COLWALL is a large parish, village, and railway station on the Worcester
and Hereford branch of the Great Western railway. It is situated on the
western side of the Malvern hills, about 4 miles N.E. of Ledbury, 32
S.W. of Malvern, I8 E, of Hereford, and joins the parish of Mathon, in
Worcestershire; is in Radlow hundred, Ledbury union, petty sessional
division, and county court district, and Coddington polling district. The
population in 1861 was 1,628; in 1871, 1,349; inhabited houses, 293;
families or separate occupiers, 343; area of parish, 3,511 a. 1r. 10p.;
annual rateable value, £6;542. The Ecclesiastical Commissioners and
Benjamin Bright, Esq., are lords of the manor of Colwall, and Major Thomas
Griffith Peyton is lord of the manor of Barton. The principal landowners
are Benjamin Bright, Esq., the Right Hon. Earl Somers, Charles Archibald
Hewitt, Esq., Major Thomas Griffith Peyton, Stephen Ballard, Esq., C.E.,
and Miss E. Martin. The soil is various; subsoil, clay; chief produce,
hops, wheat, beans, fruit, &c.
Colwall is in the diocese and arcbdeacoury
of Hereford and rural deanery of South Froome; living, a rectory; value,
£540, with residence and 63 acres of glebe; patron, the Lord Bishop of
Hereford; rector, Rev. George Musgrave Custance, M.A., of St. John's
College, Cambridge, who was instituted in 1867. The Rev. Alfred
Barber, M.A., of St. Alban Hall, Oxford, is the curate. The church,
dedicated to
St. James, is an ancient edifice chiefly in the Norman and
Early English styles of architecture. It consists of a nave with side
aisle, chancel, and square castellated tower at the west end containing
six bells. The chancel was entirely rebuilt in 1865-66 at a cost of
£1,800, defrayed by the late rector and his family. It contains three
beautiful memorial windows of stained glass, by Hardman & Co., of
Birmingham, and has been made very ornate with encaustic tiles on the
floor and within the altar rails. The reredos is enriched with the cross
and other sacred emblems. The organ was the gift of the late rector; it
occupies a chamber on the north side of the chancel, and was supplied by
Mr. Nicholson, of Worcester. There is a very efficient surpliced choir.
The new chancel was consecrated March 22nd, 1866. The nave shows
fourteenth-century decorated work, and is divided from its side aisle
by four pointed arches resting on round pillars. It has been entirely
reseated, at the expense of Benjamin Bright, Esq., but wants further
restoration and adornment to agree with the chancel. The tower is in a
good state of preservation, and is connected with the nave in a curious way,
as if originally it had been separate from the church, as many Herefordshire
towers are. In the south aisle is a mural slab in memory of a member
of the Walwyn family of Rhudhale, date 1587, and under the tower is
a flat stone of ancient date, with an incised cross. The font is Norman.
Accommodation is provided for 330 worshippers, all the seats being free
and unappropriated. There is daily service in the church, and weekly
celebration of holy communion. The parish registers begin with the year
1558. "The Wyche" school church is a neat modern building, situate at
a distant part of the parish, nearly at the top of Malvern hill. Divine
service is held here three times on Sundays, and the holy communion is
celebrated fortnightly.
There is an endowed grammar school for boys,
founded by Humphrey Walwyn, Esq., of the Grocers' Company, A.D. 1612.
The present building was erected in 1851. The Rev. Charles Black, B.A.,
of New College, Oxford, formerly assistant master of King Edward's school,
Birmingham, has been recently appointed the headmaster, and Mr. William
Miller is the senior assistant master. A school for girls was erected by
subscription on Colwall green, and opened June 20th, 1866. The cost of
building was about £700 - Mr. Woodyer, of Guildford, being architect both
of school and chancel. There is a school for boys and girls at the Wyche.
The Wesleyans have chapels at the Wyche and Colwall green; a Sunday
school is held in connection with the latter. The charities belonging to
the parish are of £30 yearly value. There is a library for the poor of the
parish, supported by subscription. It has about 300 volumes, and the low
charge of threepence per year entitles the parishioners to membership.
This parish is famous as the scene of many of the writings of Mrs.
Elizabeth Barrett Browning - the greatest female poet that England has
produced. She was born in London, of wealthy parents, in 1809, and
began her literary efforts almost contemporaneously with Tennyson. Her
girlhood, nevertheless, was partly spent at Hope End, in this parish;
and we find in her "Aurora Leigh", and in some of her minor pieces,
reminiscences of this district, executed in a broad and admirable manner.
This parish contains several handsome residences.
Hope End, a new and
elegant mansion, the seat of Charles Archibald Hewitt, Esq., J.P., D.L.,
has just been erected from the designs of Messrs. Habershon & Pite,
architects, of 38 Bloomsbury square, London, W.C. the contractor being
Mr. William Tongue, of Plumstead, S.E. The park is well wooded, and
comprises about 900 acres.
