|
|
Eardisley |
|
Contents & Site Map |
EARDISLEY,
WITH BOLLINGHAM, SPOND, WELSON, WOODSEAVES, ETC.
At the entrance to the churchyard is a beautifully restored lych-gate, with the following inscription:-
The parish registers begin with the year 1630. Here is an excellent national school for boys and girls, with residence for the master attached, erected in 1857 by the late W. Perry Herrick, Esq. It has a certificated master, and is under Government inspection; average attendance, above 100. The charities belonging to the parish amount to about £15 yearly. There is a Primitive Methodist chapel in the village erected in 1867. There is a chapel for the Calvinistic Methodists, erected in 1848 on Hurstway common, near a remarkably fine oak tree, said to be one of the largest in England; about 5 feet from the base it measures 30 feet 2 inches in circumference. There are traces of British and Roman encampments in the northern part of this parish, and like so many other places in this county, the site of a demolished castle, or rather, as recorded in Domesday book, of a fortified dwelling, domus defensibilis; "builded," says Taylor, in his "History of Cavel-kind," "because of its vicinity to the Welsh borders." In cleaning out the old moat at the Castle farm some years ago, several curious antiquities, including helmets, spears, a sword, &c., were found. Lemore, the residence of Major-General John Coke, C.B., J.P., and D.L., is about a mile and a half N.W. of the parish church. Bollingham is a chapelry in Eardisley, distant about 2 miles N. of the village and about 3 S. of Kington. The chapel was restored in 1867 at a cost of £583, under the superintendence of T. Nicholson, Esq., of Hereford, the diocesan architect. The roofs of nave and chancel are new; the west wall and part of the north wall and porch rebuilt; the windows, paving, seating, and all internal fittings, entirely new. The east window is filled with painted glass (by Clayton & Bell) at the expense of Mrs. Aldworth, in memory of the late vicar, the Rev. W. St. Leger Aldworth. The glass in the west window (by Heaton, Butler, & Bayne) is the gift of the Dowager Lady Cockburn, in memory of R. Whitcomb, Esq., and of his son. The font is the gift of the present vicar. Bollingham House is the property and residence of Mrs. M. Bedward. Spond (Upper) is a hamlet 3 miles N. of Eardisley; Welson (Lower) is 1 mile N.W.; Woodseaves is 1½ miles W.; Hurstway Common is ¾ of a mile W.
EARDISLEY,
WITH BOLLINGHAM, SPOND, WELSON, WOODSEAVES, ETC. DIRECTORY.
| PRIVATE RESIDENTS. | |
|
Barber Mr. William, Newman's place Beavan Mrs., Eton cottage Bedward Mrs. Matilda, Bollingham house Cameron Rev. Donald, M.A. (curate) Coke Major-General John, C.B., J.P., and D.L., Lemore Coke Rev. G.F., M.A., Lemore Evans Mrs. Martha, The Cottage Evans Mrs., Parton Fishbourne Mrs., Ivy cottage |
Hoffman O. W., Esq., M.R.C.S., Bridge ho. Marston Mr. James, Lady Harbour Palmer Rev. Chas. Sml., M.A. (vicar of Eardisley with Bollingham), The Vicarage Palmer Captain Thomas Pugh Miss, Ivy cottage Turner Mrs., Eardisley park Wall Mr. Thomas, Laurel cottage |
| COMMERCIAL. | |
|
Barber Wm., estate agent for exors. of Wm. Perry Herrick, Esq., Newman's pl. Bufton William, farmer and landowner, Crow farm; res., Willersley Chandler James, farmer, Upper Spond Connop James, farmer, Pound farm Davies Alfred, thrashing machine proprietor, New Crow Davies James, farmer, St Mary's Davies Thos., shoeing and jobbing smith Davies William, farmer, Upper Welson Drew Dansey, farmer, Upper Spond East Francis, cider retailer, Woodseaves East Thomas, shoemaker, Rose cottage Edwards John, farmer, Upper house Evans James, farmer, Lower Welson Evans Mrs. S., farmer, Parton Griffiths Richard, New Inn, and farmer Griffiths Thomas, farmer, Castle farm Harper John, baker, confectioner, & sub-postmaster, Post and Telegraph office Hoffman O. W., M.R.C.S., surgeon, Bridge house Jay John, tailor, &c. Jenkins James, mason Jones James, blacksmith, Spond Jones John, shoemaker and parish clerk Lewis Thomas, carpenter Llewellyn Philip, shopkeeper, coal merchant, and agent for the Hereford Times Lodge Jesse, master of the National school Marston James, farmer, Lady Harbour farm |
Mitchell Charles, saddler and harness maker; and at 46 High st., Kington Morgan Evan, farmer, Lower Welson Nott William, carpenter Page Wm., plumber, glazier, and painter Phillips John, tailor, draper, and grocer Philpotts William, beer retailer Pooton John, farmer, Lower Welson Powell Mrs. Caroline, grocer, draper, malster, and corn dealer Powell James, farmer and miller, Eardisley mill Powell James, farmer, Parsonage farm Powell John, sawing machine proprietor, Woodseaves Price Edward, farmer, Bollingham Price George, wheelwright, carpenter, and coal merchant Savekar John, collar and harness maker Symonds Jas., shoemaker, Lower Welson Tantram William, railway inspector Turner John, farmer, Eardisley park Vaughan John, butcher and farmer, Folly and St. Mary's farms Walker Peter, tailor, Eardisley common Wall John, farmer, Little Quebb Wall Richard, farmer, Wooton Wall Robert, farmer, Brook house Wall William, farmer, Great Quebb Watkins Mrs. Ellen, Tram Inn Williams John, sta. master, Railway sta. Williams John, blacksmith Williams Mrs., farmer, The Dukes Williams Thomas, farmer, Quest moor |
[Transcription by Marion Wilkinson in September 2001
from a copy of Littlebury's Directory of Herefordshire, 1876-7 in Hereford Central Library]
© Copyright Marion Wilkinson, GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2007, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Eardisley/Littlebury1876.html