|
|
Knill |
|
Contents & Site Map |
The rectory house was rebuilt in 1874. The parish registers commence with the year 1700. There is a parochial school for boys and girls, built at the expense of Sir John Walsham. Knill Court, the seat of Sir John Walsham, Bart., J.P., and at present occupied by Lieut.- Colonel Dallas, is a handsome mansion in the Elizabethan style of architecture. Sir John Walsham is the lineal descendant and heir of Sir John de Knill, Knt., lord of Knill in the 12th century. The beautifully romantic situation of Knill, its Swiss-like scenery of woody hill and fertile valley, through which sounds its bubbling stream, the Endwell, on a vast perpendicular rock, above which is perched, as it were, the mansion, from the windows of which you look out upon one of the fairest of the West of England's many valleys, and exquisite views. At the back rises the lofty furze-covered Knill Garraway, terminating on the right in the abrupt and perpendicular Hurrock, a landmark for miles, beyond which towers again the rugged, rocky Stanner, surmounted by the Devil's garden, of wide renown; on the other side the richly wooded steeps of Knill and Burva close the valley from that of Evenjobb and Old Radnor. Along the plain stretches a lovely valley of rich pasturage, terminating in the blue and hazy distance by Radnor forest, whose tops seem to mingle with the clouds.
| PRIVATE RESIDENTS. | |
|
Dallas Lieut.-Colonel, Knill court |
Mogridge Rev. Henry Twells, B.A. (rector), The Rectory |
| COMMERCIAL. | |
|
Hamar Henry, farmer, Knill farm Hopton Mrs. Mary, schoolmistress |
Lewis William, boot and shoe maker Watkins Edward, cottage frmr., Woodside |
[OCR/Transcription by Rosemary Lockie in May 2004
from a copy of Littlebury's Directory of Herefordshire, 1876-7 in Hereford Central Library]
© Copyright Rosemary Lockie, GENUKI and Contributors 1996-2007, &c.
GENUKI is a registered trade mark of the charitable trust GENUKI, see
About GENUKI as an Organisation
Are you lost in the Genuki hierarchy or arrived here from a Search Engine?
If so, use the up-arrow(s) at the top of the page to go up the hierarchy.
URL of this page: http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Knill/Littlebury1876.html