Old Colwall is in the occupation of William
Edmund East, Esq.;
Barton Court is the seat of Major Thomas Griffith
Peyton, J.P. and D.L. for Herefordshire;
The Winnings, the residence of
Stephen Ballard, Esq., C.E.;
Brand Lodge, that of ___ Hodson, Esq.,
M.D.,
The Quarry, that of Mrs. Devas; and
The Lindens, that of
Mrs. R. O. Carter.
Walm's well and Moorall's well are springs in
this parish, which for a long series of years have enjoyed a high repute
for curative properties. The Royal Malvern well is a new and very
copious spring, not long since discovered, near the Wyche pass. On the
summit of one of the highest ridges of the Malvern hills, and on the
borders of Worcestershire, are the immense works of the
Herefordshire
Beacon, formerly one of the strongest and most important hill-fortresses
in this island. The vast labour employed in its construction, its amazing
belts of ramparts and trenches, its great extent, its well-chosen situation,
which commands what was anciently the only pass through the Malvern
hills, and which indeed is very nearly so even to the present hour; its
singular irregularity of form and evident dissimilitude to the modes of
fortification observed by the Danes, Saxons, and Romans - all combine to
establish its origin, which must unquestionably be ascribed to the Britons.
The same reasons also evince that it was not constructed for mere temporary
purposes, but rather for permanent security, as a place wherein an entire
district might seek refuge, with all their possessions, whether of flocks or
herds, in case of invasion, or any other sudden emergency. It is almost
impossible for words to convey a complete idea of this immense strong-hold;
the works are too vast, the heights too unequal, and the base of the
eminence too extensive. The general shape of the hill, at least of that
portion occupied by the works, approaches to an ellipsis; and the disposition
of the banks and ditches correspond with that figure. The area of the
centre and highest part is an irregular parallelogram, measuring about 60
yards in its longest diameter, and nearly 40 in its shortest; this is surrounded
by a high and steep rampart of stones and earth, now covered with turf;
and that again defended by a very deep ditch.
Considerably below this,
on the acclivity of the hill, ranging towards the south-west, or rather
south-west by south, is a very extensive outwork or bastion, of an oval form,
containing a sufficient area for the stowage and even pasturage of horses
and cattle. This is connected by means of a narrow slip of land; running
beneath the south-east side of the upper ditch, with a similar kind of
bastion or outwork, ranging eastward, and manifestly intended for similar
purposes. Both these works are surrounded by a high rampart and deep
ditch; and the enclosed areas have evidently been levelled by art as far
as the natural shape of the eminence would permit. Still lower on the
acclivity are successive ranges of ramparts and ditches, very steep, deep,
and high, encircling the sides of the mountain, and rendering it nearly,
if not utterly, inaccessible.
The views from the summit of this majestic
work include a vast extent of country; and Herefordshire from this height
assumes a very distinct character to that of the contiguous districts of
Worcester and Gloucester. It appears to be composed of an immense
continuation of oblong, conical, and irregular hills, principally covered
with fine timber, the deep shadows of whose luxuriant foliage project
over the most beautiful vales, abounding with orchards, corn-fields, and
hop-grounds. The distance in the west is finely marked by the range of
the Black mountains and the hills of Radnorshire. The prospects to
the east and south-east are yet more extensive, including a very large
proportion of Gloucestershire and Worcestershire, which appears spread
out before the sight, variegated by all the charms of nature and cultivation.
The Herefordshire Beacon itself is most eminently conspicuous for
many miles round, and forms an object of uncommon grandeur.
POSTAL REGULATIONS.- Post office, Colwall green; Richard Watts,
Sub-Postmaster. Letters arrive by messenger from Great Malvern at 8.20
a.m.; despatched thereto at 4.50 p.m. Great Malvern, Malvern Wells,
and Ledbury are the nearest money order offices. Postal telegrams may
be sent from Colwall railway station. Post town, Great Malvern.
Parish Church (St. James's).- Rev. George Musgrave Custance, M.A.,
Rector; Rev. Alfred Barber, M.A., Curate; Messrs. John Lloyd and
George Henry Shepherd, Churchwardens; Thomas Matthews, Sexton.
The Wyche School Church (licensed by the Lord Bishop for divine
worship).- The Rector or his Curate officiates.
Grammar School, Colwall green.- Rev. Charles Black, B.A., Head
Master; Messrs. Wm. Miller and Frederick Chapman, Assistant Masters.
Girls' Church of England School, Colwall green.- Miss A. Tibbits, Mistress.
Wyche School (boys and girls).- Miss M. Paxton, Mistress.
Wesleyan Chapel, Colwall green.- Ministers various.
Wesleyan Chapel, The Wyche.- Ministers various.
Sunday School (in connection with the Wesleyan Chapel), Colwall green.
Colwall Library, Colwall green.- Miss Charlotte Richards, Librarian.
Police Station, Colwall stone.- E. Cope, Constable in charge.
Railway Station (Worcester and Hereford branch of Great Western Railway -
West Midland Section).- J. Leworthy, Station Master.
Carrier to Worcester.- William Ireland, from Colwall green, every Saturday;
stops at the Hope and Anchor Inn, Newport street, Worcester,
returning therefrom about 4 p.m. the same day.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Colwall/Littlebury1876.html