© Copyright Rosemary Lockie, GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2007, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Coddington/Littlebury1876.html