Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Essendon

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Essendon

Cemeteries

Jill Ashby has a Herts Burials and Memorials website which contains over 30,000 photographs of graves and monuments in mid-Hertfordshire, including Essendon, Hatfield, Hertford, Hitchin, Lemsford, Northaw, Potters Bar, Redbourne, Sandridge, St. Albans, Stevenage, Welwyn Garden City, and Wheathampstead.

  • St Mark, Kentish Lane, Church of England

Churches

  • St Mark, Kentish Lane, Church of England
  • St Mary, Church Street, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Essendon area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

There is a picture (61 kbytes) of the parish church of St. Mary, Essendon; supplied by Ian Rose.

Church Records

The Parish Registers for the Parish Church of St. Mary for the periods:-

  • Baptisms - 1653-1941
  • Marriages - 1653-1970
  • Burials - 1653-1947
  • Bishop's Transcripts - 1604-1869

are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P37]

Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1653-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.

The period 1653-1849 is covered by the IGI.

Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1604-1954 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.

The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Essendon are also available at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE.:-

  • Woodhill St. Mark [D/P37] -
    • Baptisms - 1855-1975
    • Marriages - 1927-1975
    • Burials - 1855-1902
    • Bishop's Transcripts - 1855-1869

see also Bayford

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Essendon which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Essendon has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Essendon to another place.