GENUKI Home page
Donnington Donnington     Contents & Site Map Contents &
Site Map


Donnington, Herefordshire

Extract from Littlebury's Directory and Gazetteer of Herefordshire, 1876-7
with Private and Commercial Residents

Transcription by Rosemary Lockie © 2001

DONNINGTON.

DONNINGTON is a small parish situated on the road from Ledbury to Gloucester, distant 2 miles S. of Ledbury, 6 N. of Newent, and 17 S.E. of Hereford; in Radlow hundred, Ledbury union, polling district, county court district, and petty sessional division. The population in 1861 was 105; in 1871, 89; inhabited houses, 16; families or separate occupiers, 17; area of parish, 799a. 2r. 7p.; annual rateable value, £1,536. The manorial rights are held by the representatives of the late Richard Webb, Esq., who, with William Charles Henry, Esq., M.D., and Michael Biddulph, Esq., M.P., are the chief landowners. The soil is clayey; producing wheat, beans, hops, and apples. This place was one of the earliest settlements of the English in Herefordshire, and takes its name from the clan of the Donns. Its ancient name, according to Domesday, was Dodentune. The parish is in the diocese and archdeaconry of Hereford and rural deanery of South Froome; living, a rectory; value, £200, with residence and 26 acres of glebe; patrons, the representatives of the late Richard Webb, Esq.; rector, Rev. John Lander, M.A., of Pembroke College, Oxford, who was instituted in 1845. The church (St Mary's) was erected in the 13th or 14th century, and has recently undergone restoration and enlargement at a cost of over £700. It has a wooden tower containing two bells. The eastern window is filled with stained glass. The parish registers date from the middle of last century. There is no school in the parish; the children attend Eastnor and Haffield schools. Donnington Hall, the property of the representatives of the late Richard Webb, Esq., is at present occupied by James Wickens, Esq., J.P.

POSTAL REGULATIONS.- Thomas Saddler, Sub-Postmaster, Greenway. Letters are received through Ledbury, and are delivered between 9 and 11 a.m.; despatched at 5.15 p.m. Ledbury is the nearest money order and telegraph office and post town.
Parish Church (St. Mary's).- Rev. John Lander, M.A., Rector; James Wickens, Esq., Churchwarden; Mrs. Ann Pullen, Sextoness. The Mail Coach from Ledbury to Gloucester passes through daily; leaves Ledbury at 8 a.m.; leaves Gloucester at 3.30 p.m.

DONNINGTON DIRECTORY.

PRIVATE RESIDENTS.
Lander Rev. John, M.A. (rector), The Rectory
Wickens Jas., Esq., J.P., Donnington hall

COMMERCIAL.
Chadd Jas., frmr. & hop grower, The Farm
Cross John, blacksmith, Rose cottage
Cummins John, farmer, Dinchall
Fowler Thos. Stallard, farmer, The Court
Mayo William, farmer, Lower house and Smallings farms
Revell William, cider maker and dealer, The Nurdens
Saddler Thos., sub-postmaster, Greenway
Smith Charles, farmer, The Vineyard (and in Ledbury parish)

Top Return to top of page

[OCR/Transcription by Rosemary Lockie in November 2001
from a copy of Littlebury's Directory of Herefordshire, 1876-7 in Hereford Central Library]


GENUKI Home  |  Conditions of Use  |  Contents  |  FAQ  |  GENUKI on WT  |  Help  |  Quick Links  |  Report Errors  |  Search

© Copyright Rosemary Lockie, GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2009, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see About GENUKI as an Organisation

Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.

URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Donnington/Littlebury1876.html


Valid XHTML 1.0! [Created 28 Nov 2001. Last updated 16 May 2009 - 12:37 by Rosemary Lockie]